We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible phone service!!!”
Review of Kelsey's Steak House - CLOSED

Kelsey's Steak House
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible phone service!!!”
Reviewed 21 December 2012

We are new to the Portage area and have been wanting to try Kelsey's for dinner. I was just on the phone with a woman from Kelsey's asking about reservations and she was rude and being very rushed....She made up my mind for me...We will NOT be trying this place!!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsOC2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    3
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Go there when we are in Portage”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Good food and very good service. It can get very busy at times , but well worth the wait ! I usually get the early bird prime rib special and the wife likes the malibu chicken .

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank hoosiertraveler47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good . . . For Indiana”
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Good prices and large steaks. Steaks on tough side. Salad served in bowl for party to share, dressings per-packaged, worse than Olive Garden. Bread on cutting board at least a day old. Service is slow and untrained. Waited 20 minutes to have our salad plates cleared. When steaks arrived, waitress tried to place dinner on table without clearing salad plates. Steak preparation uneven. Dessert, ordinary. Management came by 2 times to ask how everything was before the meal arrived. When meal arrived and had a concern how one of the children's steak was prepared, management made excuses that staff was busy taking care of a party of 60. While management asks how everything is, they dont really want to know. If you have to eat steak in Portage, take your chances. If you have time, drive to Chicago.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bangelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The. Place to go for an amazing steak!”
Reviewed 27 June 2012 via mobile

I have noticed great improvements since the new owners have taken over. I asked management why the food has improved and they informed me of their new kitchen manager Nathan Saunders is the reason why I had the best steak in years! Keep it up Mr. Saunders!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portage, Indiana
Level Contributor
138 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Under new managment/owners and better than ever.”
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Kelseys in Valpo and Portage were good but since the new owner/management has come in, the food is better than ever.

An earlier review would have been 4 stars, as the food was good, but still an average steak house for it's price range.

They seem to have improved everything, including the quality of the meat.

I always look forward to eating here.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MolonLabe1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kelsey's Steak House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing