We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean bed for sleeping, that is all”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Portage
Southern Illinois
Level Contributor
123 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Clean bed for sleeping, that is all”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We needed a place to stop overnight on our way to Michigan and chose this area as approximately half way there. Most prices of the reviews for decent hotels seemed pricey for overnight. This one sounded clean. The beds were clean and the shower water was hot. No pool, no computer in the lobby, no printer, no telephone book. Furnishings were very sparse. My husband ate a bit of the breakfast with coffee and juice. I had fruit and granolas with me until real food was found along the way.

If you want a clean bed, and hot water, you are ok but hundred plus bucks seems like a lot for a place without any frills. I wore flip flops and didnt put bare feet on the carpet. Lobby is dark and small and smells damp. There is a nice large restroom in the hallway which comes in handy when you are used to multiple bathrooms in your own house. Holiday Inn Express is just down the road. I would recommend checking it out before staying at the Comfort Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bingo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    31
    28
    13
    14
See reviews for
32
29
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sioux City, Iowa
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

On our travels we needed to rest near Portage. After inquiring for rooms in two other motels and being told nothing was available, we tried this place. Lucky for us one was available and we checked in. We were tired and of course it was directly across from the lobby. The good things is that the room was clean the beds hard, if you desire that type, and the price was right. The drawbacks are small. No conditioner in the shower, no big deal, and the breakfast was nothing to brag about. Same old waffle maker, cereal, prepackaged Danish, and precooked sausage and eggs. (Not a big deal breaker!). One night stay that was okay for tired travelers,

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UncleRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Stayed a few days ago while passing through. I was pleasantly surprised by how attentive the managers and hotel staff were to my requests. I wanted a room shown to me before paying for a reservation and the staff was happy to help out. The room was very clean and the shared spaces (lobby, breakfast area) were kept up very well. The highway noise is not really an issue so the location is excellent if you are just passing through town. If all branches of Comfort Inn were managed like this one, the hotel chain would have a much better reputation in the market.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the trees in the back have the best view. Get there early for the freshest breakfast f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BangkokFarang555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Stayed here the 23rd of December....was impressed when we walked through the door by the decor. Desk staff was very friendly, even advised us the room we had reserved was on the second floor, but they had one on the ground floor that we could change to. Room was very clean and furniture was in good condition. It was a very nice stay during our holiday trip. Thanks for the hospitality.

Room Tip: Room on the parking lot side is preferable to block the train sounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012 via mobile

We were passing through on our way to chicago.they have lots of big truck parking the beds were nice place was clean and very comfortable. And it was a reasonable rate. All an all good night stay. There really isnt any restaurants real close. Mile or so away is the closest.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

A low-priced overnight stay on the way home. A nearby train track resulted in some nighttime disturbances. Staff was friendly, breakfast held some variety and it was a relatively easy-off, easy-on location, although a bit awkward to enter from the side street when traffic was heavy. Facility was a bit dated and could use some sprucing up.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank genealogist_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portage
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portage
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Portage
Hampton Inn Portage
#3 of 10 in Portage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
1.0 mi away
Super 8 Portage
Super 8 Portage
#6 of 10 in Portage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Porter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 2300 Willowcreek Rd, Portage, IN 46368-2126
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Portage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Portage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Portage
Portage Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing