We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful in an emergency!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Rensselaer
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rensselaer
Aurora
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awful in an emergency!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

My son and his fiancee were traveling back to the Chicago area during a snowstorm this afternoon. They got off the highway and could not get to the ramp to get back on. They had their dog with them, this is a no pet hotel. I can understand that but in an emergency they were turned away. This is a small dog who has a crate. I am very disappointed that anyone would be turned away in a snowstorm with below zero temps. Luckily a hotel down the road with the same no pet policy allowed them to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    24
    14
    12
    7
See reviews for
24
17
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

No complaints about this property. Was a bit difficult locating the property off the exit since the access road is hidden behind a fast food restaurant (and was snow covered at the time). Check in and out was easy and rate included wi-fi and breakfast. Room included a king bed, microwave and refrigerator and was clean. Bed was average and did have "firm" and "soft" pillows available as indicated on their case. Ample vending machines located throughout with reasonable prices for a bottle of water or soda (less than $2). Bathroom included bath and body works toiletries and was clean. One bar/restaurant was located in town (about 10 minutes away) as opposed to the fast food options nearby.

Breakfast included warm cinnamon rolls, eggs, bacon, etc. and various cold food options. Press once on the push button pancake maker for two hot pancakes. No issues keeping the breakfast room fully stocked since only a handful or other guests enjoying breakfast that morning.

Above average option if on the road in Indiana.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michekara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times over the past couple years. The staff is always friendly and helpful. The hotel is clean, beds are comfortable and the breakfast is what you would expect. It is a convenient stop right off the highway with a few restaurants near the property and more in town. The water pressure in the shower was very good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

I was verbally acosted by a rude, abrasive representative who called me a "b***h" when I refused to "hurry to my room" after leaving a family event. This woman forced her way into my room, yelling and calling me "mouth" while ignoring the fact that I was TRYING to go to bed! I would never, ever go to this nightmare location with the worst staff I've ever encountered with 10 years of work and leisure based travel. Stay ANYWHERE else!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Splitsoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Rensselaer, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Splitsoff,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class customer service and it is our regret that we failed to deliver an exemplary performance in this context. Please accept our sincere apologies for any shortcoming you may have experienced. Rest assured that this isn't reflective of the high standards we uphold in our hotels. Therefore, I will be contacting you privately and would be grateful to obtain further details about your experience so that we can take appropriate corrective measures.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rensselaer hotels

chicago, il
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We just decided to go to the Purdue football game a bit last minute and the hotels closest to the University were all booked. Typically, a Holiday Inn Express is a good bet. This one is in much need of repair. It was old and outdated. The "mini fridge and microwave" in the room looked as if I took them out of a college dorm and stacked them on top of each other. They weren't even in a piece of furniture! The linens were thread bare... both towels and sheets. The fact that it was clean made it tolerable, but it was so, so, SO in need of a complete overhaul. The front desk staff were very kind, but it didn't make up for the condition of the facility. Spend the money on a complete renovation, Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank osunut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Rensselaer, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear osunut,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and regret you were not satisfied with the condition of the room you received. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will address these to continually monitor and improve the quality and services we offer.

Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We were on the road and tired, and thought we might stop in Merrillville, until we saw what they were charging for rooms there. Thanks to the internet, we were able to find this property and booked ahead.

We were greeted warmly by the desk clerk, and learned that we had just lucked into the last room available. Within minutes of arrival we were in our very nicely-appointed room and able to get to sleep. Quiet, comfortable and just what we needed.

Breakfast buffet the next morning was well-supplied and offered a nice variety, as I've come to expect from Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silentsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel because all hotels in downtown Albany were booked. Sent to this one and what a great surprise. Fairly new and very very clean and well run. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. A great sports bar right next door. We had a fabulous view of downtown Albany. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wackazoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rensselaer
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 3 in Rensselaer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
13.1 mi away
Super 8 Remington
Super 8 Remington
#1 of 1 in Remington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.5 mi away
Interstate Motel - Rensselaer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Hebron
Comfort Inn Hebron
#1 of 2 in Hebron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
24.2 mi away
Super 8 Hebron Lowell Area
16.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn and Suites Kentland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Rensselaer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Rensselaer

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Rensselaer
Address: 4788 Nesbitt Dr, Rensselaer, IN 47978-8912 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Rensselaer)
Region: United States > Indiana > Rensselaer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rensselaer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Rensselaer 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Baymount Inn and Suites Rensselaer Hotel is located halfway between Indianapolis and Chicago at I-65 exit 215. A great place to stop prior to, or after, experiencing Chicago traffic. We are 35 minutes from the Purdue University campus at Lafayette IN. We are a nature lover's paradise with several famous wild life preserves near the hotel including the resting place for the Sandhill Cranes on their semi annual migration. We are 'Your Natural Destination' hotel. We are also the closest hotel to the new Fair Oaks Dairy Adventure attraction (11 miles). To accommodate the business traveler we have Executive King rooms that include high speed internet connected to a computer and color printer. All of our King room have a microwave and refrigerator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Rensselaer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Rensselaer Hotel Rensselaer
Holiday Inn Rensselaer
Rensselaer Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing