We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feels like home! (Well, maybe better!)”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Richmond
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Westside Guest House
Ranked #2 of 4 Richmond B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Feels like home! (Well, maybe better!)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2011

This place was recommended to us when we went to visit my wife's relatives near Richmond. It's near the local college (Earlham) and handy to the center of town and the interstate. In the suite we stayed in both times I had the opportunity to sleep on the bed and the futon - both were equal to the best of any hotel bed I've ever been on - and I've been on a lot! The kitchen in our suite had breakfast foods, snacks, and a quick-prepare type meal for our first night. This guest house reminds me of the fremdenzimmer I used to stay at while travelling through Germany in the 1980's: clean, comfortable, affordable, and convenient, but a little bigger!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluehill_boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestsideGuestHouse, Owner at The Westside Guest House, responded to this review, 12 July 2011
Thanks so much for your wonderful review! We feel especially flattered to be compared to a bed and breakfast in Europe. In our travels, we've found that people in Europe really know how to make people feel welcome and comfortable, both things to which we aspire. We're glad you enjoyed your stays, and I hope we see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
3
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

Our visits have met our needs and beyond. There is a clear interest in our needs and comfort which helps a lot when a group has multiple agendas. Cozy, comfortable and a terrific location. One can almost feel 'part' of the school while visiting. Lots of help and suggestions re locale and a thoughtful kitchenette set-up. Feels like home away from home.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilyofthevalley333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestsideGuestHouse, Owner at The Westside Guest House, responded to this review, 12 July 2011
We're so glad you got the feeling of being part of the extended Earlham "neighborhood." Many of us who teach, work or study at Earlham live in this part of town (called the Parkview Neighborhood). It's a short walk to campus — or a short walk from campus for students, who often enjoy walking "home" for a visit or home-cooked meal while away at college. Thanks so much for taking the time to share your thoughts about our guest house!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

We were lucky to have found the Westside Guest House early in our daughter's college years at Earlham College and used it exclusively during our visits over her last three years. We stayed as single travelers (both my wife and I would visit at least once a year) and for family visits (for example graduation).
Westside is a classic Indiana farmhouse-style house, remodeled for comfort. The rooms and beds are cozy, the kitchen is large and outfitted for nearly any cooking you want to do--I almost always cooked at the house, saving money compared to going out and eating far healthier than the restaurant meals available in Richmond.
The location is ideal, just three blocks from Earlham, across the street from a nice park, set back from a quiet street. The area is safe and quiet. Often I'd end up parking my rental at the house and walking for most of my stay. A grocery store is about four blocks away.
The owners, both very nice professors, live almost next door, so if you need anything they are quick to respond.
Free wifi.
Whether you are visiting Earlham or on a business trip to Richmond, this guesthouse is an outstanding alternative to a hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marksb2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestsideGuestHouse, Owner at The Westside Guest House, responded to this review, 5 July 2011
Thanks, Mark, for your warm and generous review! We are fortunate to have many wonderful guests like you whose kids go to Earlham. The only down side is that your kids graduate, so you no longer have a reason to stay with us -- and we miss you! Harumph! We are very grateful that we can provide a quiet, affordable home away from home where Earlham famlies can gather -- and share a home-cooked meal or take a walk in the park across the street. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Indiana, Usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

I booked this guesthouse for family members who were in town for a wedding.
The aunties and uncle like to stay in something other than plain vanilla hotel rooms so they have a central meeting location in order to catch up on each other's lives. This guesthouse has a nice front porch with seating and a living room for family gatherings. In addition, the kitchen was large and allowed us to get together for a gabfest. The refrigerator and cabinets were stocked with food and drink, which particularly impressed one of my aunts, and was definately "value added". The front door was on keylock. This guesthouse is just like staying in someone's home.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler10016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestsideGuestHouse, Owner at The Westside Guest House, responded to this review, 6 April 2011
We're delighted that your relatives enjoyed staying in the main section of the guest house (we call it The Residence), and grateful that you took the time to share your comments. We're also glad it worked out for them to use the keypad lock. Normally we provide better service by greeting our guests personally, but in this case your relatives wanted to arrive early, at a time when I couldn't be there -- which is why we have that lock as an option. Your review reminds me, though, how important the personal greeting is! Thanks for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond
3.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 10 in Richmond
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Classic Inn
BEST WESTERN Classic Inn
#2 of 10 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn Richmond
Fairfield Inn Richmond
#1 of 2 in New Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Richmond
Holiday Inn Richmond
#3 of 10 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
4.8 mi away
Motel 6 Richmond
Motel 6 Richmond
#7 of 10 in Richmond
3.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westside Guest House

Property: The Westside Guest House
Address: 115 NW 7th St, Richmond, IN 47374-4096
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Richmond
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious, tastefully furnished guest apartments in a lovingly maintained 100-year-old Prairie Foursquare home. Quiet residential neighborhood. Breakfast foods of your choice and snacks provided. Stay for less than what you'd pay for just a room at most at bed and breakfasts. Free wireless Internet, TV with VCR/DVD player and cable, laundry facilities. Weekly and monthly rates. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing