We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Director”
Review of Firehouse BBQ

Firehouse BBQ
Ranked #4 of 105 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Description: The Firehouse BBQ and Blues is Richmond Indiana's oldest firehouse. Owned and operated by two Richmond Firefighters, it is Indiana's premier BBQ restaurant. We specialize in southern style smoked pork, chicken, and brisket, and serve it up in a comfortable, nostalgic atmosphere. Live Blues music can be enjoyed every Friday and Saturday night. We also specialize in catering. You can plan your event to take place in our banquet room, or we can cater your event at your location.
Richmond, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Director”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Interesting place to visit.. Music was too loud. Food was just ordinary. May not return. A good historic place to turn into a restaurant.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryHillman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    54
    14
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not BBQ”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Maybe we went on a bad night but the meat did not resemble BBQ:
1. No bark on the pulled pork or brisket. I could only see the slightest smoke ring on the brisket & could not see a smoke ring on the pulled pork.
2. The ribs had a mushy texture. I suspect they boiled the ribs before cooking them. I could take a fork a shred the meat off the bone.
3. All 3 meats I tasted (brisket, ribs, pulled pork) tasted like they had only been smoked briefly, then braised. The meat didn't have any gelatin in it and had a strange mouthfeel to it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob212121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainfield, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, fun atmosphere”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Waitress was very nice and knowledgeable. Uncle owned the restaurant so we got a little history of it. Great food. Brisket and the Hot Bar B Q sauce is wwwaaayyyyy good! Coleslaw was excellent. Great size portions! Service fast. Great prices. Clean, nice restaurant and bar. We will go back whenever over that way.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank StressLessWeekend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Road Trip”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

If you like the smoky goodness of Barbeque then this place is for you. The restaurant is situated in an authentic old firehouse and has a great feel. They live music (mostly Blues music) on the weekend nights and have a large room upstairs that they rent out. A fun place to go.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod8914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lots of fun. Good food, drink, atmosphere”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

It is what the name says: a firehouse. And it's converted into a great space in which to eat BBQ and throw back some good beer.
We were a large group that grew as we sat there. And the waiter kept up with the burgeoning crowd without blinking - and at the end presented us with several separate (and accurate) checks (tickets, as they say in Indiana).
So to the food: Good if not the greatest BBQ I have had. The brisket was tender with the right amount of smokiness. Sides included mac and cheese and baked beans - both quite tasty. Good value as well. The beer was tasty - a draft double IPA - but I can't remember the brewery.
Definitely requires a return trip
And good place to hear music as well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tgold109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Firehouse BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Firehouse BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing