We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rising Star Casino Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rising Star Casino Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rising Sun
louisville
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013 via mobile

This hotel is under new management & is undergoing renno so they sent us a comped room & 2 buffet meals as a "welcome back" gift. We went on Presidents Day & found the crowd to be very small. We never had to wait for a slot machine or stand in line for our food. We had planned to use the indoor pool but never got around to it.

The King room was very large, clean & had a wonderful view of the golf course & Ohio River. They are doing a nice job on the renno. The only negative is the cigarette smoke stench. We had a non-smoking room but if you spent much time in the casino you reeked of smoke & carried it back to the room.

The Riverview Buffet was good - not great - but good. Bland food but plenty of choices. Service as very good.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank solfetch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    78
    38
    16
    8
See reviews for
28
113
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceburg, KY
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

We stayed at the Rising Star Hotel and Casino back in October as we had gotten a voucher for a free room during the week. We were very pleased at the size of the room and the cleanliness. You can tell it is an older property, but we had no complaints at all. I used the very well equipped gym which is right next to the indoor pool/jacuzzi. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that enjoys going to a casino and then walking right to your hotel room.

Room Tip: Bring your swimsuit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chip4192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mason, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

This hotel is under new ownership and is now called Rising Star Hotel and Casino.
The rooms are large and very comfortable updated with flat screen TV's.
The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. Skyline Chile is just one of the many restaurants
you'll find on premise. The gaming was good also.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms overlook the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fac35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ironton, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

I recently stayed one night at Rising Sun Casino with my mother and father, It was my first experience at a casino and we really enjoyed ourselves, my mother and father had stayed at the resort previously and wanted me to experience the wonderful time they had. The Resort was clean, friendly,the beds were amazing, plenty of parking and they are very helpful to tell you where to park so you didn't have to lug your luggage for miles. We will return, and I hope soon!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karlagail05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed here because of a free night promotion. We have stayed here before and the rooms are well appointed and the beds are very comfortable. Check in was fast and very friendly, as was check out. The casino staff was friendly and the games were adequate. Being from Las Vegas we like to see what other parts of the country have to offer. We have stayed here before and even with our low roller status they promote to us several times a year with free rooms and free play offers. Good for us and others like us.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank vegascouple90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st. louisville, ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

I recently spent two days at Rising Sun-- They are starting to upgrade and redecorate the hotel rooms (our rooms were comped both days). We were given an upgrade room which was very nice ( the old rooms are also very nice). We had a room with a river view and special amenties. The buffet is very good and reasonably priced compared to some casino buffets (10.00 per person). The indoor pool is clean with a patio area for sun bathing or just hanging out watching the river and a workout area is well equipped. The casino is small but has many popular slot machines plus table games. I always enjoy my stay here and the staff is great and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kcoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudsonville michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Nice updated room,comfortable beds, soft pillows,friendly staff, nice buffet. Nice riverboat Casino, view of the river while eating breakfast was great. They are doing some remodling but not an issue to be worried about. Nice and quiet.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjdisneyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rising Sun
9.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lawrenceburg
10.0 mi away
Hollywood Casino Lawrenceburg Hotel
12.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 7 in Lawrenceburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Florence/Cincinnati Airport
11.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lawrenceburg
11.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Cincinnati Airport South-Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rising Star Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rising Star Casino Resort

Property: Rising Star Casino Resort
Address: 777 Rising Star Dr, Rising Sun, IN 47040-9513
Region: United States > Indiana > Rising Sun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rising Sun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rising Star Casino Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising along the shore of the mighty Ohio River in scenic Rising Sun, Indiana, is a spectacular resort casino. Step aboard our 322 ft. long, 40,000 sq.ft., casino...all ship-shape in the style of a Victorian sternwheeler. As soon as you walk through the door at Rising Star Casino Resort you receive the STAR treatment. Check into one of our 294 rooms, splash into our sparkling indoor pool, hit the fitness center, make a tee time at our Scottish links-style golf course or try your luck in Rising Star's exciting casino. Our casino features nearly 1,000 of the most popular slot machines or you can sit with one of our friendly dealers & play your favorite table game. Rising Star Casino has weekly live entertainment in the Pub & Pavilion, a wonderful selection at the River View Buffet, mouth watering specialties at Wellington's Steakhouse & fast choices at Queen City Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Rising Star Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Victoria Casino And Resort By Hyatt Hotel Rising Sun
Rising Sun Grand Victoria
Hyatt Rising Sun
Rising Sun Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing