We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room terrible.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rising Star Casino Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rising Sun
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We books a room over three weeks in advance and asked for a non-smoking room. We were told that they would not guarantee room type (our mistake in not realizing that it also meant smoking vs non-smoking). When we arrived (after a three hour drive) no non-smoking rooms were left so we had to take a smoking room. This smoking room smelled worse than the casino. I cannot believe that they made any attempt to freshen the room. I have had to stay in smoking rooms before, however, this was the worst ever. When I got home I had to was everything that I owned including the overnight bag and a small cosmetic bag that I carry.

I frankly don't understand why I cannot be given assurance that I am getting a non-smoking room if I book three weeks in advance. Just because I arrived after someone else does not make their request more important than mine. It should be first come first served.

As others have said the rooms are dated but being upgraded. The casino is smaller but we like it that way. The casino itself is not that smokey.

I will not stay there again and since I pass three casinos on my way there I will go to one of them.

Room Tip: Don't expect a non-smoking room even if you book one.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank momtwinsmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
There are newer reviews for Rising Star Casino Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2013

My husband and I stay at this hotel several times a year. We always have a pleasant experience. The best customer service we have experienced. All of the employees we have encountered have been polite, courteous and helpful.

The rooms are comfortable and clean. On our most recent trip we had a room with a river view. There was a refrigerator,couch, coffee in the room and wi-fi.

There are several restaurants and a buffet. The buffet is ok, but some of he dishes are bland.

There is a fitness room. Also, located next to it is a nice heated pool, a hot tub and a sauna. Good changing area right there so you don't have to walk to the pool in your suit.

The casino itself has plenty of video poker machines, slots and table games. A large non-smoking area too.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daytonky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This is a nice and clean hotel. The staff is very friendly and it is nice to be on the grounds of the casino. This hotel has an indoor pool and hot tub that are handicap accessible and makes it nice for a winter trip. It also has a sauna and well equipped exercise room. In the warmer months you can enjoy the golf course which is adjacent to the hotel. The only complaint I would have is that the room smelled slightly smokey for a non smoking room. They also have free valet parking.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turbobabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

This hotel has very nice rooms. Very clean and comfortable.
The employees at the front desk are very friendly and helpful.
You can enjoy Skyline Chili, if you like in the food court..
The casino is rather small, which you may prefer.

Room Tip: It seems liket all the rooms are very nice.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fac34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

This hotel is under new management & is undergoing renno so they sent us a comped room & 2 buffet meals as a "welcome back" gift. We went on Presidents Day & found the crowd to be very small. We never had to wait for a slot machine or stand in line for our food. We had planned to use the indoor pool but never got around to it.

The King room was very large, clean & had a wonderful view of the golf course & Ohio River. They are doing a nice job on the renno. The only negative is the cigarette smoke stench. We had a non-smoking room but if you spent much time in the casino you reeked of smoke & carried it back to the room.

The Riverview Buffet was good - not great - but good. Bland food but plenty of choices. Service as very good.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank solfetch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We stayed at the Rising Star Hotel and Casino back in October as we had gotten a voucher for a free room during the week. We were very pleased at the size of the room and the cleanliness. You can tell it is an older property, but we had no complaints at all. I used the very well equipped gym which is right next to the indoor pool/jacuzzi. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that enjoys going to a casino and then walking right to your hotel room.

Room Tip: Bring your swimsuit!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chip4192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

This hotel is under new ownership and is now called Rising Star Hotel and Casino.
The rooms are large and very comfortable updated with flat screen TV's.
The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. Skyline Chile is just one of the many restaurants
you'll find on premise. The gaming was good also.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms overlook the golf course.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fac35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rising Sun
10.0 mi away
Hollywood Casino Lawrenceburg Hotel
9.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lawrenceburg
11.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Florence/Cincinnati Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 7 in Lawrenceburg
156 reviews
12.0 mi away
Days Inn Florence
Days Inn Florence
#12 of 28 in Florence
852 reviews
11.4 mi away
Best Western Inn Florence
Best Western Inn Florence
#3 of 28 in Florence
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rising Star Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rising Star Casino Resort

Address: 777 Rising Star Dr, Rising Sun, IN 47040-9513
Region: United States > Indiana > Rising Sun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rising Sun
Price Range: £55 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rising Star Casino Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising along the shore of the mighty Ohio River in scenic Rising Sun, Indiana, is a spectacular resort casino. Step aboard our 322 ft. long, 40,000 sq.ft., casino...all ship-shape in the style of a Victorian sternwheeler. As soon as you walk through the door at Rising Star Casino Resort you receive the STAR treatment. Check into one of our 294 rooms, splash into our sparkling indoor pool, hit the fitness center, make a tee time at our Scottish links-style golf course or try your luck in Rising Star's exciting casino. Our casino features nearly 1,000 of the most popular slot machines or you can sit with one of our friendly dealers & play your favorite table game. Rising Star Casino has weekly live entertainment in the Pub & Pavilion, a wonderful selection at the River View Buffet, mouth watering specialties at Wellington's Steakhouse & fast choices at Queen City Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Rising Star Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Victoria Casino And Resort By Hyatt Hotel Rising Sun
Rising Sun Grand Victoria
Hyatt Rising Sun
Rising Sun Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing