We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Once again at Karin's wonderful B&B”
Review of Clapton Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clapton on the Hill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clapton Manor
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Once again at Karin's wonderful B&B”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Once again we decided to visit the Cotswolds. Karin's B&B is an essential part of the tour. This time we also brought a couple of friends with us. Four more fresh objective eyes confirmed our choice. We all much enjoyed our stay. Beautiful and comfort accommodation,enjoyable breakfast to our liking. The afternoon tea with Karin's home-made cake was a real delight. I would come back...... even just for that cake.

Room Tip: Two rooms. Ask Karin advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shlomi1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
42
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We had a wonderful time in the Cotswolds this weekend which was made even better by a fantastic comfortable stay at Clapton Manor. We were looked after by Karin and made to feel very welcome. The breakfast was a great start to the day; we did not need to eat until the evening! Then there was the carrot cake for my wife's Birthday, it was the best I have tasted and was a lovely touch.

Room Tip: Both rooms were lovely and really down to personal choice, we stayed in the Garden room with comfy b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie-fo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My wife and I were travelling with our toddler and my in-laws. This was the perfect place to go to, offering two rooms just for us.

The manor is a beautiful typical cotswolds house from the 17th century, and Karin and James have kept it in a perfect state, making it very comfortable and cosy, yet keeping all the features of this grand old home... No wonder they appear in various houses and decoration magazines.

Karin was very welcoming, the afternoon tea in front of the fireplace (with Karin's homemade cake) was excellent and a nice way to end a long and cold day in the Cotswolds. Her advice for a local place to eat was very good (excellent food not far away), there are drinks and liquors available in the seating room (fireplace, again !).
The rooms were very good (excellent (very) large beds, electric blanket to make them warm, hot and fluffy duvet), the bathrooms were immaculate (with excellent bath products, better or same as what you'd get in a 5 star hotel). We had a very good night there ...

... only to be even more impressed by the breakfast. Local sausages, home made jams, delicious scrambled eggs, fruits preserves ... we had plenty and no need for lunch that day.

Overall we were very happy with our stay, and my in-laws congratulated us for our choice.
We can't wait to go back to the Cotswolds, and we already know where we plan to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coutud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

WE had an excelent weekend in the Clapton Manor. The lady is extremely friendly and nice.
We booked two rooms and with that we had a fireplace room to share between us. After a walk in the area, we arrived to the Manor and we had the fireplace on and tea waiting for us.
Highly recommended. Perfect!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boyboytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Thanks again Karin for your very warm welcome to us and our friends from OZ.
Your beautiful B & B came up trumps again. Beautiful house with lovely rooms and
and really great breakfast. Friends are still talking about your wonderful cakes!!
Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Karin welcomed us with tea and cake and sent us off to tour nearby Bourton-on-the-water. We spent one night here but it was an experience we will long remember warmly. From the friendliness of Karin's smile to the treat of spending a night in a 16th century house made of stone yet warm and cozy inside due to the choice of furniture and appointments. After our tour of Burton we returned to a warm fire Karen had set in a delightful little library where we reminisced on the day and perused some of her huge collection of books. Breakfast was excellent with special cereals, delicious jams and hot items made to order. Our room had one unique feature... a bookcase which opened to reveal the bathroom! As others have mentioned even after your GPS has gotten you to the top of Clapton Hill it takes a few minutes to figure out which place is the Manor, but friendly neighbors make it easy. Definitely you should stay here!

Room Tip: The room with the bookcase passage is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank septuagenerian_ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I went to the cotswolds with my wife and parents and I could not have picked a better place than this delightful bed and breakfast manor. Situated close to the very pretty bourton-on-the water, the location of this manor is unbeatable. The rooms and beds were very comfortable, clean and beautiful. I loved the fact that they provided luxurious toiletries for taking wonderful showers or baths in the spacious en-suite bathrooms. Karin and her lovely family, made us felt right at home with their wonderful welcome tea and fruit cake in their beautiful garden and every morning with a gorgeous breakfast (which included an award winning marmalade!), and great tips of how to spend our two days in the cotswolds. It was a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clapton on the Hill
2.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
3.3 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
4.3 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
1.7 mi away
Chester House Hotel
Chester House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
1.6 mi away
Broadlands Guest House
Broadlands Guest House
#3 of 25 in Bourton-on-the-Water
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clapton Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clapton Manor

Property: Clapton Manor
Address: Clapton-on-the-Hill, Clapton on the Hill GL54 2LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Clapton on the Hill
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Clapton on the Hill
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing