We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, quiet, piece of history”
Review of Maryhill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maryhill Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Maryhill B&B and Inns
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Pleasant, quiet, piece of history”
Reviewed 19 September 2012

My wife and I went away for a few days 'fall touring' in September. I booked this location because of their website and their location - central to Guelph, K-W and Elora.

It's a very nice B & B with a lot of history. The owners have a display of background information of the place which is very interesting. We had a chance to see all the rooms and the themes are a nice variety of colours and furnishings - we stayed in the Rose Room.. The dining room was beautiful with a lot of period details. It is run by a pleasant, unobtrusive couple that keep the place very neat inside and out.

Down sides, not really. There are no rooms with king-sized beds. There is another historic building across the street that is open on weekends as a bar (we stayed at the beginning of the week). I would ask the owners about potential noise if I were staying a weekend. The rooms have been renovated quite well with a sympathetic eye to being 'period correct' but some people may lament the use of modern doors - just a minor detail.

All in all it was a good stay and we would consider staying again.

Room Tip: The Plantation Suite would be the quietest room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BH-ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    7
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
33
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We had a great one night stay! We did not look in the area originally but when we could not find anything in St Jacob's we decided to look a little further. We were pleasantly surprised when we realised that it was so central to all the sights in the area. The Inn is beautifull, neat and clean.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marthinus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ONTARIO
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We have just spent one night at the Maryhill Inn. Only wish it would have been possible to stay another night. Sandra & Webb were the perfect hosts. We stayed in the Sage Room, what a perfect room, and I loved the color. Everthing you needed was there, such attention to details, nothing was forgotten. The bed was extremely comfortable, we both had a good nights sleep. The breakfast area is charming, the decor, table settings, fresh flowers on our table. Sandra made and served us a wonderful breakfast. Thank you both for such a wonderful stay, we hope to return soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbh45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We have just started staying at B&B's. This was the best yet. The Inn is immaculate, spotless, and very comforting The rooms are themed and romantic, if you're looking for that. We stayed in the Blue Room, with in room tub, fireplace, everything was just perfect. Hosts are very inviting and service was excellent. Plan on going back in the new year.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank campy222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moorefield, ont
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2011

I stayed at the Maryhill in more 2 nights, it was an amazing experience! The room i stayed in was a decent price considering a free all-inclusive breakfast came with it! It is in such a quaint little town, and the room was very fancey, it had everything i needed to relax! A cool fact: all the rooms were different and had their own themes and specialties. There are many places near by for activites, one being the St. Jacobs farmers market.
Of all this though my favourite part about staying in the Maryhill inn was the service and hosts! they are really kind and outgoing and i enjoyed getting to know them, they make the best food too! By far the best B&B ive ever been to.

Room Tip: The best room is probably the blue room, decent price, very peaceful, has a soaker tub and it is far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brooklyn v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Maryhill Inn is, in our opinion, the benchmark for high standard and quality boutique hotels.

Hosts were welcoming, pleasant, accommodating, and very understanding.

We stayed 1 night in early March 2010; quiet neighbourhood at this time. A beautiful, charming, comfortable, and romantic boutique hotel run by professionals in hospitality. So much attention to detail, and impeccably designed for guests looking for either a peaceful, restful stay or social visit.

Blue Room was relaxing; conducive to a good night’s rest. Charming touches included a tea trolley outside our door.

Close proximity to Ontario sights: St. Jacob’s, Elora, and the Cambridge Butterfly Conservatory not far, and makes for a wonderful weekend.

Thank you both! We do hope to return soon!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllieOakville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2010

Maryhill Inn is a nice place to stay if you are not planning to stay for many days. My husband and I stayed there for 3 days and it was good enough for us to enjoy without stressing out with few things.

PROS: Atmosphere is good, the hostess is extremely friendly and helpful, a very well served breakfast is included, and the rooms are very clean, quiet and well decorated.

CONS: Country Suite: The exit from the air conditioning is right on the top of the bed and because it is not a high ceiling it is really bad to spend a full night with cold air blowing on the top of your head (especially if it is not summer time). Really really tiny washroom. Although it is a 19th century building, the floor cracks too much, so we could hear people walking around and ultimately waking the other up (and I believe we did the same with the other customers as well)

The hotel is located 15min driving from St Jacobs, it can be used as alternative in case you do not find spots on a busy weekend at St Jacobs. It also fit people who are looking forward to spend few days in a calm and quiet place.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nyork12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maryhill
8.5 mi away
Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs
8.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Waterloo/St. Jacobs, Ontario, Canada
8.4 mi away
Delta Guelph Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Guelph
10.0 mi away
The Village Inn Elora
5.6 mi away
1842 Bed and Breakfast
1842 Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Conestogo
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maryhill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maryhill Inn

Property: Maryhill Inn
Address: 1302 Maryhill Rd, Maryhill, Ontario N0B 2B0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Maryhill
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Maryhill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast near St. Jacobs, Elora, Kitchener-Waterloo and Guelph ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Maryhill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing