We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it here!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santa's Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Claus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Santa's Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Claus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

I was reading through the reviews prior to my visit, so I was a little apprehensive, but overall I was really pleased! The people were friendly, the room was very clean, and it was really close to Holiday World. My fiance and I really enjoyed our little get away to Santa Claus Indiana and we'll be sure to return soon!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    69
    85
    59
    84
See reviews for
248
27
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I'm not sure how I feel about Santa's Lodge. I wasn't overly impressed especially considering they're one of the few places you can stay in Santa Claus. The room was average. The bed was average. The TV was old. The wifi was so-so.

When we checked in and went to our room, there was no running water. After calling the front desk we were informed that there was a problem and they were working. Don't you think they should have told us that 10 minutes before when they handed us our room key? Luckily it wasn't too much longer before the problem was solved.

We didn't use the pools, but they looked clean. The indoor pool however had a very strong chlorine odor. It was so strong you could smell it down the hallway.

The breakfast buffet left a lot to be desired. The food for the most part was prepackaged items, like pancakes and french toast sticks. And it was the same thing every day. A little variety would have been nice. We opted not to eat lunch or dinner here based on the breakfast.

The building does need some TLC, especially in the back.

Would I stay here again? Maybe. The biggest benefit is it's proximity to Holiday World.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TULIPS3400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

This place is disgusting! We stayed in the back where the paint is peeling and there was a smell stale cigarettes, the room was dirty, dusty and completely outdated....for $166 a night! I may have been less disappointed if I'd only paid $40. You are paying for proximity and the name and it is NOT worth it! Stay in Jasper, it is a lovely town with nice hotels worth the money and the few extra miles the next day.

Room Tip: Stay in Jasper, IN
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TAira1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

This hotel is clean. That is, obviously, the number one consideration when staying at a hotel. And I have no complaints about that at all. The room we stayed in was a Queen Deluxe, and we had a mini-fridge (clean and worked well) and a microwave (clean, but we didn't use it). A/C worked well.

We had no problem with the noise level - other than crappy parents allowing their children to run up and down the halls at 10:00 p.m. That's not a hotel problem; that's a parenting problem.

However, it is badly in need of updating - refreshed. The towels are small and thin, the sheets appear to be very old. The bed was not comfortable, even though it is, supposedly, a pillow top. Can't speak to the pillows, as I always bring my own. We stayed on the back side, and the paint is peeling badly on the exterior. Quite a bit of trash in the landscaping. The TV is about 20 years old.

The Wi-Fi is practically non-existent. After three of us tried for an hour to connect, I called the front desk and asked if there was a trick to it. I was told to "keep trying". Later that evening, we still couldn't connect, so I went to the front desk. The Wi-Fi connected immediately, and worked fine...until I went back to the room, where the connection was lost. It is possible that the management doesn't realize that there is a difference between offering free wi-fi - in common areas - and simply saying you offer free wi-fi. No lies being told, but very misleading. And I wonder if they even realize the difference.

I can not speak to the restaurant, as we did not eat there, other than to say that we did go downstairs to look at the afternoon/evening buffet and were not impressed. It all looked like pre-packaged, heat and eat. Not appetizing at all.

so, of course, since they offer a breakfast and dinner buffet, there is nothing offered in the morning in the lobby, besides coffee which is in one carraff, with packets of fake cream on the table. I have no doubt this hotel is making enough money that they could at least offer pastries and fruit.

Of course, the main thing this hotel has going for it is that it is, literally, 5 minutes from Holiday World. That being said, a shuttle would be nice.

This hotel is not awful, but truthfully, I would not stay here again, unless they make some improvements.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amyandmattandkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenfield, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

My daughter was supposed to be in a beauty pageant here, so we booked a room for this reason. Our pageant was cancelled, but we decided to still go to Holiday World and stay at the hotel.
The good - the decor was awesome. My mom and I spent about an hour taking pictures. My 8 year old was amazed. When we came in it was pouring rain and nighttime, so we didn't get to see the outside until this morning. I loved it as well. The gentleman on the night desk was very pleasant, and even called my husband by name when we walked outside once. That was kind of a big deal to me, as good personable service can make up for many things. We enjoyed the little gift shop. Our room was clean, a bit outdated, but I loved the "rustic" look of the furniture. I liked that there was a restaurant in the hotel. It was the closest to Holiday World, very convenient. I think the price was acceptable for what we got.
The bad - there was a spot on the inside of the bedspread (not the blanket) that appeared to be blood. The breakfast buffet was a bit pricey for what we got, next time I would probably consider going out to eat.
On the whole it was a good experience, and we would go again.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor, no stairs to climb and our room was centrally located between the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TN
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Can't believe I paid for this! Had to ask for a fly swatter. Flies in the room. There are so many things wrong with this place. Dirty.. Dusty..Just gross!!!
In you are on your way to Holiday World from TN your best bet is to stay in Owensboro. I know that is a long way from Holiday World..but it's worth it!
DON"T STAY HERE!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tkljam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fortville, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We have stayed here over the years and we were always satisfied, but this stay was not a good experience. We were told our room was in the back in the newer section. We drove to the back and found paint peeling from the exterior. These are non-smoking rooms, but the halls smell of smoke. For us having a room in the newer section, we have a very old tube TV with a terrible picture. We paid extra for pillow top beds and they were very uncomfortable!!! Now the worst part was when I pulled back the bedspread and found something all over the mattress covers. I'm not sure if it's old blood or a pop that was spilt all over it. Holiday World is wonderful, but I'm very disappointed with this hotel and Santa Claus as a town. It used to be so nice, but it seems like the town is on a decline.

Room Tip: They have free wifi, but I couldn't ever use it because too many people using it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Claus
5.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Dale
7.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Ferdinand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
7.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Ferdinand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tell City
4.8 mi away
Budget Host Stone's Motel
17.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jasper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa's Lodge

Property: Santa's Lodge
Address: 91 W. Christmas Blvd., Santa Claus, IN 47579
Region: United States > Indiana > Santa Claus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Claus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everyday is a Holiday when you stay at Santa’s Lodge. You’ll be welcomed at Santa’s Lodge with a vaulted lobby soaring 37 feet into the Southern Indiana skyline. The hand-hewn timbers are actually from the barn that stood on this same site in 1883. The beautiful cedar and oak wood creates a natural setting for our antique Christmas decorations including our Canadian horse-drawn sleigh! Our year-round Christmas décor and lodge setting will surround you with a sense of warmth and pleasure through our 170 guestrooms and suites.Located about a half mile away, we are the closest hotel to Holiday World and Splashin' Safari, home to three world class roller coasters and the number 2 water park in the world! We have a putt-putt mini golf course and arcade right across the street at Frosty's Fun Center. Our shelter house is located right next to the playground for a great picnic opportunity. Take time in the morning to relax on our deck overlooking the lake while eating breakfast from St. Nick's Restaurant.Our Family suites allow the parents to have a little privacy while vacationing with the kids in addition to giving you a little leg room to relax and spend quality time together. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Santa`s Hotel Santa Claus
Santas Hotel Santa Claus
Lodge Santas
Santas Santa Claus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing