We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family fun park”

Holiday World & Splashin' Safari
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Santa Claus
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Holiday World & Splashin’ Safari are a family-owned theme park and water park combo located in Santa Claus, Indiana. Home of Thunderbird - America’s only launched wing roller coaster, Holiday World celebrates Christmas, Halloween, Thanksgiving and the 4th of July with roller coasters, family rides, a huge water park, live entertainment, games, attractions - and Santa Claus, himself! Splashin’ Safari, ranked one of the nation’s Top Water Parks by TripAdvisor and USA Today, includes the two longest water coasters in the world, numerous family water slides, two wave pools, plus water activities for children. Both parks have been voted the World's Cleanest for more than a dozen years by the readers of Amusement Today magazine. In 2016, Guinness World Records certified Mammoth as the World's Longest Water Coaster and in 2013, TIME magazine named The Voyage the nation’s #1 wooden roller coaster. Live entertainment includes musical shows, a country band, high dive show, and Santa’s Storytime. Both parks offer guests free soft drinks, free parking, free inner tube usage, free sunscreen and free Wi-Fi. New for 2017! Firecracker is a classic Calypso ride, one of only a handful still in operation in North America.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Family fun park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is a very nice park for water slides and for roller coaster enthusiasts. The park is family owned and operated. It is very clean and they provide sun lotion for all throughout the park. They also provide free drinks throughout the park. The prices at each snack center make it very affordable to families. The roller coasters are some of the best ever!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahchili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,959 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,542
    297
    79
    21
    20
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ogdensburg, New York
Level Contributor
124 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lots of fun for the whole family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

The park has a lot to offer for families of all ages. Lines for rides were a bit long but we were there July 3rd so I expect the holiday increased the number of visitors. The staff was friendly and the park was very clean, including bathrooms. The offer cabanas for the waterpark which is a great option if you want a spot to yourself. I liked the fact that they had free sunscreen available as well as unlimited Pepsi fountain drinks.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank lcshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“great waterpark”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Lots of water slides and water play areas. Wave pool, kiddie pool, two kiddie play areas with lots of slides in the both of them. Multiple sprayers in them and run through areas of water coming out everywhere. The water slide rides had mostly closed in slides. There was a play area in the non water park area that had dry play such as a park and a water geyser run through area and a kid roller coaster. FREE PEPSI drinks throughout the park all day long. Lots of cover and shad throughout the park.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Samara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great fun without long wait times”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Our family had a great time at the park. There is a good mix of thrill and easy-going rides that worked well for everyone in our group. The wait times for everything were reasonable enough that the kids didn't complain, and the free drinks are great!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank sissykrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomingdale, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Does not disappoint as long as expectations are reasonable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Listen, it is not Disney. It is not even Six Flags. If you go there expecting a top tier amusement park you may be a little disappointed. But Holiday World is clean, reasonably priced, friendly, and fun. Parking is free. Short walk in to park or there is a shuttle. Plus, Free unlimited self serve Pepsi products/ice and water through out the park. We visited the park over the 4th of July weekend and we did not wait longer than 30 minutes for any ride/water slide. Most attractions we were able to ride in just minutes. We have 4 kids (ages 14, 12, 9, and 4) and they all had a blast. We spent the lion's share of our time in the water park. CONS: People with younger children should check the height requirements. They are strictly enforced and our 4 year old could not ride a lot of the rides which led to some tears. Be prepared for A LOT of stairs up to watersides. The food is over priced and not that great. Conclusion - Don't expect cutting edge rides and shows and you will have a blast.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Holiday World & Splashin' Safari also viewed

 

Been to Holiday World & Splashin' Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing