We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient but Uncomfortable & quite small”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort
Indiana
1 review
“Convenient but Uncomfortable & quite small”
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We stayed 2 nights in cabin 236. For the COST: We were disappointed in the cabin itself as it was very dirty. Dust and cob webs everywhere. The ceiling fan had at least a quarter inch of dust on it. Also,it was SMALL. But, we anticipated that. What we did not anticipate was how uncomfortable the queen size bed would bed. It was like sleeping on the the floor, perhaps worse. INVEST IN NEW MATTRESSES!
On the positive side, the camp ground was quite nice and security was everywhere we felt very safe while we were there. The shuttle to Holiday World was the best feature.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeRudolph, Public Relations Manager at Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort, responded to this review, 11 August 2011
Thank you so much for your review. We sincerely apologize that the cleanliness of your cabin was not up to par. This does not meet out standards of quality.

I have passed your comments onto the appropriate management staff, as well as our housekeeping manager. Please accept our apology for this inconvenience and we hope that you'll give us another chance.

Thank you,
Laura Barker, PR/Web Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    123
    51
    37
    19
See reviews for
273
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We had a nice stay at Lake Rudolph this past July while visiting Holiday World. We rented a king-sized RV for our family of 4 (2 adults, 2 kids), and my brother & sister in law. We had also planned on taking another child with us, but those plans were cancelled. The room & half bath in the King bed my brother & his wife had was very spacious. The room the rest of us shared had a Queen-size bed with a single bunk built right above where one would normally rest your head, and then triple bunks on the wall at the foot of the bed. With just the 4 of us, it was pretty cramped -- I can't imagine how it would have been if we had actually brought another child with us to sleep in the room.

One of the triple bunks is practically on the floor -- not an ideal sleeping space. The uppermost bunk was ok -- just a little head room -- but there's no ladder to get on it. You have to climb on the Queen bed just to get on & off of it. Same thing with the bunk above the "head" of the Queen bed -- the person would have to get on & off by stepping on the Queen bed.

The sofa in the living room was a pull-out, which was a surprise since it's not noted on the website that there is a pull-out. Once I saw the "mattress" on the pull-out, I could understand why Lake Rudolph wouldn't want to promote having a pull-out. It was nothing more than a foam mattress and a very thin one at that. I think Lake Rudolph would benefit by installing higher quality mattresses in the pull-outs, and instead of having a triple bunk in the King Size RV, just have a double set with some sort of ladder to get to the top bunk.

The grounds were very clean, the store had more that I imagined it would (although be prepared as they have a ton of toys & junk for kids). The mini-golf course looked a little rough -- could use a facelift. But it's free, so it's hard to complain about it.

We didn't get a chance to use the pool, but it looked wonderful.

Registration was quick & easy -- the staff was really on the ball & processed everyone quickly.

The free wi-fi was nice, but would only work while in the general living area of the RV.

In general, it was a good stay... a great place to go w/ a group of people.
We did rent a golf cart for roaming around in, but it's certainly not necessary. The shuttle taking your directly to the front door of Holiday World has multiple stops throughout the RV park, so you can simply use the shuttle to get to Holiday World or around the TV park.

Room Tip: When making online reservations, you can request a certain area of the park, depending upon your pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indydunlap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We rented a cabin for 2 adults and 5 children ages 6,8,10,11,and 12. Everyone had so much fun the cabins are very clean and the staff is really friendly. We had a problem in the bathroom and maintenance fixed it almost immediatly. We stayed for 3 nights and there were plenty of beds for everyone. The purpose of our trip was to visit Holiday World and the campground had stuttles to take us there that ran every 10-15 minutes. We rented a golf cart one day and had so much fun exploring the place, especially at night! One night they had a movie in the Pavillion, the next they had a parade of golf cars that people decorated with glow sticks and random things. They have a shop with many different flavor icecreams that are only 2 bucks a piece near the pool area That was really fun to go to at night. There is a playground next to it so the kids stayed up eating icecream and playing on the playground under the stars :)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krispeajasbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeRudolph, Public Relations Manager at Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
Glad you had a great time!

Thank you,
Laura Barker, PR/Web Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Independence, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

This is a very nice campground. We pulled our travel trailer in (spot 7-D) and had a nice level pad with a good amount of shade.

The campground is very clean and there are even people that monitor the grounds in "security" golf carts.

The shuttle to and from Holiday world is very convenient.

We wanted to rent a golf cart but they were all out when we got there. I will reserve one next time.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philiscool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed near the lake/camp store in our RV with 2 adults and 2 kids (6 years old). We really enjoyed our stay, very nice camp ground. Here are some things I haven't read about:
1. My kids love to bike around, they still did but there are a lot of hills and they had to walk their bikes up a few of them.
2. Bathrooms: After a long day at Holiday World we were so looking forward to taking a shower. Women's bathroom showers near the camp store had 4 showers, 2 of the shower heads were terrible and the smell of mold was overwhelming. I wish they would power wash the bathroom with bleach and fix the shower heads and then it would have been great!
3. There is a good grocery store close to the campground, but if you are looking for a Wal-Mart (or similar) you are going to have to drive, so bring everything you need.
4. There is a "security" cart that drives around, nice to see.
5. They pick up your trash daily if you leave it out in front of your site.
7. Most people rented a golf cart, but we love to bike and walk so we were fine. I could see where it could be necessary if your site was far away from the pool or showers and you didn't have bikes.
8. Everyone was very friendly!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Living_n_KW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeRudolph, Public Relations Manager at Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort, responded to this review, 11 August 2011
Thank you for posting a review about your stay at Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort. We apologize about the condition of the bathhouse and thank you for bringing it to our attention so it may be attended to.

Your comments have been passed onto our management staff.

Thank you,
Laura Barker, PR/Web Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicagoland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Just got back from two nights in a rented standard RV. Overall, the experience was terrific. There were 2 adults and 3 children. Although it states sleeps 8, we could not imagine more people. The top bunks are tight quarters without railings. The other sleeping areas were just fine! Things to recommend bringing: Clorox wipes, board games, a folding chair or two, football or frisbee, roll of paper towel, extra garbage bags, aluminum foil, and air freshener. The grounds are massive. We did not need a golf cart because we had our car and used the shuttle. There's a pool and everything! Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank mobarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robinson IL
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We rented a standard RV for two nights. It was clean and for the most part comfortable. This is not a hotel so keep that in mind! My only complaint was the mattress in the bedroom. We could actually feel the springs in our backs. The camper had plenty of room. Renting a golf cart is an absolute must. The campground is huge. My son is 12 and he had a blast riding in the golf cart. The camp store was to small and packed full of stuff. The arcade was small. We did play bingo and it was ok. The little ice cream and pizza place had good ice cream and the pizza was fair. The lake is really a big pond. The shuttle to and from Holiday World is great. They cruise the campground continuously and we never waited longer than 5 minutes. The camp is a bit noisy at night but we did not mind. I did see security cruising the site constantly.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motherof1in99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Claus
5.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Dale
6.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Ferdinand
83 reviews
6.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Ferdinand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Rockport
89 reviews
13.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Huntingburg
110 reviews
16.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jasper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort

Property: Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort
Address: 78 N Holiday Blvd, Santa Claus, IN 47579-8500
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Santa Claus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Santa Claus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the great outdoors by staying at Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort in Santa Claus, Indiana. Voted one of the top ten favorite parks in North America and a two-time National RV Park of the Year, Lake Rudolph is the closest lodging and camping to Holiday World Theme Park & Splashin' Safari Water Park. Multiple family lodging options include over 270 Vacation Rentals (Cabins, Cottages & Rental RVs), and nearly 230 full hookup RV Sites and Tent Sites, including over 100 paved sites. Family fun amenities including Santa's SplashDown WaterPark, the giant Blitzen Bay swimming pool, playgrounds, basketball courts, horseshoe pits, fishing, paddleboats, kayaks, gem mining, mini golf, game room, camp store, Blitzen Kitchen Ice Cream & Pizza, family activities, and much more. Lake Rudolph is the perfect solution for your getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Rudolph Campground & Rv Hotel Santa Claus
Lake Rudolph Campground And Rv Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing