We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not good for families with small children” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort
KY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not good for families with small children”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We had originally planned to stay two nights, but we left the morning after our first night. My entire family was unable to sleep due to noise outside (golf carts, people being loud, what sounded like firecrackers, etc.). For the price we paid, we were very unhappy with the entire experience. When we returned our key, I told the girl in the check in station we were leaving early due to being unhappy and we were not asked for any information as to why, etc. I plan to voice my concerns to management soon. The entire property is very, very busy. Kids ride bikes in the middle of the road, golf carts go well above the speed limit, constant traffic, etc. To make matters worse, two cabins down from us, there was a cabin full of loud partying going on, both inside their cabin and out. Not exactly a great place for families, especially with young children. And, the shuttle service is free, but the shuttle is small and the driver packs as many people in each trip as possible. There are handrails for adults to hold on to if they need to stand, but even as an average height woman, it was hard for me to hold on, particularly with the hilly, steep terrain we traveled back to the campground. The cabins are much smaller than pictured, and the cleanliness of the cabin was mediocre at best. Wifi was listed as amenity, but I never got connected. Very disappointing experience, all the way around.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hls1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeRudolph, Social Media Coordinator at Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Lake Rudolph. We're sorry that it wasn't what you'd hoped and expected. Your comments have been passed onto the appropriate members of our management staff and we will look into the issues you mentioned.

We are a family friendly campground that is very busy during our in season. However, quiet hours (which are from 11pm - 7am CT) should be enforced by our Ranger team members. We're sorry that you found the cabin layout not similar to what may be viewed online. We will take a look at those layouts and images and see if there is a way to make that more clear. Would you be able to email us regarding which cabin you stayed in? That would also help in regards to checking the WiFi in that area. We're sorry that you weren't able to utilize that service.

Again, we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Thank you for bringing these items to our attention.

Sincerely,
Laura Barker, Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    112
    46
    34
    17
See reviews for
248
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed Wed the 6th and left Thursday the 7th of August. The check in process is very lengthy, we sat in line waiting to check in for 20 minutes, the girl at the shack checking us in gave us zero direction. She just said OK there you go, and I told her this is our first time and we have no idea where our camp site is at, she then gave us a map and some direction. We got a tent site, which should have ever been made a tent site, our entire site was a hill, it was an awful, we couldn't put anything on our table without it rolling off, our firewood rolled to the far side of the camp site where there were woods, also it seemed that our site was never checked by any employee to verify it was clean because there was a camp chair with rotting blue berries covered in bees right at our site! There was no such thing as quite at this site as the golf carts constantly riding by shining headlights right into our camp site. We have two small children who did not want to be kept up until 1 am, but unfortunately were, because of the constant traffic going by, loud people, and the teenage boys next to us drinking that even though security saw them they never once told them to stop and the 11pm quiet time was certainly not enforced.
This is not a true camping experience by any means since all day long you can hear the roller coaster, people screaming, and the coyote sounds from Holiday world right next door. There was no peace and quite which is what we expect when camping.
Also, we were never told that it cost money to go to the Santa's splash down water slides, that was not in any of the paper work, the employee did not tell us at check in, so we ended up walking down to the water slides without any money on us because we didn't think we needed any to just go swim, then at that time found out that it cost money, they really should make this known.
Overall this is far from real camping and not a good place to stay if you have small kids unless you want to listen to them whine all night that they can't sleep because everyone is being too loud.
I was very displeased and we actually did check out early, not staying a second night because of all the loud campers from the previous night. I feel we should have got our money back for the second night, but the girl at that shack pretty much said so sad too bad.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeRudolph, Social Media Coordinator at Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Lake Rudolph. We're sorry that it wasn't what you expected.

We are a family friendly campground that is quite busy during our in season. That said, quiet hours are from 11pm - 7am CT and should be enforced. We apologize that this was not the case. Your site should have been clean upon arrival; that is unacceptable and we understand why you were frustrated. Your comments have been passed onto our management team.

Santa's Splash Down WaterPark is a paid amenity. We have made changes to our website in hopes that is it more clear regarding the paid wristband system. Our pool, Blitzen Bay and Baby Blitzen, are free admission. We're sorry that seemed confusing.

Again, we apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Thank you for bringing these items to our attention so we may correct them.

Sincerely,
Laura Barker, Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
O'Fallon, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

I'm not sure if was the change in management, or some other issue, but our weekend trip this past weekend left a lot to be desired. We've faithfully stayed at Lake Rudolph for many years, and decided this year to rent a Christmas cabin. The mattresses upstairs were horrendous, as everyone could feel nothing but springs in their backs. Just running your hand over the top of the mattress was enough to feel the springs. For $300/night, I'd at least expect semi-comfortable accomodations. The airflow to the bedroom downstairs was minimal (luckily we brought a fan that was able to supplement).

On Sunday night, we ordered pizza from Blitzen Kitchen, and were told that it would be 45-50 minutes. 80 minutes later, I called and was told that they had transposed two numbers, and attempted to deliver to a cabin that didn't even exist. They told me the pizzas would be right out to the cabin (we could see the kitchen from our deck). 20 minutes later, the pizzas show up lukewarm, despite being assured that they would still be hot.

On the bright side, the pool was great, and campground was clean as always. We may be back at some point, but with the new cottages down the road, there is now competition for my lodging dollar near Holiday World, particularly now that we need the cabins.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeRudolph, Social Media Coordinator at Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We're sorry it was what you've come to expect.

Your comments have been passed onto our resort manager. Would you be able to email me with additional information such as which Rudolph's Christmas Cabin you stayed in? That would be helpful in checking the air flow issue and mattress. lbarker@suncommunities.com. We will then pass that information along to our maintenance manager.

We apologize that your wait for pizza was so long and for the mix up on the cabin number. Your comments regarding Blitzen Kitchen have been passed onto the management and we will look into this issue.

Sincerely,
Laura Barker, Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have stayed here the past 10 years . We stay a week the first week August every year . We bring our trailer and stay lakeside . This year the staff doesn't seem as friendly as the past years . They have upgraded the paddle boats and repaving and putting in a nice sidewalk down the hill to the pool. I just wish the bathrooms were given priority before the paddle boats . The water pressure is horrible in the bath houses and you hope and pray you don't have to take a cold shower . I understand if it was when the shower houses are busy but it doesn't matter what time you take a shower . We understand upgrades take time but hopefully bathhouses are a priority . We already have our reservations for next year so hopefully it's better next year . We are still here until Saturday so if things change I will definitely let everyone know .

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Emtb1680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeRudolph, Social Media Coordinator at Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay. We're sorry that you did not feel our staff members were as friendly as they've been in past years. We are working with our staff in training and this is an aspect we feel is very important. Your comments have been passed onto our resort manager.

Also, it is in our plans to renovate that particular bathhouse to correct those issues. Again, thank you for your review and we apologize that you stay wasn't what you've come to expect.

Sincerely,
Laura Barker, Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
190 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I've been staying here for a week, for the last four years. All of our trips in the past have been great. This trip, not so much.

When we showed up, half of the Christmas Lights on our deck didn't work.

The cabin had settled and neither of our exterior doors would latch & lock. I didn't need to use the key to open the door, when we arrived. I was able to push it open with my finger.

There were also several light bulbs out, inside the cabin.

The information book, that is usually laying on the counter was missing.

I called the Lake Rudolph Welcome Center. They dispatched a maintenance man. I believe his name was, Mike. He was able to fix the doors & the lights inside the cabin. He didn't even try to fix the lights on the deck. He told us, that he had changed them in the past and they just blow out again. There was some sort of voltage issue. There was nothing he could do about it. I suggested running a couple stands of new Christmas Lights. He didn't like that idea and basically told me to suck it up. I ended up cooking by flashlight, more than once.

I could have complained and created a stink about the lights but, given Mike's attitude & the fact we had already unpacked, we decided to in fact, suck it up.

On our second to last night, we had a toilet paper emergency. I called the Welcome Center & left a message asking for housekeeping to drop a couple rolls by. The TP never showed. No one returned my call.

We never were furnished a Site Info Booklet.

My last several reviews of this place, were 5 star reviews. I don't know if the place has changed hands or what but, it just doesn't feel the same. The attitudes just seems a little less customer friendly, than they have in the past.

I think, we're going to give another of the local cabin/cottage places a try, next year.

Room Tip: I personally, like staying within walking distance of the pool. The pool, seems to be the heart &am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carhartkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeRudolph, Social Media Coordinator at Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Lake Rudolph. We're sorry that your stay wasn't what you expected.

Your comments have been passed onto our Resort Manager and Maintenance Manager. We apologize that our team members seemed to not be responsive to your needs. If possible, please email me at lbarker@suncommunities.com and let us know which rental you stayed in. Again, we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.

Thank you,
Laura Barker, Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremiah
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 days here although we were away at holiday world for 2 of the 3 we did get a chance to explore the campground a little. It's very clean and everyone seemed really nice. Kinda expensive assuming you do have to pay extra for every amenity except golf. Even the pool cost extra. It's very close to holiday world so that's a plus. Ice cream was good. Golf carts were everywhere kinda made it hard to drive a car of the evenings but we enjoyed it. Wasn't particularly happy with our site as it was uphill kinda bad and we don't like to push backwards up hill in our vehicle to get into a site. We stated in 55D so if your in that area it's a bit uphill. Overall we did like it just needed to pick a better site we will go back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeRudolph, Social Media Coordinator at Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Lake Rudolph. We're glad that you had a nice stay.

We did want to clarify that Blitzen Bay, our pool, is a free amenity, along with the miniature golf. Santa's Splash Down WaterPark is a paid amenity. We're sorry for the confusion.

Thank you,
Laura Barker, Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Tennessee
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We just got back from spending three nights at this campground in an RV. The main reason we ended up there is because we wanted to go to Holiday World and there just aren't very many options in Santa Claus Indiana. The RV was decent size, with two queen beds, and four single beds for kids. The RV was not very clean, especially the floor. Our socks would turn black when walking barefoot. The location of the RV was good, away from the hustle and bustle of the rest of the campground. It's a large campground, with many RVs side by side, Tent sites, and cabins. The cabins looked nice. There are other options at the park like a pool and slides. We did not use those facilities. The closeness to Holiday World couldn't be beat. There is a shuttle you can take too. We chose to drive. Overall, we most likely wouldn't stay in an RV there, but would try a cabin. The furniture was dated, and the RV musty smelling. We just didn't feel clean in the RV. We didn't feel unsafe while there.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sgarabedian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeRudolph, Social Media Coordinator at Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
We appreciate your reviewing your stay with us. We apologize that your rental was not clean upon arrival; that is unacceptable and we understand your frustration. If possible, please email me at lbarker@suncommunities.com with your rental unit number and your date of stay. With that information we will be able to better resolve this issue.

Again, we apologize that you encountered these issue during your stay and thank you for bringing them to our attention.

Thank you,
Laura Barker, Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Claus
5.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Dale
6.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Ferdinand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
6.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Ferdinand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tell City
4.8 mi away
Budget Host Stone's Motel
15.5 mi away
Ramada Limited Tell City
Ramada Limited Tell City
#2 of 3 in Tell City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort

Property: Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort
Address: 78 N Holiday Blvd, Santa Claus, IN 47579-8500
Region: United States > Indiana > Santa Claus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Santa Claus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the great outdoors by staying at Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort in Santa Claus, Indiana. Voted one of the top ten favorite parks in North America and a two-time National RV Park of the Year, Lake Rudolph is the closest lodging and camping to Holiday World Theme Park & Splashin' Safari Water Park. Multiple family lodging options include over 270 Vacation Rentals (Cabins, Cottages & Rental RVs), and nearly 230 full hookup RV Sites and Tent Sites, including over 100 paved sites. Family fun amenities including Santa's SplashDown WaterPark, the giant Blitzen Bay swimming pool, playgrounds, basketball courts, horseshoe pits, fishing, paddleboats, kayaks, gem mining, mini golf, game room, camp store, Blitzen Kitchen Ice Cream & Pizza, family activities, and much more. Lake Rudolph is the perfect solution for your getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Rudolph Campground & Rv Hotel Santa Claus
Lake Rudolph Campground And Rv Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing