We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always great Mexican food”

Jalapenos' The Hottest Mexican
Ranked #57 of 98 Restaurants in Schererville
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
munster, indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always great Mexican food”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Fabulous shrimp fajitas, huge shrimp. Great tasting veggies. Rice is very good. We had the pork nachos too and they were great.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank livetobeafoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    6
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crete, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Chef Mic, hard at work”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We had a Groupon for this place, so we decided to give it a try. Never was excited about ANY chain restaurants, but what the heck. I ordered a combo, chile relleno, cheese enchilada, and a pork taco. What was delivered was a soupy mess. Couldn't tell where the chile or the enchilada were located on the plate. Taco was also soup. Others in our party complained that the steak dishes they ordered were just tasteless, no seasonings at all. The menu is sooooo extensive, you need to come in an hour early just to wade through it, so you know everything's pre-prepared and frozen, just waiting to see Chef Mic. The waiter never came back to check on us, except once, seconds after the food was delivered, so we hadn't even tasted it. He never came back to see if we wanted dessert, or could get us anything else, just dropped the check off. He said adios, and we said adios for good. There's a LOT better food out there, but I doubt anything at this place is any better than the dreck we were served. I'd skip it if I were you.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
69 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“So-So”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I don't think this place has excellent food but if you are starving it will suffice. It just seems like the place is fizzling out. I do like a few things they have on the menu: guac, hand-shaken margarita and steak fundido. We eat here maybe once a year and only because my mom will ask me to take her there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bammad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
177 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“One of the worst Mexican food experiences hands down”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

You would not believe it if you looked around. The restaurant was full of NW Indiana residence that enjoy quantity over quality. There was nothing that we touched that it could have deemed passable. Typically some aspect of this type of restaurant is home made, like the salsa or chips. Not here. The biggest insult came from the Fajita itself. A heap of kitchen sink remnants with irregularly cut vegetables and the toughest "mystery" meat that I could ever chew. I am a chef and could not decipher which part of the animal the meat came from. Most reputable Mexican restaurants would utilize a cut called "skirt steak" and cook it to your liking [medium, medium-rare etc]. Not this restaurant. These cuts were leftover from various part of the animal [se pic] Service is made of servers turned "order takers". The greeting was simply " can I get you a drink? " without a smile. In fact it ius hard to assess if anyone is enjoying working here.
I live 2 miles from the restaurant. Might as well be in Alaska as I will never go back

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Giorgi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nasty and Horrible”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We would not recommend this place to anyone.TacoBell would be a better option. when we looked inside the seating area half of the tabes was empty. we saw the wait staff use a dirty rag to wipe table after table off with out puting the rag in any type of water. Food was wiped on the floor and people were sat at the table with the floor full of old food. It to almost an hour to get our food, The food was not that great. A wasted night at a place with very rude hostess and wait staff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coupondad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jalapenos' The Hottest Mexican also viewed

 

Been to Jalapenos' The Hottest Mexican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing