We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mariann Travel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mariann Travel Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Scottsburg
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Room left much to be desired. Sheets n towels had stains. One light didn't work, another was completely broken and a fire hazard. There was a stench in the room and there was only 2 pieces if bread and 3 apples available for breakfast. However, the pool area was a huge hit.... Very nice. Can't complain when it was the only available room in the area and only paid $60. Get what u pay for...

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 925dianen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    20
    8
    9
    11
See reviews for
23
19
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

This is an older motel (where the rooms all have a separate entrance from outside). The outdoor pool is nice, and the rates are a bargain. It looks like the owners are trying to spruce it up, but the building has a few major flaws, most importantly the room door isn't the least bit soundproof. Also, our room was supposed to non-smoking, but it smelled strongly of cigarette smoke.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scottsburg hotels

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

front desk super-gave me the room I asked for so I could keep a eye on my Harley.
Have stayed there many times on my bike trip back to Milwaukee from SCarolina.
Price was right an room was fine. WIFI worked great an was already logged in from
prior stays. Cleaning ladies were very nice an very co-operative.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank THOMAS M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

I, like the other reviewers that had negative experiences here, cannot comprehend the good reviews. I was taking a road trip with my family and we had to stop to get some sleep and take showers. When we got to the room, I immediately figured out that the shower would not be happening. This is a very dirty, dated facility. There was hair on my pillow, cigarette ashes on the toilet, various kinds of hair, (animal & human) all over the bathroom floor, stains on the sheets and a scary tub. I was happy when we arrived as they had a room and took pets. It's also very reasonable but my pleasure stopped immediately when I saw the room. I know that this is a small, non-franchise business and would be happy to recommend an independent operator, but really, they need invest in some new bedding, fixtures etc., I don't think they've updated a thing in the last 40 years. We saw the cleaning lady and the room she was working out of and it looked like a filthy, dirty garage. I'm sorry but can't recommend this facility. It was truly a disgusting experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tmp24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Due to large events in Louisville, there were NO rooms available South or North of the city. I had been driving for many hours and needed to get my family off the road. The night clerk was friendly and efficient. I was grateful when they had space UNTIL we got into the room. HEAVY smell of smoke, dirt, debris, and even dead bugs around bed frames and edges of floor, the shelf beneath the night stand was covered in dust and dirt, even hair on the bathroom floor!!! Yuck. I went to call the desk and the phone was out of order. I was going to walk to the office to request a room change, but my 7 year old had passed out on the bed. Thankfully we had already stripped the bed cover off.

To combat the smell, we left the door open for a while, then cranked up the AC. No help. I left a light on in the room to discourage anything that might be hiding. Needless to say, I didn't get much sleep. My wife refused to take a shower given the shape of the bathroom.

The following morning I told the desk clerk that the room was in serious need of cleaning. She smiled and said, "Well, thank you - have a nice day". I got the impression it wouldn't come up in the morning staff meeting. :)

I would recommend they tell guests about the smoke smell prior to renting the room. I would recommend you go nearly anywhere else first, and inspect the room if no other options are available. I am now home washing everything we brought into that room. Never Again!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familytraveler332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim J, Owner at Mariann Travel Inn, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Familytraveler - I apologize for your experience. Rest assured that our house keeping staff will discuss the room condition you experienced. This is not our normal operation and you should have been notified that the room had been a smoking room in the past.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Good for the price and was half the cost of hotels not far from Louisville. Rooms need some attention for future useage, but would stay again. Coffee pots need replaced, and baseboard would hide the wallpaper peeling.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lxnitrous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim J, Owner at Mariann Travel Inn, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Lxnitrous - Thank you for your comments about our Mariann Travel Inn in Scottsburg IN. We are working on upgrading our property and look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
281 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

I can see why this place has good reviews....I trust trip advisor reviews and some times they have let me down, but not this time. Ok let me get down to the specifics. The service is probably some of the friendliest you'll come across and the king size bed I slept in was really really comfortable...The reason I didn't give and excellent is because the room did smell a little stale and the carpet could use some cleaning. I would still stay again though.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank NateB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim J, Owner at Mariann Travel Inn, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
NateB4 - Thank you for your comments about our Mariann Travel Inn in Scottsburg IN. We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottsburg
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Scottsburg
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Scottsburg
Hampton Inn Scottsburg
#1 of 6 in Scottsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
20.3 mi away
Ramada Sellersburg/Louisville North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Knights Inn Seymour
Knights Inn Seymour
#7 of 10 in Seymour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
20.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sellersburg
Days Inn & Suites Sellersburg
#2 of 4 in Sellersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
19.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 10 in Seymour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariann Travel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariann Travel Inn

Property: Mariann Travel Inn
Address: 1250 W McClain Ave, I-65 Exit 29 north of Louisville, KY, Scottsburg, IN 47170-1165
Region: United States > Indiana > Scottsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Scottsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mariann Travel Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mariann Travel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariann Travel Hotel Scottsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing