We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My First 5 Star Review! Hidden Gem!”
Review of The Townhouse Cafe

The Townhouse Cafe
Ranked #5 of 75 Restaurants in Seymour
Cuisines: American, Diner, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
298 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“My First 5 Star Review! Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed 2 December 2012

One word here guys....Wow! The building is clean and gives off the feeling of home. The people are beyond friendly and make you feel welcomed. Boy oh boy the food was shocking!! We ordered eggs, sausage, potatoes, breaded tenderloin, biscuits and gravy, and cole slaw! The sausage was amazing! The tenderloin became better with each bite. And then the biscuits and gravy....was honestly the best I have ever had. If you are in Seymour or near Seymour this is a must eat hidden gem! Great people, great service, great prices, and great food. You cannot do wrong here!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    19
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Real midwestern small town charm”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Pulled off the highway for breakfast and found Town House. Nice breakfast - nothing fancy, just good. Friendly waitress and homey atmosphere (it seemed everyone else there knew each other!). Glad we chose to drive a bit into town instead of settling for the epidemic of fast food restaurants closer to the highway.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JLGarvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairview, Illinois
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great hometown cafe.”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We were passing thru town and our hotel did not offer much for breakfast, so we found this local gem instead. Looks like a family run place. Cozy feeling when you walk in the door. Service was friendly, food arrived quickly and tasted great

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank 04HOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
270 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Breakfast is only so,so”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I hate to downgrade what obviously is a local institution, but the food served at least at breakfast is average at best. The service was OK, I didn't try a pie.

I'd probably hit it one more time for lunch or dinner just to try their other menu items.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank willdriveforfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seymour, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Homemade food with small town pride”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

The food is homemade and makes you think of mom's cooking when you were a kid. The staff is down to earth and just common folk. Just a little hole in the wall with excellent down home food. A comfortable eating establishment without any pretentiousness.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bdw319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Townhouse Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Townhouse Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing