We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy patron since Farmstead opened many years ago.”
Review of Farmstead Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Farmstead Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Shipshewana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Clean, quiet, and reasonably priced. Close proximity to downtown Shipshewana and flea market.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (938)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

915 - 921 of 938 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2011

It is very affordable. It is clean and the staff are nice. The breakfast area is okay. There is lots for families with kids to do ike a play area, swing set, pool, etc... We will gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeAdopt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

We arrived on a Sunday evening after canoeing on the Pigeon River. The staff was not exactly friendly. We knew that things would not be hopping on a Sunday, but after such an exhausting day were looking forward to peace and quiet. We got neither as the walls were so thin we could hear the very loud child next door late into the night and very early the next morning. We never heard another voice - not even asking him to quiet down.

We were looking forward to a quality breakfast - after all, we are in Amish country - but were very disappointed in what we got. The best of what we had was the Frosted Flakes. We stay in a lot of hotels that offer continental breakfast and save for one place that only offered grocery store donuts, this was by far the worst. Not one quality baked good. The orange juice was like water, the biscuits were hard, the gravy was something indescribable and, well, it was just bad. The coffee wasn't even decent.

The beds were comfortable enough. though the pillows were not very supportive, and the room was very clean. The shower head was so low my husband had to duck down to wash his hair.

The location was great as you could walk right across the street to the market, but that was the best thing about the place. We are returning to the area in the fall for another canoe/kayaking trip, but will try another place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank indianaexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Our first trip here and the hotel was more than I expected. The room was large w/2 queen beds. No frills but very clean and comfortable.
We stayed three nights. Breakfast is fair. There is cereal, some type of gravy to put over mini bisquits, english muffins (they crumbed when I tried to split it), bananas (most black), unwashed apples (so when do I eat it?) along with coffee and juices. Ate there just one morning and ate out the rest.
Front desk was not overly friendly but pleasant.
It is across the street from the Flea Market which is held Tues/Wed during the summer. Area is really hopping then as this is HUGE. Wear comfortable shoes and be prepared to spend the day walking it.
The best pie can be found across the street (and we're die-heart dessert eaters) at the Auction Restaurant. Again Tues/Wed its packed but fine the rest of the week (closed Thursday). We even took a whole pie home.
The Essenhaus in Middlebury (approx 15 min ride) is a must for good dinner. You don't need reservations but if you don't be prepared to wait.
Shops are all around. There are some just down the road (no sidewalks) or about 5 min by car on Harrison St. Just park and start walking down the street lined with one shop after the other and ends with Davis Merchantile which houses quite a few stores and floors.
Buggy rides are advertised but if you want a really nice and informative one go one block over to Morton Street across from the Bakery and there is a wonderful Amish gentleman who only charges $5 (compared to the more expensive rides) and who is more than willing to discuss Amish way of life and answer any questions.
Trip was well worth it and although the hotel offers an exercise room, we felt the walking qualified us enough to forego it but the pool/whirlpool did help those tired feet.
There's a lot to take in but the shops close EARLY and the town is shut down by 8pm but by then you welcome the comfort the rooms have to offer.
And if you do take the buggy ride, tell "Sam" Hello from his English friends Carol/Barbara.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank girlfriends2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

We have stayed at the Farmstead Inn several times, mostly recently last week for 2 nights. Our party included myself, my husband and sister. We chose the Farmstead based on location to the Shipshewana Flea Market (directly across the street) and past stays here. It is very clean and comfortable with a nice indoor pool and hot tub. Rooms are large and well-appointed. Ther rates are reasonable for the area and the location is ideal for the Tuesday and Wednesday Flea Market, and shopping in downtown Shipshewana. The included breakfast is average for a hotel. The only negative thing was the beds, although comfortable, could use new frames as they move around a bit when you turn in bed. Altogether a good place to stay while in Amish land and we will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IndianaLynn53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

My sisters and I have visited Shipshewanna EVERY year for the last 14 years, always staying for at least 2 nights and 3 days. Our main point of interest has always been shopping at the Flea Market and the surrounding shops. In the first few years we stayed at a hotel in Goshen. We always saw The Farmstead Inn, and talked about how nice it looked and how Beautiful!! the grounds surrrounding it are!! And the fact that the Flea Market is literally, across the street! We all assumed that it would be an outragiously, high priced hotel!! WRONG! The Inn is very reasonably priced, especially with all the added ammenities! CLEAN, COZY, CONVENIANT, With a very friendly and competant staff. We have stayed there for the last 7 or 8 years (approx.), and wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else!! Definitely a first class Inn!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rbeeno13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2011

Love this Inn! Planning two trips back to this inn 2011. Can't wait to take more friends. This is the perfect relaxing place.

Room Tip: They always have specials!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveToTravel72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipshewana
0.4 mi away
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Middlebury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Howe Inn
13.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Goshen
Hampton Inn Goshen
#1 of 6 in Goshen
276 reviews
0.7 mi away
Der Ruhe Blatz Motel
Der Ruhe Blatz Motel
#5 of 5 in Shipshewana
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farmstead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmstead Inn

Address: 370 S van Buren St, Shipshewana, IN 46565-9200
Region: United States > Indiana > Shipshewana
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Shipshewana
Price Range: £70 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Farmstead Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Farmstead Inn is located in the heart of Northern Indiana Amish Country. The architecture is patterned after local homesteads and contains 153 spacious and comfortable guest rooms. Our large, well-appointed Inn was designed to offer the feel of a quaint, old farmhouse while offering the modern comforts our guests expect including Free hot continental breakfast, indoor pool, hot tub, fitness center, ping pong, basketball and conference center facilities for up to 550. Each room is complete with an HD DirecTV package, refrigerator, microwave & coffee maker. It's an easy stroll from the Inn to the many local shops and attractions, including the Shipshewana Trading Place Auction & Flea Market during the summer season. Amenities include hot continental breakfast, free wireless Internet, indoor pool and hot tub, a recreation building and several comfy seating areas with fireplaces. Let our staff welcome you home, to the Farmstead Inn. Across from the famous Shipshewana Flea Market and nearby Shipshewana's downtown shopping and dining district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Farmstead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmstead Hotel Shipshewana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing