We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice & Convenient”
Review of Farmstead Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Farmstead Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Shipshewana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This hotel was a good choice. To begin with, this hotel was at the bottom of my choice hotel list in Shipshewana, IN, most likely due to reviews. After calling several hotels & trying to make reservations for this 2 night stay during the quilt festival, this hotel was accommodating. They might have given us a room without a view of anything but there isn't much to look at anyway. This hotel was right across the road from the Big Flea Market that everyone is familiar with. This hotel was easy to find & the check-in was fine & our room was real nice. We liked having 2 bathroom sinks for our convenience & in the room we had a small table that we could rearrange. We arranged the table with 2 chairs in front of the TV & it felt homey. Especially since after eating dinner, every place in Shipshewana closes & there is nothing else to do but come back to your hotel room We did not use the pool since the walk to the pool through the hotel was far & the halls were A/C freezing cold. The Continental Buffet was the best that we have ever seen and we arrived early to eat on both mornings, so it was still nice & neat. We will return to this hotel again at some time when we return to the Shipshewana Flea Market.

Room Tip: If you are told that they have had cancellations & they can accommodate you. Go ahead & take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LBNashGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (961)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

857 - 863 of 961 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed here 6-23-14 and 6-24-14. People at the front desk were friendly and courteous. Room was clean and roomy. It seemed like it had a large bathroom, tub, toilet and sink with longer counter top and large mirror. Just out side of the bath was another sink and counter top and mirror, very convenient. The beds were so-so but ok. Room did not smell, it was quiet and they were quite busy there due to some quilt festival going on. They offer a rather large breakfast buffet which was good. Coffee, OJ, oatmeal, cereal, fresh fruit, breads and rolls, hot biscuits and gravy, hard boiled eggs and fresh self serve waffles. It was all pretty good, just wear a sweater because it seemed quite cool in some areas. The pool looked nice, with a kiddy pool and hot tub close by. We have no complaints and would definitely go back again.
It is right across the street from Shipshewanna flea market. You could walk to the flea market if you were really energetic, but that means you have to walk back and carry your packages after visiting the flea market. It is a short drive and if you go early you can get a good parking space.

Room Tip: Just ask for what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Wildbill4951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Came in town from Nashville TN for our Daughter's Wedding for the following day at The Farmhouse Weddings in Nappanee. We had two rooms My Husband and I and our three adult children. On the Wedding Day My Husband and Son were threatened to have the police called on them because of a 42 minute late check out. I have been coming to Shipshewana for 25 years and never have been so disappointed in the way we were treated at this Inn. I will never ever stay here again. Very rude people unprofessional staff! They do not know how to treat customers. THANKS FOR THE ADDITIONAL STRESS!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Annette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Nothing fancy but clean and convenient. No internet even though that's what they advertised. We didn't make it for breakfast so I can't speak to that but the coffee was pretty bad. Everything was super clean and I would rather have that then a good cup of coffee.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We were quite surprised at this hotel, this not being a big chain was very clean. Beautiful grounds, spacious hallways, plenty of room and breakfast for all guests. We were with a bus tour and all twenty-two people were very pleased!
We would stay here again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank B L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

A very friendly staff. I arrived 130 am after other family arrived earlier that evening. Didn't get any fuss from staff coming in that late. Clean rooms, very comfortable beds, great continental breakfast with homemade waffles, fruit, muffins, cereal, juices and coffee. Will definitely stay again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I have stayed here several years but will not be again. The gal who checked us in was not very good nor were they nice. No coffee pot in the room! Told that standard rooms don't have coffee pots. WHAT??? Was told in a way that it was too bad so sad. Never staying there again.

Also they advertise Wi Fi but we could not get on it. Probably because it was a "standard" room.

Room Tip: My tip is to check out the Blue Gate INN. They treat you with kindness and the rates are way better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipshewana
0.4 mi away
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Middlebury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Howe Inn
13.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 6 in Goshen
156 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Shipshewana
Super 8 Shipshewana
#4 of 5 in Shipshewana
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farmstead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmstead Inn

Address: 370 S Van Buren St, Shipshewana, IN 46565-9200
Region: United States > Indiana > Shipshewana
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Shipshewana
Price Range: £66 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Farmstead Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Farmstead Inn Shipshewana is located in the heart of Northern Indiana's Amish country and is the closest hotel to the Shipshewana Auction, Flea Market and downtown shopping and attractions. The 153 guest rooms are modeled after the Amish homes that are in the area. Noted for cleanliness and large rooms, the Farmstead Inn also offers Complimentary Hot Breakfast, Indoor Pool, Spa, 1/4 Court Basketball, Fitness Room, Game Room, Atrium with Fireplace, Conference Center, Meeting Rooms, Walking Paths and more. Guest Room amenities include In-room Refrigerator, Microwave, Coffee Maker, free WiFi, and HD TV with DirecTV. Suites and Grand Rooms are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Farmstead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmstead Hotel Shipshewana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing