We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Der Ruhe Blatz Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Der Ruhe Blatz Motel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Shipshewana
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Four of us girls have stayed here for over 12 years once a year for two nights on our annual Shipshawana trip and wouldn't stay anywhere else. We meet another group of girls each year that stay here also and we have a wonderful time. The rooms are always very clean and each year there are always updates to the room and service. The owners are super nice people and always so happy to see us each year. They have added a very nice breakfast which you can enjoy before you head out for your day of shopping. There are chairs and benches that you can sit on ourside your room and visit with other guests if you choose. It has a very homey atmosphere and all the staff are always very pleasant and accomadating. Wouldn't want to change anything as it is the highlight of our summer.

Room Tip: They are all good!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Artis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    30
    16
    9
    6
See reviews for
23
50
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Small Town USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

We researched this hotel last year and decided to pay more to stay at a different hotel after reading the reviews. Then this year I saw that farily good things were being said about it, so we tried it. Nice place for the money. Our rooms were quiet, clean and spacious. The free breakfast was not my cup of tea since the only protein it had on it was the sausage in the gravy but others may be good with it. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

My wife and I checked into this motel after we found every other hotel and motel in a 25 mile radius were completely booked up. The first night we stayed the air conditioning didn't work very well but when I mentioned it to the front desk clerk she told the maintenance person and when we arrived back in the room the next day the air conditioner had been replaced and was working wonderfully. It is a quaint place to stay I am not sure how the breakfast was since we don't eat much breakfast. I would stay here again and recommend friends and coworkers to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyoming, Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

We just returned from another relaxing stay with Dixie and Andy. Very clean rooms, great complimentary breakfast. We stay here twice a year and every time is the same with the cleanliness of the rooms and the friendly housekeepers that are there. We already booked our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farmgirl5409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

Der Ruhe Blatz Motel is very clean, neat, affordable, and highly recomended for both vacation, buisness and great for anyone in the RV Transporting buisness. Over all, an absolutely wonderful place to stay. My driving partner and I stay here quite often, while not on the road, and always geat a good night sleep and enjoy ourselves. Thank you Der Ruhe Blatz Motel!

David & Donna

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

The rooms are warm and comfortable. Exceptionally clean. Have ironing board and iron, frig, bathrub with hot water , for a wonderful bath. The beds are very comfortable. It is quiet, and pet friendly. The managers are kind and very helpful. Their office is very nice and you are offered coffee and light breakfast. Can't say enough good things about this motel. Will stay here every time we are in Shipshewana In.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lake odessa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

Went for an overnight mid week getaway. The motel was very clean, larger screen tv, mini fridge, table and 2 chairs. Furniture and bed were made by local Amish and added a nice touch. The bed was comfortable and the room had its own heat/air conditioning unit that was easy to regulate (it was a chilly,rainy day/night). We did not take advantage of the free breakfast, but from what we saw it looked about the same as the other free breakfast we have had in the past at other higher priced hotel/motels. The price was better than any other nearby hotel/motel and was located near all the Shipshewana activities. All in all it was a very nice motel and it would be my first choice to stay at again.

Room Tip: We had an end room and it was good not sure about any other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dactec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipshewana
0.4 mi away
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
0.8 mi away
Farmstead Inn
Farmstead Inn
#2 of 5 in Shipshewana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Middlebury
10.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Howe Inn
19.6 mi away
Brook Pointe Inn
Brook Pointe Inn
#2 of 2 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Der Ruhe Blatz Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Ruhe Blatz Motel

Property: Der Ruhe Blatz Motel
Address: 1195 S. Van Buren Street, Shipshewana, IN 46565
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Shipshewana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Shipshewana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Der Ruhe Blatz Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built by 16 Amish families it's called the "The Rest Place" and with all there is to see and do in our quaint little town, you'll be ready to kick off your shoes at the end of the day and settle in for a quiet night. Each of the 30 rooms feature all oak furniture built by the local Amish families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Der Ruhe Blatz Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing