We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and pristine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Shipshewana
Certificate of Excellence
Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Warm and pristine”
Reviewed 18 October 2012

This hotel was a delightful surprise. My granddaughter and I spent two nights of her fall break and she did comment that she was the youngest person around.. The front desk was staffed by friendly people and the other staff members went out of their way to make sure everything was just right. The rooms were immaculate and the bedding was most comfortable. The breakfast was a welcome surprise with variety. It was busy but the lady running it was able to keep up with the crowd. I am always amazed at the relationships of staff members. This one was a happy, relaxed, and caring group. I will want to stay here again.

Room Tip: All of the rooms seem to be very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indianatraveler44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanBuren7780, Front Office Manager at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
I'm glad you and your granddaughter enjoyed your stay with us. We like to think that we are all part of a family here and glad that it has shown through for you. Thank you for your kind words. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    85
    12
    9
    5
See reviews for
106
125
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
pittsburgh
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

This was a very clean and well cared for hotel, Also very convenient to lots of activity's, Rooms were comfortable WIFI worked great. My handicapped room was set up very well, And made my trip much Moor comfortable. will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanBuren7780, Front Office Manager at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
I'm glad to hear we were able to accommodate all of your needs while you visited Shipshewana and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

My husband and I had a nice escape to this hotel for the weekend in the jacuzzi suite. The hotel was very clean and well kept. The hotel was quiet - a lot of older people staying here and visiting Shipshewana. The breakfast bar was busy but the single staff member made sure everything was plentiful. We also swam in the the pool which was clean and had plenty of towels. Overall, it was a very nice stay and I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The jacuzzi is big and roomy and clean. After seeing the rest of the hotels in Shipshewana, I was g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mom1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanBuren7780, Front Office Manager at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
I am glad to hear you had such an enjoyable time at our home and want to Thank you for your great recommendation & kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We stayed in a King Sofa room on the 3rd floor. The layout is such that you enter into the living room area where there is a sofa, small desk table with two wooden chairs, a comfortable armchair, dresser and flat screen TV and is plenty large enough. Ahead of this is a short hallway with a good sized bathroom on one side and counter with a sink, microwave and small fridge on the other then at the far end is the bedroom which again is large enough with another flatscreen TV and a big window.

Our room was very clean...the HVAC, TV's & WiFi worked well and we had a great view out the bedroom window. The included breakfast was fine for us and included scrambled eggs and sausage patties.

The hotel is on the edge of town but from the parking lot to the centre of it is about a minute drive as Shipshewana is not very big anyways.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biker01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanBuren7780, Front Office Manager at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Thank you for your great recommendation, it validates our entire staff's effort on a daily basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monclova
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Too bad our visit started out sour, better not arrive early as you will be met by a very rude clerk barking at you " we can't possibly get you into you room before 3:00" I said what time is it, she said "2:40 and there is no way you can possibly come in early." I told her that the web site said check in was 2:00, then went outside with my mom to wait.
While waiting several people came in and checked in got thier keys and went to their rooms before 3:00, so I went back to the service desk to sign in, while the clerk was getting my papers ready I told her that I felt she was very rude to me earlier, she of course denied it and ask in what way she was rude, I told her she could have politely told me that our room would not be ready until 3:00, she said well that is what I said, and we have our lobby video taped, I told her I hope she watches it. I also told her that they need to change their website since it stated on there check in was at 2:00. Another costumer told her the same thing, but instead of her apologizing she just said yes I know. She said she would let me know when our room was ready, which she did not do, at 3:20 I went back to the desk for the 3rd time, finally got our keys. Good thing the rest of the staff were very polite, no complaints about our room. I see now that have corrected the check in time to 3:00 as of today's date 9/20/12.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean_Peppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanBuren7780, Front Office Manager at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
I would like to apologize for your experience at check-in during your stay with us. Our housekeepers and maintenance staff work very hard to make the rooms available by 3:00 every day. Unfortunately many days they are unable to finish prior to check-in time. I apologize for the lack of explanation as to why you were unable to enter your room and am glad you were still able to enjoy the remainder of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012 via mobile

A quiet extremely well kept hotel on the main street. While I did not partake of breakfast daily it was plentiful and substantial or light depending on your desire. I did find the coffee to resemble instant, no flavor but that seemed the case in the while area. I missed my cafe Verona!

The seating areas in the room along with frig allowed enjoyment of local treats. The hotel was a pleasure. It even had a guest laundry to permit packing of clean clothes for my next stop.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pabtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanBuren7780, Front Office Manager at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay! We've tried several brands of coffee, but we are always open to suggestions. :) Next time you will have to give us some hints.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P'burgh, NY
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Spent one night in Shipshewana while visiting some of the local attractions. The hotel was a pretty basic no-frills kind of place. The room was clean and pretty comfortable but not exactly a four-star affair. The only major issue was that the floors provided virtually no sound proofing. Unfortunately we had what seemed to be a couple of small children above us and their normal playing around sounded like they were jumping on our heads. They turned in early though so things were OK by the time we went to sleep.
Shipshewana is an interesting place but I didn't realize it was a dry town. So if you'd like a class of wine or an after dinner drink, better bring your own. One other tip about the town. The Mercantile Center is a sort of Amish mall. Unfortunately, most of the items for sale there are not real hand-crafted goods, but are actually cheap foreign knock-offs. If you want the real Amish goods you'll need to visit the smaller local family-run shops.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nearlycanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanBuren7780, Front Office Manager at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
First I would like to apologize for the noise. We try to keep any families with children on 1st floor for just that reason. It doesn't matter how small the feet, it always ends up sounding like a herd of elephants. Second, a good tip for you would be to travel some of the back roads around town. You will find more Amish businesses, because most of them have shops on their personal property. Third, definitely stop and get your adult beverages on your way to town. I'll let you in on a little "secret", too. We are the only hotel in town that even allows alcohol, so keep that in mind while booking. That you for all of your input, and I hope you have an even better experience if/when you come back to Shipshewana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipshewana
1.6 mi away
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
1.3 mi away
Farmstead Inn
Farmstead Inn
#2 of 5 in Shipshewana
765 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Middlebury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Howe Inn
1.5 mi away
Super 8 Shipshewana
Super 8 Shipshewana
#4 of 5 in Shipshewana
680 reviews
2.0 mi away
Der Ruhe Blatz Motel
Der Ruhe Blatz Motel
#5 of 5 in Shipshewana
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana

Property: The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
Address: 1175 N van Buren St, Shipshewana, IN 46565-8746 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Shipshewana)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Shipshewana
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Shipshewana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Van Buren Hotel is the ideal place to stay while visiting the Shipshewana area. Our exceptional service and hospitality is among the best in town. We offer a full, hot complimentary breakfast, free wireless internet, along with many other fine amenities. Come, stay, and enjoy The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana where our family serves your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Hotels.com so you can book your The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Shipshewana
Shipshewana Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing