We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Experience in Shipshe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Shipshewana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2012

They were quite friendly on the phone and then upon entering the front door they greeted us with a smile. It was nice and clean and everyone was so nice. We loved the accommodations. We;ve been coming to this hotel for a few years and have always appreciated the people and how they go out of their way to make you feel at home. Our last stay was this week and we enjoyed it very much. We just felt like their breakfast bar has gone downhill recently. It just seemed like we were getting day old biscuits, breads and rolls. And the yogurt was not up to par. They have a lot to offer but it's substandard. Dried up hash browns and eggs just doesn't cut it. They have a great pool and excercise room. I would recommend staying here, but for breakfast,... go out. They have updated the rooms with refrigerators, microwaves, and big tv's. That was just wonderful. I love the rooms. It's also fun to sit outside on the porch in a rocker and watch the buggys drive by. Enjoy!

Room Tip: We like a room near the pool so we can get to the pool easier, but any room is great.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indianalilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanBuren7780, Front Office Manager at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Thank you for your kind words, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I do want to apologize for the breakfast; Unfortunately this time of the year it is sometimes difficult to keep everything as fresh since we don't go through it as quickly. However, I did want to let you know that we have talked to our breakfast staff to keep a better watch on everything. Hopefully this will take care of the problem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (371)
There are newer reviews for The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

As you walk in the front door you are immediately taken by the quality and effort that has gone into the initial impression you get from the hotel and the staff. This hotel is on a par with the best we have stayed. The rooms are well appointed and very pleasant. We arrived on a Sunday (which is very quiet in town as everything is closed) and were greeted by a caravan of Amish buggies going by the front door.

We highly recommend this hotel - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chickenman26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanBuren7780, Front Office Manager at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

I would like to thank you for your kind words, the staff works very hard to keep the hotel clean & well maintained. They always appreciate hearing that all the effort put forth is noticed & appreciated by our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We walked into this motel, took a whiff of the smell of wood, and we were sold! A local craftsman had made the room furniture of oak. Not only was it beautiful, but it smelled wonderful! The motel was clean, the desk personnel were super pleasant and helpful, the breakfast was great, the rooms were completely satisfactory - all this for a resaonable rate! This was the perfect motel to stay in during our wonder-filled visit to Shipshewana.

Room Tip: No need for air freshener. This motel smells new, clean, fresh, like pure oak!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelnewbee_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanBuren7780, Front Office Manager at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

I'm glad that you not only enjoyed your stay with us, but the time spent in our beautiful town. Thank you for your great review and I hope to see you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

This hotel was a delightful surprise. My granddaughter and I spent two nights of her fall break and she did comment that she was the youngest person around.. The front desk was staffed by friendly people and the other staff members went out of their way to make sure everything was just right. The rooms were immaculate and the bedding was most comfortable. The breakfast was a welcome surprise with variety. It was busy but the lady running it was able to keep up with the crowd. I am always amazed at the relationships of staff members. This one was a happy, relaxed, and caring group. I will want to stay here again.

Room Tip: All of the rooms seem to be very good.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Indianatraveler44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanBuren7780, Front Office Manager at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

I'm glad you and your granddaughter enjoyed your stay with us. We like to think that we are all part of a family here and glad that it has shown through for you. Thank you for your kind words. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

This was a very clean and well cared for hotel, Also very convenient to lots of activity's, Rooms were comfortable WIFI worked great. My handicapped room was set up very well, And made my trip much Moor comfortable. will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanBuren7780, Front Office Manager at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2012

I'm glad to hear we were able to accommodate all of your needs while you visited Shipshewana and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

My husband and I had a nice escape to this hotel for the weekend in the jacuzzi suite. The hotel was very clean and well kept. The hotel was quiet - a lot of older people staying here and visiting Shipshewana. The breakfast bar was busy but the single staff member made sure everything was plentiful. We also swam in the the pool which was clean and had plenty of towels. Overall, it was a very nice stay and I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The jacuzzi is big and roomy and clean. After seeing the rest of the hotels in Shipshewana, I was g...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mom1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanBuren7780, Front Office Manager at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

I am glad to hear you had such an enjoyable time at our home and want to Thank you for your great recommendation & kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We stayed in a King Sofa room on the 3rd floor. The layout is such that you enter into the living room area where there is a sofa, small desk table with two wooden chairs, a comfortable armchair, dresser and flat screen TV and is plenty large enough. Ahead of this is a short hallway with a good sized bathroom on one side and counter with a sink, microwave and small fridge on the other then at the far end is the bedroom which again is large enough with another flatscreen TV and a big window.

Our room was very clean...the HVAC, TV's & WiFi worked well and we had a great view out the bedroom window. The included breakfast was fine for us and included scrambled eggs and sausage patties.

The hotel is on the edge of town but from the parking lot to the centre of it is about a minute drive as Shipshewana is not very big anyways.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biker01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanBuren7780, Front Office Manager at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

Thank you for your great recommendation, it validates our entire staff's effort on a daily basis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipshewana
1.6 mi away
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
1.3 mi away
Farmstead Inn
Farmstead Inn
#2 of 5 in Shipshewana
864 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Middlebury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Howe Inn
14.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 6 in Goshen
139 reviews
1.5 mi away
Super 8 Shipshewana
Super 8 Shipshewana
#4 of 5 in Shipshewana
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana

Address: 1175 N Van Buren Street, Shipshewana, IN 46565-8746 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Shipshewana)
Region: United States > Indiana > Shipshewana
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Shipshewana
Price Range: £73 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Van Buren Hotel is the ideal place to stay while visiting the Shipshewana area. Our exceptional service and hospitality is among the best in town. We offer a full, hot complimentary breakfast, free wireless internet, along with many other fine amenities. Come stay and enjoy The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana where our family serves your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Shipshewana
Shipshewana Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing