We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Shipshewana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Very nice hotel. Friendly staff. Great breakfast. Convenient location. Great pillows, but bed wasn't what I am use to, not bad, just not what I am use to. Very clean beds though. Pool area was very nice and pool was clean. Wish they would have had a hot tub!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanBuren7780, General Manager at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to let others in the travel community about your experience with us! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, other than our bed not being what your used to. I certainly hope it didn't cause you too much discomfort. We truly appreciate your business, and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

We loved our weekend getaway in Shipshewana. Our whirlpool suite was very clean, staff were very friendly and helpful. The hot breakfast was delicious. The local restaurants are wonderful Amish cooking. The shopping is fun for all ages. A quiet, laid back place to relax for the weekend. We can't wait to go back again!

Room Tip: The whirlpool suites definitely worth the money to relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Marci D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonya C, Director of Sales at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Who doesn't love a weekend getaway? Thank you for staying with us, and for telling others how much you enjoyed it. Not only is The Van Buren Hotel a great place to stay, but Shipshewana is such a great place to visit. So many unique places to visit, it can't all be done in one day. Thank you again for such kind words, and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed at The Van Buren the end of December with out of town family members and cannot say enough good things about our visit there. We plan to return in the Spring and we even have 2 families near us that are planning long weekend getaways there, too! EVERYTHING was fantastic and we truly hated to leave. BEST STAFF EVER!!!! Five stars for sure!!! The buffet breakfast was excellent and the cleanliness of the entire building was a "10" and then some!! Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MRSUNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonya C, Director of Sales at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Wow, what a great review! Thank you so much for taking a moment to let others know how awesome The Van Buren Hotel is. We take a lot of pride in our service and cleanliness, and it is great to hear when someone takes notice. Thank you again, and we hope to see you again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We had a great stay at The Van Buren Hotel in Shipshewana. Our room was very spacious and very clean, which was much appreciated. Breakfast was good and plentiful, but wished there had been some fresh fruit as an option, even a banana or an apple. I would like to note, however, that the parking lot was extremely icy. My small son fell in the parking lot 3 times and I almost fell, luckily I was able to grab onto a car to avoid it. I know the winter has been bad but a little salt would have gone a long way. My elderly mother had a hard time making the extremely long trek to our room as the hotel is just one long line and not broken up, but I would definitely stay again. The pool was small but clean and well taken care of, and there were plenty of "beach" towels available, which was extremely appreciated as we forgot ours.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank LilyS1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonya C, Director of Sales at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell others about your experience here at The Van Buren Hotel. I am glad to hear that you had a great stay. I apologize for the condition of our parking lot, and we will see what kind of actions we could take to avoid this problem in the future. I'm just hoping that it warms up real soon so we don't have to worry about that kind of stuff until next winter. Thank you again for the kind words, and next time you stay, please don't hesitate to request a room closer to the front desk so your mother doesn't have to walk so far.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We have made reservations for 2015 and 2016 for room 125. We sincerely wish that we will have that room as reserved. We have had problems getting the room we reserved. We enjoyed our visit and the friendly service is very enjoyable. They adjusted their morning food schedule to make sure that patrons have food before starting out for the Pajama Sale which starts real early.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dbowlby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonya C, Director of Sales at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to let others know about your experience at The Van Buren Hotel! We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay, and that you plan to return. Thank you again, and we will do our best to make sure that 125 is available for you upon your arrival. Have a great day, and we'll see you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The staff at The Van Buren Hotel in Shipshewana was fantastic, they know how to make a person feel safe and happy ! That goes for the front desk ladies as well as the cleaning staff. I've not had an experience like this in a hotel in a long time, so keep it up ladies, and I'll be back !!!
Thank you,
Julie

Room Tip: I stayed in the 140 and it has an extra little room, what a treat to have the extra space !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonya C, Director of Sales at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thank you so much for the kind words, Julie! The safety and security of our guest's is our #1 priority, and we love to hear that our efforts have been noted! We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed the upgraded room with the extra space. Not only is the main bedroom larger than the standard double queen, but it also has an extra room with a small sleeper. It's a great room to get if you need a little extra space. Thank you again, Julie, and we hope to see you back at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

From check in to check out and everything in between the Van Buren Hotel is the place to stay. The staff was more than courteous and knowledgeable in everything Shipshewana. The first night the Manager told us there was a "Wana night" in town and gave us tips on where to go shopping where we could save money!!!
The room was very clean and quiet (no noise from the hallway) and the breakfast area was also very clean, the selection of food was amazing, and everything tasted good!
I would recommend this hotel to anyone coming to this area--you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank mackinawmaniacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonya C, Director of Sales at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to tell others about your stay here at The Van Buren Hotel. Everyone from management to maintenance to housekeeping to our front desk staff works very hard to ensure that all of our guests have a great experience here, and it is wonderful to hear that our hard work is paying off. Thank you again, and come and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipshewana
1.6 mi away
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
1.3 mi away
Farmstead Inn
Farmstead Inn
#2 of 5 in Shipshewana
932 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Middlebury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Howe Inn
14.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Goshen
Hampton Inn Goshen
#1 of 6 in Goshen
276 reviews
21.4 mi away
Brook Pointe Inn
Brook Pointe Inn
#2 of 2 in Syracuse
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana

Address: 1175 N Van Buren Street, Shipshewana, IN 46565-8746 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Shipshewana)
Region: United States > Indiana > Shipshewana
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Shipshewana
Price Range: £55 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Van Buren Hotel is the ideal place to stay while visiting the Shipshewana area. Our exceptional service and hospitality is among the best in town. We offer a full, hot complimentary breakfast, free wireless internet, along with many other fine amenities. Come stay and enjoy The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana where our family serves your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Shipshewana
Shipshewana Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing