We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Shipshewana
Certificate of Excellence
Orillia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“wonderful hotel”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This used to be a country Inn I believe but it's now called the Van Buren Hotel.
We brought a bus group here from Ontario and stayed for two nights.
Everyone loved the stay and the breakfast was excellent. The pool was great as well.
Beds were comfortable and the location was conducive for a quiet nights sleep.
Service was fast and very helpful with anything we needed.
I would stay here again in a flash!!

Room Tip: All the rooms were equally comfortable. It's always nice if you can get a ground floor room to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonya C, Director of Sales at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you, thank you, thank you for telling others on TripAdvisor how much your group enjoyed their stay. It's not very often a group leader takes the time to review us, and we really appreciate it. I am glad to hear that everything was up to par. Please don't hesitate to give us a call the next time you plan to bring a bunch of folks to Shipshewana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    85
    12
    9
    5
See reviews for
107
126
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manteno, IL
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I stayed here while in the area for business. It was clean and comfortable! The large hotel was basically empty but I felt safe and secure. The employees were nice and breakfast was okay too. I would stay again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ginala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonya C, Director of Sales at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for letting others know about your stay with us at The Van Buren Hotel. We strive to maintain a clean and comfortable hotel for those lucky enough to visit Shipshewana, and we appreciate you taking the time to review us. We hope to see you back here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Nice property, clean. Some rooms were being upgraded, which is ok due to it being their slow season. I'd guess there was only 3-4 rooms being used. On that note, they weren't very flexable on allowing for late check-out and wanting to close down breakfast early.
My Grand daughter enjoyed the pool ( that's why we wanted a late check out.)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nadine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonya C, Director of Sales at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell others about your experience at The Van Buren Hotel. I apologize that you were not granted a late check-out. We try to accommodate our guests as much as possible. However, on some days we have deep cleaning (especially in the slow season) and/or maintenance scheduled, and we have to have time to get that done before our housekeepers go home for the day. Thank you again, and we hope to see you back the next time your travels bring you to Shipshewana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Lake, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This was our first visit to Shipshewana. My husband and I were really pleased with the Van Buren Hotel. It was decorated beautifully. We really enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. Every hotel employee was friendly and helpful. Our rooms were very clean and offered all the amenities we needed for our trip. We even had a chance to enjoy the pool! The cookies at the front desk were also a great perk! My husband and I will definitely be returning to the Van Buren Hotel on our next trip to Shipshewana.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NovelKeepsakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonya C, Director of Sales at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for such a gleaming review of our little hotel. I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed so many things about The Van Buren. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle Creek, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Very nice hotel. Friendly staff. Great breakfast. Convenient location. Great pillows, but bed wasn't what I am use to, not bad, just not what I am use to. Very clean beds though. Pool area was very nice and pool was clean. Wish they would have had a hot tub!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanBuren7780, General Manager at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let others in the travel community about your experience with us! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, other than our bed not being what your used to. I certainly hope it didn't cause you too much discomfort. We truly appreciate your business, and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mendon, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We loved our weekend getaway in Shipshewana. Our whirlpool suite was very clean, staff were very friendly and helpful. The hot breakfast was delicious. The local restaurants are wonderful Amish cooking. The shopping is fun for all ages. A quiet, laid back place to relax for the weekend. We can't wait to go back again!

Room Tip: The whirlpool suites definitely worth the money to relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Marci D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonya C, Director of Sales at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Who doesn't love a weekend getaway? Thank you for staying with us, and for telling others how much you enjoyed it. Not only is The Van Buren Hotel a great place to stay, but Shipshewana is such a great place to visit. So many unique places to visit, it can't all be done in one day. Thank you again for such kind words, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed at The Van Buren the end of December with out of town family members and cannot say enough good things about our visit there. We plan to return in the Spring and we even have 2 families near us that are planning long weekend getaways there, too! EVERYTHING was fantastic and we truly hated to leave. BEST STAFF EVER!!!! Five stars for sure!!! The buffet breakfast was excellent and the cleanliness of the entire building was a "10" and then some!! Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRSUNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonya C, Director of Sales at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Wow, what a great review! Thank you so much for taking a moment to let others know how awesome The Van Buren Hotel is. We take a lot of pride in our service and cleanliness, and it is great to hear when someone takes notice. Thank you again, and we hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipshewana
1.6 mi away
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
1.3 mi away
Farmstead Inn
Farmstead Inn
#2 of 5 in Shipshewana
769 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Middlebury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Howe Inn
14.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 6 in Goshen
136 reviews
1.5 mi away
Super 8 Shipshewana
Super 8 Shipshewana
#4 of 5 in Shipshewana
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana

Property: The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
Address: 1175 N van Buren St, Shipshewana, IN 46565-8746 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Shipshewana)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Shipshewana
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Shipshewana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Van Buren Hotel is the ideal place to stay while visiting the Shipshewana area. Our exceptional service and hospitality is among the best in town. We offer a full, hot complimentary breakfast, free wireless internet, along with many other fine amenities. Come, stay, and enjoy The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana where our family serves your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Shipshewana
Shipshewana Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing