We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm glad we only had to stay one night!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Super 8 Shipshewana
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Shipshewana
Bear Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I'm glad we only had to stay one night!”
Reviewed 15 July 2010

The one good thing I have to say about this Super 8 is that the location is very good. We were disappointed with the condition of the room. Before I could use the desk I had to wipe away wet coffee rings, the pillowcases had been thrown on sideways and I never saw a motel bed made with flat sheets [at least since fitted sheets have been invented]. The price was very reasonable but like they say, "You get what you pay for".

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemini073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    224
    138
    57
    15
See reviews for
177
223
45
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2010

My husband and I had stayed here a few years ago and decided to come back again because of the economical price. We were both very disappointed with our stay this time, as it seemed the hotel rooms have not been updated since our last stay. The carpet in our room was stained, and the first thing I noticed was that our bed was short. It sounds odd, but I have never slept in a bed so close to the ground. Another thing that bothered us is that the pillowcases had small stains and our bed was not made very well. We could see the pilling on our mattress when we made the bed. Also, the staff was not very pleasant. We made a decision to try another hotel and decided to try the Amish Country Inn the next night instead. We were amazed at the difference. Yes, it was more expensive, but not by much, and it was well worth it for the wonderful night sleep we had the next night. The Super 8 is an okay place to stay if you are on a tight budget but we will not stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melissasnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2009

We stayed here in Dec.too. Close to everything. Great breakfast, make your own waffles.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyjo913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshires
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2009

I really can't complain or location. Great for the flea market/ craft fair. Pretty overpriced for the room ammenities, but breakfast was very well appointed for those that like carb. Rooms are older "super 8 furniture". I did have a bit of toothpast on the wall next to the sink. ewww. Staff were overheard, on the two trips I made through the lobby, discussing another guest. Loudly and negatively... very poor form.
Ok hotel, but a bit overpriced for the quality /value of room ammenities. Breakfast very good with several option.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingRhiannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastern Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2009

Motel is in a great location for the famous Flea Market and within a 2 block walk to the rest of the shopping center for the town. The free breakfast was very good as those free breakfasts go. The room had one of the most uncomfortable matresses I have ever been on....except for other Super 8 motels. I have been staying at other Super 8's for the last 4 years and the standard night medicine is 3 Tylenol just to sleep thu the night.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tireguy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berrien Springs
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2009

Not the best bed. I spent the two nights at Super 8 Motel and the first night was horrible. You could feel all the springs from the bed mattress. The heater was either too warm or too cold. In addition, if one of the other people staying in the hotel closes their door you could hear it in your room. Bad insulation. This motel is not pet friendly. I took my pet and the next day they did an axtra charge to my credit card. In other words, if you take your pet expect an additional $75.00 charge for your pet I guess they use this way to make more money and uses lame exuses to make that charge.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joseyzoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsgrove, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2007

You usually know what to expect when you stay at a Super 8, but this one was above and beyond the average. The hotel is among the cleanest I've seen, the staff is helpful and friendly, the location is excellent, and the continental breakfast rivals ones I have had at Hampton Inns and other more expensive hotels. I would definitely stay here again, and I'm sorry we were only in town for one night because I would have stayed at this Super 8 longer.

  • Liked — Good breakfast
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipshewana
0.1 mi away
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
0.3 mi away
Farmstead Inn
Farmstead Inn
#2 of 5 in Shipshewana
735 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Middlebury
10.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Howe Inn
11.3 mi away
Travelodge Sturgis
Travelodge Sturgis
#2 of 5 in Sturgis
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Shipshewana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Shipshewana

Property: Super 8 Shipshewana
Address: 740 S van Buren St, Shipshewana, IN 46565-8611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Shipshewana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Shipshewana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Shipshewana 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Shipshewana, a block away from the world famous Flea Market & Auction place and about half a mile from the downtown Shipshewana. Enjoy the shopping, dining and entertainment while lodging within a mile of the heart of Shipshewana. With a Certificate of Excellence from TripAdvisor in 2012 and 2013, Super 8 Shipshewana provides clean, comfortable rooms for lodging with quite a few complimentary amenities to go along with. Some of them are:• Free Super Start Full Hot breakfast.• Free wireless internet• Cable television including free Premium channels like HBO• 24 hours of fresh coffee and tea in the room and in the lobby• Handicap accessible rooms with one or two beds available• Guest Laundry facility• Pets are welcome for a small fee• Free local calls• All interior corridors• In room safe• Truck or bus parking• Group rates or Package rates available • AAA, AARP, Government, Military, Senior Citizens discount offered• Wyndham Rewards program honored without black out dates• In room Refrigerators & Microwave So, come on over and have a fun filled vacation in Shipshewana, IN and make Super 8 your lodging destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Super 8 Shipshewana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Shipshewana
Shipshewana Super Eight
Shipshewana Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing