We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just like the real deal!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kukui's Hawaiian Shaved Iced

Kukui's Hawaiian Shaved Iced
Ranked #6 of 25 Restaurants in Shipshewana
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
North Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just like the real deal!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

I have been to Hawaii and kukui's has shaved ice that is as good as Hawaii's. There is multiple flavors that are all delicious. Oh the nachos!!!!!!!! There were AMAZING!!!!!!! They had perfectly done pork and were drizzled with nacho cheese. I definitely reccomend kukui's to anyone who wants a little taste of Hawaii.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gcbernal5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    11
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Yum yum yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

They had a good variety of shaved ice, the value was great! Definitely would make the drive to come down again!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mrsprissraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Moline, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Coffee Stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

A little small, but the coffee and conversation are good. The owners were nice and could answer just about any question about the area I asked.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Ice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

I didn't know ice could taste this good. They have sugar free and low carb options too! The owner was inspired on a trip to Hawaii and her dream of having her own stand here is providing a sweet option in cold treats.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeana218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkhart, Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a taste you won't forget”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

I go to Kukui's at least once a month. I live about 40 mins away but it is worth the trip. To call this a restaurant may be a stretch though since it only has three tables inside and few more outside. This is more of a grab and go on most days since in the summer they are really busy. I have tried all the food items and they are all high quality. They have some outstanding relish combinations!! The real gem though is the shaved ice. I can not stress how addictive these things are, no matter what the temp outside my family craves this treat. My daughter gets one with ice cream underneath with coffee flavor on the ice and then they put chocolate syrup and sweet cream on top. I always steal a few bites. I usually get three flavors on my ice and love to experiment with combinations. The staff is very friendly and helpful, he owner is great! Love it when she is working. This is a must if you are in the area!!!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kukui's Hawaiian Shaved Iced also viewed

 

Been to Kukui's Hawaiian Shaved Iced? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing