We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Miserable experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shipshewana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shipshewana Campground & Amish Log Cabin Lodging
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Miserable experience”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We booked a cabin on the basis of these reviews on TripAdvisor & were totally surprised at how terrible it was. The one postive is that the cabins are very cute & clean. But that doesn't outweigh all the negatives. One reviewer said they were quiet except for hearing the horses go by. What horses? All we heard all night long were the sound of trucks shifting as they went up the hill & using their jake brakes! The cabin walls have no soundproofing & do not appear to be built with true Amish quality that we are familiar with. The mattress itself was "super firm," and that's being kind. We ran out of hot water in the shower after one shower. Our stay here spoiled our vacation. Neither my husband nor myself got a wink of sleep and so we left at sunrise. They require you to prepay so we lost the money we paid for our second night. My husband left a note requesting a refund for the next night out of decency, but they have not done so. We were so miserable we decided to go home and needed to get an early start & couldn't wait for the office to open, but hoped a note would be sufficient. All in all we felt this was just a tourist trap situation & will not visit again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Snownik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    12
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
19
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mediapolis, IA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

The Amish built log cabins are quaint and quiet. Can hear horses going by while enjoying the porch swings on each cabin. Have stayed in cabins on many occasions and would recommend them for those wanting a quiet stay. Continental breakfast is minimal. Included with the price of a cabin rental, but not provided on Sunday mornings. Water tends to have a strong sulfur smell. Wi-Fi only has 30 minutes free per day, then you have to pay. Cable TV in each cabin.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mepo_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus
Level Contributor
125 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Stayed at the North Campground, there are two in Shipshewana, for two nights in mid-September 2012. The sites were level and I did not have to use my leveler on the RV like I had to in other places. There was no campfire ring but I could see why as we were camped in an area with a lot of pine trees and fir trees. There is a community campfire ring if you want to have a small campfire. I liked this site because the stars were magnificent to see, something you don't get to see in the big city we live in. All in all, we will go back there again when we have to get an Amish fix again (we do this every few years).

Room Tip: The north site is quieter and you have to fight less traffic getting in and out of the place
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cyclop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Haven, MI
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Stayed here for one night in a "Deluxe" log cabin for a girls' night away. They are located on a little hill overlooking the campgrounds. Not fancy, but the deluxe ones have a bathroom in each one, that was important to us. The water smells really sulfurous, so if you're sensitive to that be warned. Beds are hard and pretty uncomfortable, but for one night it was okay. What I loved was I was able to get a cabin for only one night, there wasn't a "minimum" of 2 nights or a week.

We had fun shopping in Shipshewana Saturday all day, then sat on our little front porch and talked the night away. It's actually a sweet little place, there's some road noise from the porch but you can't hear it when you're inside the cabin. If you want to eat breakfast Sunday morning good luck! NOTHING is open. We had to drive quite a ways to find a restaurant, but we were leaving anyway so it wasn't a huge deal.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Carmollin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillett, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and would probably stay again. Nothing fancy, but we weren't expecting that. The staff was friendly. The have a continental breakfast for an hour during the morning. The cabins we stayed in overlooked the campground, but there weren't any campers in front of us. It was quiet. Rooms were clean too. Not sure if our heater worked. We turned it one to get the damp out and it kind of quit on us...so we just shut it off. It wasn't that far from town either but it wasn't a problem because there was lots of parking in town. If you aren't looking for a fancy place or pool, I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canandaigua, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We love visiting Shipshewana and we always stay at the Shipshewana Campground SOUTH...as there are two of them. We stay in our RV so I cannot rate the cabins, but the restrooms were immaculate, the staff very courteous...check-in was a breeze! Can't ask for a friendlier bunch of people. We love being able to just bike over to the town...it is a wonderful place to stay for a few days and explore Amish country. Yoder's Department Store and the Meat Store are excellent!! There are all kinds of little stores to check out with alot of information about local talent. We had such a wonderful time there and we will be going back again this year!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

Wonderful cabin tucked in the trees. Had the 3 C's I look for when staying. Clean, Comfortable, and Courteous Staff.
Very quite and country atmosphere. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank haley9551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipshewana
3.7 mi away
Farmstead Inn
Farmstead Inn
#2 of 5 in Shipshewana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
4.1 mi away
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Howe Inn
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Middlebury
4.0 mi away
Super 8 Shipshewana
Super 8 Shipshewana
#4 of 5 in Shipshewana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shipshewana Campground & Amish Log Cabin Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shipshewana Campground & Amish Log Cabin Lodging

Property: Shipshewana Campground & Amish Log Cabin Lodging
Address: 5970 N SR 5, PO Box 172, Shipshewana, IN 46565-8752
Region: United States > Indiana > Shipshewana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Shipshewana
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing