We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Shipshewana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I recently took my group to stay here. Imagine my surprise to find this quality of housing in the middle of nowhere. The hotel was spotless, the rooms spacious and well decorated. The staff was awesome, I had a couple of ladies who were on canes and their room was a good walk from the elevator. So I call the desk. Thery were moved along with their belongings in a matter of minutes. The breakfast was very good, with some added dishes we had not eaten elsewhere. (Bread Pudding, Amish peanut butter(Yum))

Room Tip: If you have trouble walking, ask for a room close to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vida S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,844)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,766 - 1,772 of 1,844 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Purchased a package deal of theatre tickets, dinner and overnight stay along with one additional night stay. All you can eat full breakfast was included. Close to flea market and downtown stores. No complaints at all - planning our next visit!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agm55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We shopped-shewana, and ate-shewana. We even watched a fantastic show-shewana! I will miss the constant clip-clop of Percherons pulling buggies as we leave Shipshewana and all of the fantastic memories we made there! Blue Gate packages are a great value for the money! Half Stitched, the musical is great fun and the family style buffet is ridiculous in only the best possible way! We loved the newly decorated room and the privacy half-wall was a great idea for traveling with families!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zibblezort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

close to downtown and flea market great place to stay ,will be better when pool is done .good breakfast and weight room. highway out front has bad traffic on flea market days. I am sure it get a lot busier on concert dates.

Room Tip: front of bldg. elevators and parking lot are close
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank h43not
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a great little getaway at the Blue Gate Inn. The rooms are lovely, and very clean, a nice country setting. The lobby cookies were yummy. The breakfast buffet was AMAZING for its variety and very tasty, too. The staff that worked the breakfast were very nice and attentive. We were able to open our window and hear the horses and buggies clopping by. We felt it was a very good value. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We usually ask to be on the top floor if there is an elevator. That way you don't have anybody...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We enjoyed everything about his beautiful hotel. We will return for a longer stay. Very nice decorated room,everything is brand new,original country style decorations,very clean. The stuff was very friendly and professional.The fresh cookies they served in the lobby were so delicious!
The breakfast buffet was serving very good food!
We had a terrific stay!

Room Tip: Big room,sofa and kitchen included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicolette363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

This is a brand-new hotel, The elevator is at the very front of the hotel, You have to walk a mile to your room, We made our reservations In January 2014, this is May 2014! They would not accommodate us when we ask to move to a different room ! The lamps are broken the light bulbs are not coming on , It is a very beautiful room , But now we have to walk a MILE to get to everything !! ; (((( I told them we would not be returning to this hotel EVER !! They did not care ! ; ((((

Stayed: May 2014
4  Thank cherylrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipshewana
0.4 mi away
Farmstead Inn
Farmstead Inn
#2 of 5 in Shipshewana
898 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Middlebury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Howe Inn
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Shipshewana
Super 8 Shipshewana
#4 of 5 in Shipshewana
734 reviews
0.4 mi away
Der Ruhe Blatz Motel
Der Ruhe Blatz Motel
#5 of 5 in Shipshewana
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel

Address: 800 S van Buren St, Shipshewana, IN 46565-8610 (Formerly The Amish Country Inn - Shipshewana Hotel)
Region: United States > Indiana > Shipshewana
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Shipshewana
Price Range: £67 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Gate Garden Inn Shipshewana is located in the heart of Northern Indiana and is located within walking distance of all the major attractions, shopping and dining in Shipshewana. Stays include our FAMOUS full hot country breakfast buffet, free wireless internet and access to an indoor pool, hot-tub, fitness room and more.The entire hotel is non-smoking and guest room amenities include TV with premium cable, wireless Internet, free local phone calls, voicemail, coffeemaker, hairdryer, iron/board, desk, and more. Suites offer microwave, mini refrigerators and more.The Blue Gate Garden Inn is convenient from the South Bend Regional Airport (SBN). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splash Universe Shipshewana In
Splash Universe Hotel Shipshewana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing