We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Farmstead Inn(Shipshewana)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Van Buren Hotel(Shipshewana)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,050)
Filter reviews
2,050 results
Traveller rating
1,574
350
91
30
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,574
350
91
30
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pitmade to order omeletsgift basketbread puddingan ice creambaked oatmealevent centerflea marketcarriage ridebreakfast buffetbreakfast was amazingenjoyed our staypool and hot tubgreat place to stayamish countrybeautiful hotelking bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,936 - 1,941 of 2,050 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The associates working at this motel are very friendly. In addition they provide a very nice breakfast in which they will make omelets as you wait. You can also have waffles or a variety of fresh baked breads with your favorite spread.
The new Pool and Whirlpool area is under construction and will not be finished till the fall of 2014.
When making a reservation, call the hotel direct rather than using Booking.com. You will save yourself money.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front of the hotel are more scenic. If you book early you can get a Patio room on the first floor.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilliamOAlsip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed at the Blue Garden Inn, Shipshewana Indiana over the 4th of July weekend and were very happy with the hotel. The room was nicely decorated with the Amish "blue" and the bedspreads were beautiful quits. The room was larger than your normal room and was very clean. The free breakfast was better than most and there was a chef that cooked your omelet to perfection. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and I understand that within the month they will be opening a brand new indoor pool. The lobby is nicely appointed and they service coffee and cookies most of the day. There is a very small game area and a nice ice cream parlor that is open in the early evening. We found the room rates to be reasonable for the quality of the hotel and with the free breakfast, it was a bargain.

Room Tip: They're all good if you like to experience the Amish feel or the feel of open farm land and good old country
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gibson4475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Nothing to complain about. Convenient, well situated, good parking and friendly front desk staff. The room was spot on, no surprises, no disappointments. Breakfast is included and since the hotel is run by the same folks who own the best restaurant in town, it was as good as I hoped it would be. Buffet style with all the usual fare. No need for lunch the days we ate breakfast there!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnH910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

A very nice hotel, all staff very friendly and helpful, excellent full breakfast, omelets made to order, etc. rooms very nice and clean. Only reason didn't rate excellent as in our room you could hear conversations very clearly next room over. I even looked in hallway thinking it was out there but not. Overall will stay again as a very nice facility.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Partsman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed at the Blue Gate June 24th and 25th in a 2-queen room. Small but clean and comfortable; it had all we need. A really nice breakfast is included and there is a lot of variety. There is an ice cream shop 5-10pm with quality ice cream and a bistro feel. Coffee and hot tea are available in the lobby anytime (also a small coffeemaker in the room). Staff is friendly and courteous. Our only complaint: Since the town mostly closes about 9pm, we would have liked to have a comfortable lounge/gameroom for cards or Scrabble. We used the ice cream shop but the metal chairs were a bit uncomfortable to use for any length of time. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: There are some rooms called "patio rooms" that look very nice. If we stay there again I would try to get one.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews