We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Expectations…. Delivered!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Shipshewana
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Expectations…. Delivered!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The stay was delightful. The hotel had everything we needed except a pool. That was under construction and won’t open for several more weeks. The included breakfast was amazing. It was like a Holiday Inn Express on steroids. Omelets made to order, biscuits and gravy, sausage, waffles with blueberry or strawberry toppings. Cold cereal, baked oatmeal, fruit, toast, juices, coffee, and more! Room was clean, bed comfortable, and everything just right. It was a perfect getaway! Yes, we will return!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr_E57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,138
    253
    59
    17
    5
See reviews for
526
566
28
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Russell Springs, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is the fourth time I have stayed at the Blue Gate Garden Inn in the past year. My girlfriend was in two of the shows at the Blue Gate Theater and every time I would come visit her, I would stay at the Blue Gate Garden Inn. It's a beautiful building and is kept cleaner than most hotels. The inn has a touch of home and you instantly feel comfortable once you get to your room. The staff is very friendly and you couldn't ask for a better hot breakfast every morning! I would recommend the Blue Gate to anyone looking to stay in Shipshewana whether it's for a week or just for the night.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great! I've stayed on each floor and they are all quiet and accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zach S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pendleton, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed two nights (7/2/14 and 7/3/14) and did the dinner/play/carriage ride/bakery basket package. It was one of the most enjoyable times we have ever had. The included breakfast was really good. Our room had plenty of room, a king size bed and a refrigerator that kept our water/pop ice cold, which is unusual for hotel refrigerators.. We will be back to visit soon and use the pool and hot tub that is almost complete. Everything was super clean!!! Loved it!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauradowney36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I have always been intrigued with the Amish people and their way of life and it was my birthday vacation as I am a Travel Agent and decided to head to Indiana and then the Lakes of Michigan. The hotel is a great location! Very clean and the included breakfast was great as well, so many wonderful things close by from shops and dining. Cannot wait to go back and visit the Flea Market as it is closed on the weekends...

Room Tip: It even has it's own icecream parlor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALSIP
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The associates working at this motel are very friendly. In addition they provide a very nice breakfast in which they will make omelets as you wait. You can also have waffles or a variety of fresh baked breads with your favorite spread.
The new Pool and Whirlpool area is under construction and will not be finished till the fall of 2014.
When making a reservation, call the hotel direct rather than using Booking.com. You will save yourself money.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front of the hotel are more scenic. If you book early you can get a Patio room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilliamOAlsip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livonia Michigan
Level Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed at the Blue Garden Inn, Shipshewana Indiana over the 4th of July weekend and were very happy with the hotel. The room was nicely decorated with the Amish "blue" and the bedspreads were beautiful quits. The room was larger than your normal room and was very clean. The free breakfast was better than most and there was a chef that cooked your omelet to perfection. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and I understand that within the month they will be opening a brand new indoor pool. The lobby is nicely appointed and they service coffee and cookies most of the day. There is a very small game area and a nice ice cream parlor that is open in the early evening. We found the room rates to be reasonable for the quality of the hotel and with the free breakfast, it was a bargain.

Room Tip: They're all good if you like to experience the Amish feel or the feel of open farm land and good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gibson4475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Nothing to complain about. Convenient, well situated, good parking and friendly front desk staff. The room was spot on, no surprises, no disappointments. Breakfast is included and since the hotel is run by the same folks who own the best restaurant in town, it was as good as I hoped it would be. Buffet style with all the usual fare. No need for lunch the days we ate breakfast there!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnH910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipshewana
0.4 mi away
Farmstead Inn
Farmstead Inn
#2 of 5 in Shipshewana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Middlebury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Howe Inn
13.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Goshen
Hampton Inn Goshen
#2 of 6 in Goshen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Shipshewana
Super 8 Shipshewana
#4 of 5 in Shipshewana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel

Property: Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
Address: 800 S van Buren St, Shipshewana, IN 46565-8610 (Formerly The Amish Country Inn - Shipshewana Hotel)
Region: United States > Indiana > Shipshewana
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Shipshewana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Gate Garden Inn Shipshewana is located in the heart of Northern Indiana and is located within walking distance of all the major attractions, shopping and dining in Shipshewana. Stays include our FAMOUS full hot country breakfast buffet, free wireless internet and access to an indoor pool, hot-tub, fitness room and more.The entire hotel is non-smoking and guest room amenities include TV with premium cable, wireless Internet, free local phone calls, voicemail, coffeemaker, hairdryer, iron/board, desk, and more. Suites offer microwave, mini refrigerators and more.The Blue Gate Garden Inn is convenient from the South Bend Regional Airport (SBN). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Agoda so you can book your Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splash Universe Shipshewana In
Splash Universe Hotel Shipshewana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing