We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Shipshewana
Certificate of Excellence
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Our room was clean. We had a queen and a king and there was a 7' wall between the beds with a cut out at the ceiling. I had never seen anything like it. There were no comfortable chairs in the room, just two rung-back kitchen chairs and a tiny table. So my friend and I had to lie in bed and talk around the wall to each other! Breakfast was just okay.
Only a few elevators in the center of the building so you could have a very long walk to your room!

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the elevator. It took us forever to walk from the elevator to our room. I h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGeneralTFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,115
    240
    56
    16
    5
See reviews for
517
550
27
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adrian, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed at the Blue Gate Garden Inn July 20 &21 2014. The front desk area is beautiful & the person that checked us in was very polite.
We went to our room & it had 2 queen beds & the room was a good size we never felt cramped.
We went down for breakfast & what a nice breakfast room they have. They will make you a fresh omlet & then they have waffles, sausage gravy & biscuits, scrambled eggs, sausage patties, white & cinnamon bread for toast, & coffee, orange & apple juice milk & cereal. Also mixed fruit & yogurt.
We had a problem with the bathtub draining so I told the front desk before we went out & they had it draining fast by the time we returned.
They filled up for Monday night so if you want to stay over for the market book early.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindalight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Staff was friendly and the rooms appear to have been recently updated. The breakfast looked amazing but we didn't eat any because we were meeting friends for breakfast. We will be staying here in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenfield, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Sister and I on a sister's weekend. Our 2nd time staying at this facility. I got injured that day (fell down) and when we checked in - the clerk at front desk gave me a bandage and cream for my elbow and an ice bag for my knee. She was very helpful and attentive. I did appreciate that very much. Wish there were bagels/cream cheese or English muffins on breakfast menu with seasonal fruit. Otherwise breakfast menu is great, lots to choose from if you are a hungry traveler.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franny2926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is a great choice when visiting Shipshewana. The hotel is very clean and tastefully decorated. The small counter with sink, refrigerator and microwave in the king room is very nice. Breakfast is included and it's great - lots of options, plenty of seating, and enough staff to offer assistance and keep everything clean. The indoor pool area was still under construction when we visited in July, but will be a nice addition.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly to make a reservation which is a better deal than using booking.com.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smoo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

This Inn was very charming. The room was beautiful and very clean. The staff is very friendly and extremely helpful. If that's not enough, the breakfast is to die for. If you walk away hungry, it's your own fault. This is must try Inn.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

It was a fantastic place to stay and relax a bit, it was clean, super friendly staff and really satisfying overall accommodations. To top it off their pool is supposed to open August 1, 2014 which will really enhance the overall already great experience !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aga W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipshewana
0.4 mi away
Farmstead Inn
Farmstead Inn
#2 of 5 in Shipshewana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Middlebury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Howe Inn
13.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Goshen
Hampton Inn Goshen
#2 of 6 in Goshen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Shipshewana
Super 8 Shipshewana
#4 of 5 in Shipshewana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel

Property: Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
Address: 800 S van Buren St, Shipshewana, IN 46565-8610 (Formerly The Amish Country Inn - Shipshewana Hotel)
Region: United States > Indiana > Shipshewana
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Shipshewana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Gate Garden Inn Shipshewana is located in the heart of Northern Indiana and is located within walking distance of all the major attractions, shopping and dining in Shipshewana. Stays include our FAMOUS full hot country breakfast buffet, free wireless internet and access to an indoor pool, hot-tub, fitness room and more.The entire hotel is non-smoking and guest room amenities include TV with premium cable, wireless Internet, free local phone calls, voicemail, coffeemaker, hairdryer, iron/board, desk, and more. Suites offer microwave, mini refrigerators and more.The Blue Gate Garden Inn is convenient from the South Bend Regional Airport (SBN). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splash Universe Shipshewana In
Splash Universe Hotel Shipshewana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing