We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Shipshewana
Certificate of Excellence
Streator, Illinois, United States
1 review
“Gorgeous!”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This hotel is beautiful. The pool and hot tub room is huge and gorgeous. Perfect for all ages. The breakfast buffet had employees making omelettes for you with lots of options and they were very fast. Many other homemade choices. Our room was huge and our king size bed was very comfortable. We were right next to the elevator and it was very quiet. I was pleasantly surprised. Very friendly staff. Great place to stay.

Room Tip: Chose a room with bunk beds, very comfortable but if you are taller than 5'7" you will be c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,145
    254
    59
    17
    5
See reviews for
528
571
29
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Temperance, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Took our parents for a trip away. We went to 2 shows and spent the night. Breakfast was great with lots of choices, the nicest I have been to for hotel breakfasts. The pool looked beautiful and jacuzzi too, wish I would have had time to take advantage of them. Everything is clean and fresh, grounds are beautiful. Bed was very comfortable, Mom had a hard time getting into the bed as it is very high and she is in her 80's and short.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank montri75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

It was our first time staying at the Blue Gate Inn and we got the package. We return every year and plan on getting the package again. Everything was top notch our entire stay! Beds were comfortable, room was clean and the food was excellent!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The Blue Gate was a great place to stay. Everything seemed very fresh. The employees were helpful and pleasant. Twenty dollars fell out of my pocket on my way to the pool. Somehow, an employee tracked me down and let me know my money was at the front desk. The breakfast buffet was probably the best I've ever had in a hotel. The ice cream shop on the first floor was a pleasant bonus when we wanted a treat before bed. You could stay here and then walk or bike around town to avoid the traffic and parking congestion. I would definitely consider staying here again!

Room Tip: I was hoping to reserve a suite but got a regular room with a king and queen beds. The room still i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polo, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had reservations for 3 nights but stayed only one. First the TV not working so we changed rooms, then the next morning the pool was out of service and virtually everything in the area is closed on Sunday. So 5 kids no pool, nothing to do, not fun! Nobody came to freshen our room, replace towels etc. the next day either. So finally 6 PM we checked out and traveled 4 hours back home, not a nice getaway! The town is cute but not great for kids, If you like to shop and eat then you will enjoy it, but each shop carries the same things. Very crowded, not a laid back Amish town, very commercial.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank familyaffair607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My daughter and i visited Shipshewana this week. My daughter had never been before. I found the Blue Water Inn and got a bargain for $109 a night on Booking,com. My husband and i normally bring our trailer and stay at The North Amish Campground. The room was lovely with two full beds. The shower, although not extremely powerful, was modern and the water was hot! We tried the ice cream parlour and the breakfast choice was the very best! It was worth the money staying at a hotel with breakfast included. We loved the cleanliness and the bright decor with beautiful gardens and plenty of space to park. Don't forget your swimsuit like we did as our feet. ould also have paddled in the jacuzzi after a long day of walking around this beautiful and friendly town. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindaafisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Charles Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Friendly staff, Room was clean, enjoyable experience....Great breakfast.. When you walk into the front lobby very open and inviting.. nice lounge area.. Recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area.

Room Tip: if your planning to go to dinner or the play ... its located downtown not at the hotel..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipshewana
0.4 mi away
Farmstead Inn
Farmstead Inn
#2 of 5 in Shipshewana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Middlebury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Howe Inn
13.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Goshen
Hampton Inn Goshen
#2 of 6 in Goshen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Shipshewana
Super 8 Shipshewana
#3 of 5 in Shipshewana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel

Property: Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
Address: 800 S van Buren St, Shipshewana, IN 46565-8610 (Formerly The Amish Country Inn - Shipshewana Hotel)
Region: United States > Indiana > Shipshewana
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Shipshewana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Gate Garden Inn Shipshewana is located in the heart of Northern Indiana and is located within walking distance of all the major attractions, shopping and dining in Shipshewana. Stays include our FAMOUS full hot country breakfast buffet, free wireless internet and access to an indoor pool, hot-tub, fitness room and more.The entire hotel is non-smoking and guest room amenities include TV with premium cable, wireless Internet, free local phone calls, voicemail, coffeemaker, hairdryer, iron/board, desk, and more. Suites offer microwave, mini refrigerators and more.The Blue Gate Garden Inn is convenient from the South Bend Regional Airport (SBN). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splash Universe Shipshewana In
Splash Universe Hotel Shipshewana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing