We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cordon Bleu Dining in the Haute Vienne”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gerbe de Ble

Gerbe de Ble
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Chaillac
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Cordon Bleu Dining in the Haute Vienne”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

We'd been to this place before and sat outside but this time it was a little cool and we opted to sit inside.
It's always a little off-putting when you're the only diners in a restaurant but we needn't have worried.
The food was superb, real French cooking and served very professionally.
Not sure why it was empty - may have something to do with the local pizza restaurant with live music in the street which was VERY loud!
Don't be put off by the local pizzeria, the Gerbe de Ble is excellent.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank SunshineRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    16
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chatillon-sur-Indre, France
2 reviews
“Great little restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

While on a house hunting trip in the area we stumbled across this lovely little restaurant in Chaillac.
Very traditional French food in a lovely setting in the middle of the village square
We went at lunch time and had the Plate d Jour at only 11 euros each for 3 courses Bargain

But I recommend you call ahead as it is not always open

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoeGoblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Local Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

I can't rate this little restaurant highly enough !!!

Set in the middle of the village square in the lovely market village of Chaillac the Gerb de Ble is a real find. We spent a couple of very relaxing evening sitting on the patio soaking up the the local ambiance and dinning on some great local produce.

Recommend phoning in advance as its not always open

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robert f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Real Taste Of France”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

If you want a real taste of France this is the place set in the middle of the village square in the lovely market village of Chaillac.
Menu's range from €14 to € 26 for 3 to 4 courses every thing is home made and local
I had a goats cheese salad and the cheese cames from Chaillac as did the Saffron that was in the sauce with my Seabass.

all in all a very good meal

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggiefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gerbe de Ble also viewed

Saint-Benoit-du-Sault, Indre
 
Saint-Benoit-du-Sault, Indre
 

Been to Gerbe de Ble? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing