We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate, but kind of a dump”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in South Bend
Moorpark, California
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Adequate, but kind of a dump”
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Stay here if you must be close to the airport, and/or the price is right. Otherwise, stay downtown - it's only a few minutes away and will be much nicer. The neighborhood isn't the most pleasant and there isn't much in terms of dining options.

We were here for a Notre Dame football weekend, when hotel prices triple, so it was strictly a price issue. Given that, the place was adequate. "Suite" is a bit generous, since our king bed room was just one big room, but it did have a full kitchen. The decor is brown blah and the bedspread looked like a rescue from Goodwill.

I'm not sure what to say about housekeeping. One day we obviously had no housekeeping visit at all. The other day we had about half the service you'd expect - the bed was made and towels folded, but the kitchen was not touched and amenities not replenished. Bathroom amenities include soap and shampoo, no conditioner or lotion.

On the plus side, the fitness center is good and the staff friendly and helpful. There is a convenience store with food and toiletry items. There's also a 7-11 in easy walking distance.

I'd put up with the place again under the same circumstances, but I'd go elsewhere first.

Room Tip: Rooms with two queen beds have more space than those with one king.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbiesOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    17
    10
    12
    7
See reviews for
24
13
2
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Expedia overbooked hotel and I was placed in their hold room which had an order and tv did not work

Would not stay here again

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these South Bend hotels

Elkhart, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Very large and clean suites. The staff was very attentive and took care of my needs. With a full kitchen and large room space it really helps one feel at home. I'll be using this Candlewood and others from now on.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bottomguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

I stayed at the hotel on an overnight business trip as I had recently stayed for the first time at a Candlewood Suites in Irvine, CA due to my other preferred hotels being sold out . I enjoyed that stay enough that I thought I would give this Candlewood Suites a try,

My hot buttons are simple. Is the hotel clean? Is the hotel staff friendly and seem to care about their guests? Does the hotel have a decent sized exercize room? I like to work out on the road since I spend 100+ nights in hotels. The answers at this hotel were yes, yes, and yes.

Based on some of the other reviews that I read, I inquired if the hotel was under new management. The front desk clerk indicated the General Manager, Bruce, was fairly new to the hotel. I assume that he is correcting some of the previous service issues.

While I usually travel alone, the size of the rooms would make this a good place to stay when traveling with my wife and daughter.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Gman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2011

My partner and I stayed at this location for a ND football game. We left Saturday morning for the game, and returned later in the evening to find that an ipod (that had be 'hidden' in a non-obvious location) had been stolen. I called the hotel to try to work through a solution. They suggested I file a police report and send to them, which I did. I then called them every week for a 9 months to follow up in an effort to recover the money lost for the ipod, and was consistently ignored. Phone calls were never returned, and nothing was done about it. DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enolan82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Stayed at the hotel for Dyngus Day this way we were close to the halls. The room was very large, nice kitchen which has a full size fridge, microwave, sink, dishwasher, all the pots, pans, glasses, salt, peper, coffee mugs. Eveything you need. I wish we had a room like this while we were in Chicago a few days earlier. Our room was a King Suite, so we had a seperate living area(with a nice recliner) the bathroom was large and the bed was very comfortable. This hotel was one of the cleanest hotels I have been in. Kudos to the hotel staff!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebe_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2010

We are looking for a place here in South Bend, Newly relocated due to my husbands job we stayed here with our 2, 3 and 16 year old..its been really nice. We got a 1 bed Suite and it has full kitchen and the room was very nice 2 tvs kids had one room we slept on sofa sleeper in living room flat screens and all--Our laundry was free and the place is really new so its clean ...it wasnt that full when we were there but its been great we have been here for a week leaving tommorow...wanted people to know---Im picky picky and this was a good pick for us--I would rate it like a 3-4 star becuase of the full kitchens granite marble tile and the gym laundry ect everything is high end not cheap motel hotel crap...goodluck!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawsrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Bend hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 29 in South Bend
106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn South Bend
Sleep Inn South Bend
#12 of 29 in South Bend
135 reviews
3.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#17 of 29 in South Bend
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Comfort Suites University Area
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Bend
3.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites South Bend - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport

Property: Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport
Address: 3916 Lincoln Way W, South Bend, IN 46628-1247
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in South Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Bend Hotel Features Great Location and Deluxe Amenities. Welcome to the Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport, centrally located in South Bend, Indiana. Our extended stay hotel is conveniently located near both I-80 and I-90 and the South Bend Regional Airport (SBN). Leisure travelers enjoy the numerous attractions that are close to our hotel, including the world-renowned University of Notre Dame that is just a short four mile drive. Other local attractions close to the hotel include the South Bend Chocolate Factory-5 mi, the Studebaker National Museum-3 mi, University Park Mall-10 mi, the Potawatomi Zoo-12 mi, and downtown South Bend- 2 mi. Our South Bend hotel's location is ideal for corporate housing. Businesses within five miles of the hotel include South Bend Memorial Hospital, Eaton Corp, FedEx, Honeywell and the U.S. Army Reserve. The South Bend Convention Center is also just a few miles from our hotel in downtown South Bend. Guests lodging in our hotel can enjoy a cozy extended stay. Our hotel's amenities include fully equipped kitchens (including full size refrigerators, microwave, stove top, toaster, coffee maker, dishes and cookware),fitness center, free high-speed wireless Internet access, a 24-hour Candlewood Cupboard convenience store, Lending Locker, complimentary laundry services, gazebo and grill area. On your next visit to South Bend, whether for an extended stay or relocation, discover our great South Bend hotel's deals. We'll welcome you home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing