We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in South Bend
South Bend, Indiana
1 review
“The Best Hotel”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This is a great place to stay.The staff is very friendly and very helpful.The rooms are great and I felt like I was staying in my own home because it is so clean.This was my third time staying here and I wouldn't stay at another hotel but this one.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marissa H, General Manager at Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport, responded to this review, 27 January 2015
I am happy to hear that you enjoy Candlewood Suites-South Bend. We are always happy to have repeat guests! Candlewood Suites is perfectly designed to help each and every guest feel at home.

Thank you,
Marissa Hetrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    17
    10
    11
    7
See reviews for
24
12
2
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I can't say enough about the service provided by the Customer Service gurus at the South Bend Candlewood Suite! They went the extra mile in all areas and took great care in making Priority Club Platinum members feel like the most important VIP clients ever!

The rooms were clean, neat and the facility was top shelf amongst the Candlewood Suites I've had the opportunity to visit.

Don't be misled by the previous posts, they all represent evaluations prior to the new General Manager came on board and revamped the staff and processes.

If you're looking for a great hotel, reasonably priced, with incredible service in the South Bend area - pick the SB Candlewood Suite, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TroyHuggett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elyse H, General Manager at Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Mr. Huggett,

What a pleasure it was to have you as a guest of the Candlewood Suites in South Bend, Indiana! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us, as we enjoyed our time with you. We appreciate that you took the time to write this review to say such kind words about our staff. I would like to pass along their sincerest gratitude. We can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
702 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

You can find other Sourh Bend Indiana airport properties that are better than this place. Even it is a nonsmoking property it smelled of smoke. Also the sheets were made of this grippy almost Velcro like material that kind of fixed you to the surface. Pillows were uncomfortable. Overall not a good experience for us. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cystokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elyse H, General Manager at Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out this review of the Candlewood Suites. On behalf of our entire staff, I would like to apologize for the discomfort that you felt during your stay. The comfort of our guests is one of our highest priorities, and we regret that we fell short in this regard. We will be working diligently to ensure that these issues are corrected. It is our sincerest hope that you will give us another opportunity to show you these improvements and just how much your feedback means to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these South Bend hotels

Level Contributor
106 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

Almost new property, I think not more than a year. Friendly staff. Rooms are still in immaculate condition, clean and quiet. Very comfortable beds. Has everything you expect from Candlewood, full size fridge, dishes, dishwasher, micro, coffeemaker. Washers and dryers are free. They have an indoor pool and covered patio with grill. I did not use either so won,t comment. Not the type of neighborhood I feel comfortable walking in so I used the well equipped exercise room. 2 treadmills, 1 elyptical and a weight machine. It all worked. Flat screen tv, furnished towels. Overall nice place to stay just in kinda a run down part of town.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Driverjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marissa H, General Manager at Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport, responded to this review, 27 January 2015
I am happy to hear that you found our property to be nice. South Bend is revamping the area in which our hotel is located. I am sure if you return to our hotel you will definitely see a difference. Here at Candlewood Suites we pride ourselves on the quality of our rooms and our amenities. Each and every room comes with a full kitchen, fully stocked with utensils, pots, pans, plates and cups. We also do have a beautiful fitness center in which our free laundry facility is also located. We also have a large convenience store (Candlewood Cupboard) located right across from our lobby. We hope that if you return to the area we will again enjoy another stay with us here at Candlewood Suites-South Bend.

Thank you,
Marissa Hetrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

I am a Rewards Club Member so I stayed at a Candlewood Suites because it was nearby the South Bend Airport. I’m rarely disappointed by the suggestions made on the website for Club Members so I didn't think twice about booking – I just wanted to be close to the airport. While the employees at Candlewood were pleasant and there were some great convenience features relating to available food, there were many things that left me disappointed. I don’t feel that the rooms are well taken care of or cleaned regularly. There were small things that were not tended to but it added up. For example, the bathroom garbage still had trash in it from the last guest. Also I am a taller person so when I was using the refrigerator I noticed that the top was filthy as though it hadn't been cleaned in quite a while. While this may be out of reach for some cleaning personnel I think it’s something that should be cleaned because I’m sure I am not the only one that would notice this. Last, there was a small stain on the sheets on the bed which to me looked like a blood stain. If a stain cannot be removed the sheets should be thrown out and new ones installed. In my mind I also wondered if the sheets had ever been changed from the previous guest.

Beside the room being dirty there were other items that needed attention by management. The display on the wall thermostat to control the air in the room was not working at all so I couldn’t control the air in my room. If the battery is dead in the thermostat then change it! This type of problem can make your guest very uncomfortable depending on the time of the year. While I was settling in I looked at the time and (thankfully) realized it was behind an hour. It took me a while to figure out how to reset it so I could use it as an alarm. I think that resetting the clock in each room should be an easy task to perform. Having the wrong time in the morning – especially in a hotel near an airport – could really hurt someone’s schedule. I received a room with a king size bed but the room was not big enough for the bed. There was less than a foot on one side of the bed to get out then a chair on the other side. It made getting out of bed awkward. Last I feel that the airport taxi service recommended to me was not a good suggestion. Per the recommendation of the hotel receptionist I went with Express Cab. When I got out of the airport there was no Express Cab there but plenty of other options. The reason I called Express Cab was due to a special $7 rate established for Candlewood Suite guests that the receptionist told me about. When I called the service they were not near the airport and didn't seem to want to go out of their way for a “special rate.” I ended up paying a little more for a taxi that was present to get to the hotel. It was frustrating to deal with on my arrival in South Bend.

So to say the least I was not very impressed. The staff that waits on you upon check in, check out, and on the phone were pleasant but they should probably evaluate the people that are performing maid service. Maybe these issues have not been brought to management’s attention by the cleaning staff at the hotel or maybe management should be spot checking rooms to avoid these situations. If I have to visit the area again I will not be staying at Candlewood Suites. I wouldn't call it a dump however they really need to take these concerns into consideration to avoid losing business in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear Bill H,

Thank you for being a Priority Club Rewards Member and for leaving us feedback. We aim to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. I am sorry that on this visit you were disappointed with the condition of the room you were given. Your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and my apologies for the inconvenience.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlevoix, Mi.
Level Contributor
172 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013 via mobile

Hotel is very clean and comfortable. Room was up to date and had a full kitchen. Someone said in a review its in a rough neighborhood ABSOLUTELY NOT. No breakfast offered but they have a full pantry of items for sale. I was very happy with my stay and will stay here every time im in South Bend

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

After reading a few reviews i was a little skeptical but our stay at the Candlewick was great. We had a family of 4 so the kitchenette was a nice bonus so we didn't have to eat out every meal. It was a very quick drive over to Notre Dame campus but i think they also offered a shuttle over to the stadium for a fee. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the front desk staff was nice. Down fall - the jacuzzi was broken over the weekend we were there and the actual neighborhood the hotel in was OK but a few blocks further was a little shady but within very close driving distance to eating and Walmart was about a mile away. I would still recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaminoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Bend hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 29 in South Bend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn South Bend
Sleep Inn South Bend
#12 of 29 in South Bend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
3.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites South Bend - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Comfort Suites University Area
3.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport

Property: Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport
Address: 3916 Lincoln Way W, South Bend, IN 46628-1247
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in South Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Bend Hotel Features Great Location and Deluxe Amenities. Welcome to the Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport, centrally located in South Bend, Indiana. Our extended stay hotel is conveniently located near both I-80 and I-90 and the South Bend Regional Airport (SBN). Leisure travelers enjoy the numerous attractions that are close to our hotel, including the world-renowned University of Notre Dame that is just a short four mile drive. Other local attractions close to the hotel include the South Bend Chocolate Factory-5 mi, the Studebaker National Museum-3 mi, University Park Mall-10 mi, the Potawatomi Zoo-12 mi, and downtown South Bend- 2 mi. Our South Bend hotel's location is ideal for corporate housing. Businesses within five miles of the hotel include South Bend Memorial Hospital, Eaton Corp, FedEx, Honeywell and the U.S. Army Reserve. The South Bend Convention Center is also just a few miles from our hotel in downtown South Bend. Guests lodging in our hotel can enjoy a cozy extended stay. Our hotel's amenities include fully equipped kitchens (including full size refrigerators, microwave, stove top, toaster, coffee maker, dishes and cookware),fitness center, free high-speed wireless Internet access, a 24-hour Candlewood Cupboard convenience store, Lending Locker, complimentary laundry services, gazebo and grill area. On your next visit to South Bend, whether for an extended stay or relocation, discover our great South Bend hotel's deals. We'll welcome you home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing