We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay in this hotel if you have young children.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in South Bend
Reviewed 8 August 2010

One day prior to arrival we called this hotel to confirm they had a portable crib for our toddler. They told us they had one available for our stay. When we arrived we were told they did not have one for us. We asked the front desk clerk what she could do to help us out and she suggested we lay blankets on the floor for our toddler to sleep on. When I told her that was unacceptable, she suggested we put our child on the bed surrounded by pillows. I told her this was unacceptable--AND dangerous.

We decided since the accomodations were unacceptable for our family, we'd leave and stay elsewhere. The clerk told us that if we left she would still charge our card because they have a 24 hour cancellation policy. A shouting match between the clerk and my husband ensued when he asked for the room key if they'd be charging our card. The clerk refused to give him the key, and threatened to call the police.

Needless to say, we stayed at the Quality Inn down the street and we were treated well.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank AmyWasHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 75 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2010

I read all the reviews on tripadvisor.com and was uptight about booking a stay but because of the location (near the Amtrak Station) and it being a newer property decided to try it anyway. We were pleasantly surprised when we walked into the room. The room was clean and modernly furnished. The only issue we had was, though it had been cleaned, housekeeping forgot to take out the bathroom garbage and restock the towels. We notified front desk, immediately and pleasantly it was taken care of.The next day, after we checked out, the manager or owner called, apologized and gave us an additional discounted rate. Could not be more happy with staff and/or management!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Themcgrooveyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2009

I liked this hotel. It was really comfortable and clean. i travel on business to south bend a lot. I plan on making this my new home away from home. The rates are really reasonable.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baseballchic16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2009

The girls that work at the desk were very friendly, helpful, and very informative about the Notre Dame area. The hotel was clean, nicely decorated, and the cupboard offered a good selection of different varieties of items to cook in our room. My child loved the pool area. the pool area was nice and clean. The rooms were very comfortable we felt right at home. Like the business center i was able to use the computer for flight boarding passes.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maglzw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2008

Bathroom sink fell out of the wall and fell on my leg before shattering on the tile floor. The sink was not installed properly-no anchors into studs.

Called down to front desk, they send someone up who tells us "I can't believe it, this is the 3rd sink to fall out in 2weeks-one fell out of the wall tonight right above you"

Takes 2hrs to get a new room and complete paperwork. New room has one bed, is on a smoking floor and smells like 12guys smoked cigars all night-it was nasty.

Next morning desk attendant (same guy) tells us he can take $25 off the room but "you are agreeing that is all we will pay you, or you can talk to management about taking the whole fee off" We opt to speak to management. Desk attendant takes pictures of my bruised leg/ankle.

Management refuses to return phone calls. I have called 20 times, the front desk attendant says it has been referred to their insurance company. They refuse to provide me with the insurance companies contact info.

Just an awful awful experience.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cubfanDetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
Thank JissayM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Bend hotels
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn South Bend
Sleep Inn South Bend
#13 of 30 in South Bend
138 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
#3 of 30 in South Bend
611 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 30 in South Bend
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites South Bend - University Area
3.4 mi away
Comfort Suites University Area
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport

Address: 3916 Lincoln Way W, South Bend, IN 46628-1247
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in South Bend
Price Range: £70 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Bend Hotel Features Great Location and Deluxe Amenities. Welcome to the Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport, centrally located in South Bend, Indiana. Our extended stay hotel is conveniently located near both I-80 and I-90 and the South Bend Regional Airport (SBN). Leisure travelers enjoy the numerous attractions that are close to our hotel, including the world-renowned University of Notre Dame that is just a short four mile drive. Other local attractions close to the hotel include the South Bend Chocolate Factory-5 mi, the Studebaker National Museum-3 mi, University Park Mall-10 mi, the Potawatomi Zoo-12 mi, and downtown South Bend- 2 mi. Our South Bend hotel's location is ideal for corporate housing. Businesses within five miles of the hotel include South Bend Memorial Hospital, Eaton Corp, FedEx, Honeywell and the U.S. Army Reserve. The South Bend Convention Center is also just a few miles from our hotel in downtown South Bend. Guests lodging in our hotel can enjoy a cozy extended stay. Our hotel's amenities include fully equipped kitchens (including full size refrigerators, microwave, stove top, toaster, coffee maker, dishes and cookware),fitness center, free high-speed wireless Internet access, a 24-hour Candlewood Cupboard convenience store, Lending Locker, complimentary laundry services, gazebo and grill area. On your next visit to South Bend, whether for an extended stay or relocation, discover our great South Bend hotel's deals. We'll welcome you home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing