We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful gardens”

Carriage House Dining Room & Gardens
Ranked #9 of 297 Restaurants in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Indiana's most nationally recognized restaurant - 28 years AAA Chicago Four Diamond and 30 years Wine Spectator "Award of Excellence." Formal Main Dining housed within historical 1851 building featuring the freshest farm-to-table foods and extensive fine wine list. Michiana's premier outdoor fine-dining facility, ALFRESCO FINE DINING & GARDENS, featuring a wood fire oven, patio seating adjacent to outdoor stage exhibiting local musicians every weekend during summer. Two Excellent Venues - One Superb Restaurant!
South Bend
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“beautiful gardens”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I've went here twice this year and both times were awesome. The servers are friendly, food is scrumptious, and the drinks are good! My favorite part of this gem are the gardens! I love that you can sit outside in them and eat and relax. I hope to be back before it gets too cold!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank quotebutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    33
    14
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, OH
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Still the Best Meal in South Bend”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

The Carriage House is a must for us on any visit to South Bend. I have done multiple reviews on CH before. My point here is that the experience is consistently outstanding - great service, wine, food, dessert, and atmosphere. Still setting the standard in South Bend in August, 2013. We will be back in November!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Eagle1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niles, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Awesome”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We love everything about this restaurant. The service is five star from the moment we are greeted at the door. This is the only place where i can relax--we are never rushed. The menu options are original and don't forget to have dessert! We make this our place for dinner for all special occasions.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NilesValerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend
1 review
“Garden Dining”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This was our second trip to Carriage House, and it was recommended that we try dining in their garden.

The food was very good, and the atmosphere very nice with the entertainment. We ate at the bar, and our bartender was Marissa. She was very pleasant, efficient and was a wonderful server as well as bartending abilities. A great employee for your establishment.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackson,mi 49202
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

You start out with Pate that is a throw back to the 60S but very tasty. Salads were good as was dinner. The menu matched the atmosphere which was off a time gone by. But still a enjoyable dining experience

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cjcchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carriage House Dining Room & Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Carriage House Dining Room & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing