We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a disappointment”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“what a disappointment”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed here on a whim on the way home from vacation...what a disaster.
We reserved a King Suite w/ Jaccuzi. We did get that type of room, however the jaccuzi was located in the living space instead of the bath...so much for privacy. The suite was located on the first floor - just down from the lobby and across the hall from the meeting rooms. We could hear every telephone ring at the desk and the meeting rooms were being used as a hospitality room for a Studebaker event...needless to say, it was very loud! Then the Studebaker guests set up portable tents (like you see at farmers markets) in the parking lot - right outside our window - and partied out there most of the night. I finally called the front desk at 12:45PM asking when they were going to ask the party-ers to quiet down and the desk seemed oblivious to the activity. (Especially when you're hosting a large group event, it's prob'ly a wise move to make some rounds of the property during quiet hours to make sure that ALL your guests have a good experience.) Then, at 7AM, pile driving started across the street with such force that the bedframe was shaking. This was not at all a restful experience.

This hotel is also very shabbily built. The pool deck consisted of small pebbles which were supposedly glued to the floor....well, they are very painful to walk on, and not secured very well, as can be seen from the areas where the floor was completely bare and the large number of pebbles found in the pool and hot tub. Not sure what was going on with the construction of the hot tub, there was a tile step that was completely encased by a ratty wooden structure and covered with indoor/outdoor carpeting.
The masonry work in the entire facility looked terrible...nothing was even, edges not finished, our shower had a crack approx 20inches long that looked like it had been installed that way.
This makes me wonder about the quality of the rest of the construction...

We paid too much for the room for this kind of experience...We'll never go back here...ever!

Room Tip: definitely not on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    37
    12
    5
    8
See reviews for
52
25
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, IL
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in June, 2012 because we were helping our daughter and her family pack up a truck for their move south. The hotel is nicely decorated, has clean and comfortable rooms and a spacious breakfast area. Everyone we met on the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richfield minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed here for one night and enjoyed it so much. The lobby was so clean and inviting, and the clerk was very kind and helpful. We had a lovely 2 level suite with a king bed upstairs, as well as a big screen tv and good size closet. Downstairs was a king bed and a sofa bed. The bathroom had a nice, large counter area and overall the room was so clean and felt brand new. The breakfast was bountiful and delicious and lots of room for seating. Overall I would gladly stay in this property again should I be in South Bend. There is another Comfort Suites in town called the Comfort Suites University, and we did go to that one first by mistake, so be sure to know there are 2 Comfort Suites in South Bend.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jm212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
117 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. This comfort is really clean and comfey. Large rooms. Quiet, the ac worked great it was nice and cool in the room. Breakfast was usual comfort hot fare. I'm not a big breakfast person so I'm not a good judge. Plenty of parking and lots to eat around. Close to Notre Dame. The young lady at the front desk was great and did a excellent job of checking us in and making dinner suggestions and it was her first night alone. The only weird part was when you are driving 31 there is a building that is boarded up behind this hotel and at first impression I was kinda Leary. But as soon as u walk in you are impressed with the cleanliness and spaciousness of the lobby and breakfast area. I felt completely safe and comfortable. And a little puzzled as to why the building behind would be boarded up. Didn't fit the neighborhood if you know what I mean. I would definetly stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohiojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Stayed here on a Sunday night and would rate this very highly. Hotel was clean and quiet and got a good rate-$90 for one person. Desk clerk was polite and helpful. Nice indoor pool and hot tub. Used the coin laundry and no problems there either. Good hot breakfast next morning with scrambled eggs and sausage as well as waffles. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Nice room and very comfortable bed. Nice breakfast. We got there very late, so didn't have a chance to explore facilities.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thepisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We've stayed here MANY times while visiting family, and have never been disappointed. Rooms are always spotless, beds are comfy, water is hot and plentiful and breakfast is fresh, hot and always has daily variety. The lobby is a pleasant extra place to hang out if your large suite isn't enough. The staff is super -from the front desk folks to the great and efficient housekeepers. We look forward to our stays here - keep up the great job!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel as there is a fire dept. across the street with loud sirens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Bend hotels
6.5 mi away
Sleep Inn South Bend
Sleep Inn South Bend
#12 of 29 in South Bend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
6.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 29 in South Bend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
8.0 mi away
Comfort Suites University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend/At Notre Dame
4.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
8.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites South Bend - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Property: Comfort Suites
Address: 60971 US 31 S, South Bend, IN 46614-5147
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in South Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing