We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in the south of the town”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in South Bend
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights during the first week of October. Excellent clean and convenient facilities, used the business center printer, did not use the fitness room and the pool. Located in the southern tip of the town (was convenient for us), within 2-4 miles from many restaurants and shopping malls. Room equipped also with a refrig. and a microwave oven. I wish it could also provide the option to prepare breakfast inside the room (a toaster, some plates and utensils). Evening staff of front desk was extremely helpful. I suspect that occupncy was low. Breakfast area is spacious and was not crowded.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marathon308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2012

This is my second time staying at this property. I actually ended up with the same room as last year. This year there was some obvious touch up paint done around the doors. Otherwise that the room was exactly the same as before, although the televisions have a mind of their own and will change channels with out the remote. Every morning there is breakfast served with omelets made by Honkers. The orange juice is bad but everything else is quite tasty. I will weigh my options for next years game but this is definitely not a bad hotel for the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thetravelingbex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights last week to meet up with old friends who were traveling in the area. I booked the rooms directly from the Choice Hotels site and received an internet-only, non-changeable, non-refundable price, that was better than than the other internet prices I reviewed. We checked in early enough for the staff to give our families connecting rooms, which made sharing time together easier. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. The recent comments of others regarding the lobby carpeting, the breakfast, and the loose pebbles in the pool area were accurate. Our rooms were on the 3rd floor; very quiet. I always do a VERY through inspection of hotel rooms before we unpack our things, according to the suggestions on BedBugRegistry.com. I am very happy to report that all I found were some crumbs. The mattresses and pads looked new and were the most comfortable hotel beds that I could remember for some time. We have a Sleep Number bed at home, so I am comparing it to that level of comfort. We were very satisfied!

Room Tip: Our room was on the 3rd floor away from the street entrance.(West side, I think.) Very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeagleMomWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

This was our last night on our 5 week trip. Needless to say, we had been in a lot of hotels and B & B's. This hotel is only 3 years old and is looking good. There are 2 Comfort Suites in SB. This one is on the south side of town on Rt. 31. The carpets in the lobby and breakfast area were a little dirty and stained and needed cleaning. The hotel has a covered drive-thru and automatic doors. You can drink coffee 24/7 in the lobby while you are doing your laundry in the available laundromat. The lobby is nice and fairly large with quite a bit of seating and with a TV and fireplace to enjoy. The hotel has an elevator to use for the 3 floors. A computer is available in a private business center. Enjoy the nice pool, jacuzzi, and fitness center.

Our room was very clean with a comfortable king bed, a microwave, fridge, sitting chair, couch and coffee table, a desk with an arm chair on rollers, and coffee/tea. A flat screen HDTV was nice with good satellite channel lineup--even with some HD channels.

The bath area was all in one room. Nice vanity and mirror, thick washcloths, an exhaust fan, and lots of lighting--even over the shower/tub combo.

Nice size breakfast area seating 24 guests. Our hostess was very friendly--always nice in the morning. Full hot breakfast with scrambled eggs, biscuits and gravy, 2 types of hot griddle-made waffles, cereals, bagels, toast, fresh fruit, juices, yogurt, and good coffee.

Suggestion for Comfort Suites: Use fiberboard cups and plates or use real dinnerware.

Thanks for making our "choice" a good one on our last night.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaleSwansea_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed here on a whim on the way home from vacation...what a disaster.
We reserved a King Suite w/ Jaccuzi. We did get that type of room, however the jaccuzi was located in the living space instead of the bath...so much for privacy. The suite was located on the first floor - just down from the lobby and across the hall from the meeting rooms. We could hear every telephone ring at the desk and the meeting rooms were being used as a hospitality room for a Studebaker event...needless to say, it was very loud! Then the Studebaker guests set up portable tents (like you see at farmers markets) in the parking lot - right outside our window - and partied out there most of the night. I finally called the front desk at 12:45PM asking when they were going to ask the party-ers to quiet down and the desk seemed oblivious to the activity. (Especially when you're hosting a large group event, it's prob'ly a wise move to make some rounds of the property during quiet hours to make sure that ALL your guests have a good experience.) Then, at 7AM, pile driving started across the street with such force that the bedframe was shaking. This was not at all a restful experience.

This hotel is also very shabbily built. The pool deck consisted of small pebbles which were supposedly glued to the floor....well, they are very painful to walk on, and not secured very well, as can be seen from the areas where the floor was completely bare and the large number of pebbles found in the pool and hot tub. Not sure what was going on with the construction of the hot tub, there was a tile step that was completely encased by a ratty wooden structure and covered with indoor/outdoor carpeting.
The masonry work in the entire facility looked terrible...nothing was even, edges not finished, our shower had a crack approx 20inches long that looked like it had been installed that way.
This makes me wonder about the quality of the rest of the construction...

We paid too much for the room for this kind of experience...We'll never go back here...ever!

Room Tip: definitely not on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in June, 2012 because we were helping our daughter and her family pack up a truck for their move south. The hotel is nicely decorated, has clean and comfortable rooms and a spacious breakfast area. Everyone we met on the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed here for one night and enjoyed it so much. The lobby was so clean and inviting, and the clerk was very kind and helpful. We had a lovely 2 level suite with a king bed upstairs, as well as a big screen tv and good size closet. Downstairs was a king bed and a sofa bed. The bathroom had a nice, large counter area and overall the room was so clean and felt brand new. The breakfast was bountiful and delicious and lots of room for seating. Overall I would gladly stay in this property again should I be in South Bend. There is another Comfort Suites in town called the Comfort Suites University, and we did go to that one first by mistake, so be sure to know there are 2 Comfort Suites in South Bend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jm212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Bend hotels
8 mi away
Comfort Suites University Area
6.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 31 in South Bend
110 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend / At Notre Dame
6.5 mi away
Sleep Inn South Bend
Sleep Inn South Bend
#13 of 31 in South Bend
138 reviews
4.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 60971 US 31 S, South Bend, IN 46614-5147
Region: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in South Bend
Price Range: £57 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing