We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For A Short Visit, It's Fine...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend/At Notre Dame
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in South Bend
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“For A Short Visit, It's Fine...”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

The hotel is located directly off of the interstate, however I couldn’t hear the sounds of the highway from my room, which faced the front of the hotel. The first thing I noticed when walking into the hotel was that the area carpet in the lobby featuring the name of the hotel and the area carpet in the elevator needed to be trashed as they are just nasty. Grungy and black stained; they do not give a welcoming invitation to stay at the hotel property. Check in was speedy and the room I was assigned (307) was small with a queen sized bed, but it was perfectly fine. The room and bath were both very clean. Thin walls, however, so you can hear your neighbors next door. Large flat screen television is on the wall.

The hotel had free Wi-Fi as well as free local telephone calls, which was nice. For those with no access to a computer, there was one available in the lobby. There was free breakfast as well, however, by the time I got downstairs the next morning, the food didn’t look too appetizing. The breakfast was the usual fare – biscuits and gravy, eggs, toast, cereal...etc. I ended up drinking some juice and called it a stay.

As I stated, my stay there was fine, and I would recommend the hotel for a short visit. I just hope they change out the area rugs. I know it’s a minor detail, but really – they were gross.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsCleo2313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    215
    130
    64
    42
See reviews for
273
122
85
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grant, Michigan
Level Contributor
658 reviews
180 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 530 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Stayed here last week for one night. Nice place, easy to find and right by ND. Right off exit 77 of the Indiana Tollroad, and several hundred feet from the ND property.

The breakfast here is MUCH better than most Microtels and the room is big enough so you do not run into the other people while you are trying to eat.

Nice people work here. There were enough of them, too, monitoring breakfast coffee/food.

WiFi worked just great, plus the lobby computer worked good, too.

I would go back without hesitation. Place is quite well run.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Impala guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, AK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Stopped here overnight in the context of a longer road trip. The rooms were very nice. Probably my best night's rest in a week. I brought my three children and happily converted a window seat cushion into an extra bed, there was extra bedding in the closet. The room had a fridge. I had no issues with sound from other guests. I was looking forward to the hot breakfast but missed it because I was unaware that I was in Eastern Time Zone. There was a clock in the room but it wasn't plugged in.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
2 Thank incurable_bookworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norman, ok
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

This place was renovated fairly recently and it shows. It is really a beautiful hotel especially for the price and location. It is pretty close to ND and also near a number of other restaurants. I lived in South Bend for 5 years, part of which that time was at ND, and I never thought this hotel looked like anything much, but I returned recently for a wedding and booked this place for some friends and myself. It was much more than we expected! We had a large queen room with a pullout bed. The room also had a lovely window seating area with a light and a dimmer which was a great homey touch. It had a mini wet bar with a sink and everything. The counters were black granite or granite like and spotless. The bathroom was also spotless. This place is really great. I am returning in a few months for another wedding. This is one of those hotels that really looks exactly like the pictures. No surprises, in a good way.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank halebopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellefonte, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Great hotel for the price and breakfast too. Very clean, felt like we were staying in a higher end hotel. Very comfortable beds.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muffin_Momma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This Microtel is so close to Notre Dame and St. Mary's, you could hit them with a snowball. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. The room (2Q bed) was smallish, but sufficient for two adults, a three year old, and a baby in a pack-n-play. I might have hoped for curtains that better blocked out the morning sun. Breakfast - the Continental sort - was better than I've seen in most hotels that advertise it. There was a self-serve waffle maker, for instance. Finally - the hotel was clean and quiet.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MatthewM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Nice place. Clean and located near Notre Dame campus. Room was a little small but I have no real complaints.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank David Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Bend hotels
0.3 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's
Inn at Saint Mary's
#2 of 29 in South Bend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 29 in South Bend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sleep Inn South Bend
Sleep Inn South Bend
#12 of 29 in South Bend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites South Bend - University Area
0.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#16 of 29 in South Bend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
#4 of 29 in South Bend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend/At Notre Dame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend/At Notre Dame

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend/At Notre Dame
Address: 222 S Dixie Way, South Bend, IN 46637-3318
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in South Bend
#9 Business Hotel in South Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend/At Notre Dame 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend/At Notre Dame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Hotel South Bend
Microtel Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing