We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the check-in was easy and efficient- the room was clean...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend / At Notre Dame
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in South Bend
Reviewed 31 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
1  Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (693)
There are newer reviews for Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend / At Notre Dame
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 693 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed in this particular Microtel on a business trip on 7/28/14 and loved the room! Everything was perfect until I woke up the next morning. My wife and I had about 5-10 bug bites that welted up. I told the front desk and they kindly compted our room. But holy crap did that suck.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Nathanael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This place is in sad contrast to the usually excellent Microtel chain standards. It was dirty. It was old. We really had to use the washing machine but it was broken. Breakfast was horrible and picked over by 8 am. The bulbs barely lit the room. The carpet was dirty. There were visible hand prints on the desk and walls. The night staff was friendly and accommodating, but there is only so much he could have done. The wifi barely worked.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel unless you have a high tolerance for pain.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Todd V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The original double room was not very clean. There was a dirty rag laying on the floor, the light fixture above the bed was broken hanging down, and the light above the tv did not work. The window cushion was stained. The room was extremely small, with storage space. The staff was very friendly and helpful and moved us to a much nicer room. The second room had a dirty counter.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank eisice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My 11 year old daughter and I stayed here for AYOP. She called the hotel the "hotel of creepy, dirty guys". The staff was very unfriendly and even raised their voice to me. On check-in the staff was busy watching television and forgot to actually check me in. They ended up calling it a no show even though I was in the room. The second and third nights we did not have wash cloths. The carpet was dirty and wet the entire stay in front of the bathroom. The seal of the refrigerator had food in it that dropped out when you opened it. Staff nasty when I tried to confirm unusual check out time. The breakfast was cold and slimy. They only had tiny plates and food was not replenished. The parking lot had creepy guys who followed you around, and whistled at 11 year olds. I was cornered at car door by a dirty begger. When I informed the staff, she was not very nice. Later, she gave the guy a job application. This seems to explain the other creepy guys that were scaring my child. She did not feel safe in the hotel. At check out staff was very nasty because of their mistake at check in. They gave me a note to give to bank with a code on it, but neither person at main number or bank has ever heard of it. So, one day after check out the bank only has 2 pre-authorizations because the hotel has not done their job. The main number said one week from check out, they will be able to handle the problem. Despite a report to main number, who said they will give info to manager, and a voicemail to illusive manager, I have not received a call back. The situation remains unresolved. I did everything I was supposed to do, all I can do is wait for them. For 100 dollars per night, these problems should have never happened. I've paid 50 per night in the Wyndham group and had a better stay. I would never stay at the hotel again or recommend the hotel. I just have to wait and see if the hotel wants paid.

Room Tip: choose another hotel
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AlishaAnn_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We did not have much exchange with the staff aside from checking in and out. They were fine, not bad-not great. The lobby and hallways seemed okay with newer furnishings and carpet. That is were it all stopped. The carpet in our room was visibly filthy and the bathroom floor was sticky, towels dingy, light fixtures dusty. The decor was very dated and there was no comforable seating just a desk chair and a pad over the HVAC unit. The walls were paper-thin, we only had one adjacent room and could easily hear medium-level conversations coming from next door. The flourescent lighting over the bed was bright enough to land an aircraft. The bed itself was decent for sleeping on. Were were provided with one miniscule bar of soap for the bathroom to use for both the sink and shower. No shampoos, etc. The water was way too soft for rinsing off which may be the source for their problems rinsing the bathroom floor and washing the towels. We were too grossed out by our room to even try the breakfast buffet so can't really comment as we ate at the restaurant next door basically adding another $30 to the cost of our room. In retrospect, the $30 would have been better spent on a different hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GK R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stopped here on our way back from Yellowstone. After a long trip, and a disappointing stay at a Super 8 the night before, we were hesitant to try another Wyndham brand. However, this hotel was a winner. We paid $79 for a clean comfortable room with large mirrors behind the bed, which made the room appear bigger. Front desk was helpful and gave us some suggestions on where to park (the parking lot was packed when we arrived) and where to go in town. Bed was comfortable, breakfast was basic (cold cereal, oatmeal, small muffins, bread, etc.). I would recommend this to others looking for a clean hotel at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Our room on the second floor (room 203) was both quiet and clean
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RalphHHastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Bend hotels
0.3 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's
Inn at Saint Mary's
#2 of 30 in South Bend
867 reviews
0.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#16 of 30 in South Bend
86 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
#3 of 30 in South Bend
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn South Bend
Quality Inn South Bend
#20 of 30 in South Bend
123 reviews
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 30 in South Bend
107 reviews
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites South Bend - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend / At Notre Dame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend / At Notre Dame

Address: 222 Dixie Way South, South Bend, IN 46637-3318
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in South Bend
#9 Business Hotel in South Bend
Price Range: £53 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend / At Notre Dame 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend / At Notre Dame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites
Microtel Hotel South Bend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing