We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baker's Bar and Grille

Baker's Bar and Grille
Ranked #104 of 292 Restaurants in South Bend
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Relax and unwind in Baker’s Bar and Grille. Located in our beautiful nine-story atrium. Baker’s is the perfect place to meet friends or colleagues. With our classic Americana menu, great drink specials, and nightly dinner specials we have everything to please your palette. Baker’s Bar and Grill is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Come experience the atmosphere with its Studebaker themed décor. Watch the latest sports or news on one of our 60 inch televisions.
Roscoe, Illinois
2 reviews
“Good food, friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I had the seared tilapia over spinach. Great choice for healthy eating. My husband had the chicken alfredo. Big, big portion which was perfect choice for him. Tasty food, enjoyed it very much.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank CameliaZaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    14
    10
    1
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Horrible service, OK food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed at the Double Tree hotel which is in coordination with this restaurant. After walking around the surrounding blocks, all the other restaurants in the area were closed for some reason. We decided to just go for the hotel food that we had originally tried to avoid...with good reason. It is expected that hotel food is not superior by any means, but this was just bad. When we arrived, the restaurant was not busy, a few people at the bar and a few tables taken. Somehow, even with the three servers standing there staring at us, it took about 10 minutes to get seated. Our server was Brandon and he seemed to be a little off. Service was very slow and it was hard to be satisfied with our experience until the food arrived. The food was surprisingly really good. We had a variety of sandwiches, burgers, and salads. All were unexpectedly tasty. One of our members was still hungry so we ordered "another mushroom burger". We were surprised when we received just a burger, while with our previous orders we had received the included french fries. We were very confused why we should pay the same price for half the food, but at this point we did not care enough to make it a big deal. This second burger was also rare when it was ordered medium-well. Based on the remarkably bad service, uncooked second dish, and assumed hotel prices, this restaurant receives only 3 stars. While it is a "bar and grill", they did not have any children's menu or many child-friendly food options. The majority of the food, atmosphere, and location made up for the rest of the positive points of this establishment.

If you are in our situation and other restaurants are closed, it is worth it to walk a bit further for decent service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bacibrother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLOOMINGTON
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Okay food, convenient location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Baker's is standard hotel-adjacent restaurant fare. Nachos needed more cheese, but the chicken dish I had was good and the veggies were fresh and not cooked to death. Good, convenient option but a little slow and a little pricey.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Antennapedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We ate there for dinner and breakfast. Both meals were very good and big portions. For dinner we had wings and salads. We ended up eating the leftover salads the next day. Fighting Irish wings were very good.

Breakfast was usual breakfast except the fruit had flavor and they made their own salsa for potatoes, etc.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Flyboy-LNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
456 reviews
269 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Convenient for Double Tree but go elsewhere”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stopped here on first night to have drinks and appetisers with family. Service was non-existent but managed to order eventually at bar. Made the deadline for orders by 7 minutes apparently. We would have never seen our food at the table if we had not spotted it on bar after about half an for. By this time it was cold and nachos had solidified. Tried to order another beer but it took half an hour. Eventually waitress came and said that she could not remember which draft had been ordered and did not want to pour in case she got it wrong!
We got it wrong and did not go back for food or drinks. Better places to go in local area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baker's Bar and Grille also viewed

 

Been to Baker's Bar and Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing