We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Frills, Great Service, Reasonable Price”
Review of Rocco's

Rocco's
Ranked #9 of 294 Restaurants in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
148 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“No Frills, Great Service, Reasonable Price”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Our daughter recommended Rocco's which is considered to be a local institution. Definitely reminded us of an old fashioned neighborhood eatery with black and white framed photos on most of the walls, a large hand painted mural on another, and lots of tables filled with families, school kids, and couples. Very friendly waitress who sat us down and got our service started right away. We arrived early on a Friday evening (5:30) so we were seated immediately but during the course of our dinner, we saw the place filling up fast.

We had a large cheese pizza and it was okay. Nothing special. Given how popular this place seems to be and because our daughter and her friends love it, we figure we'll come back and order something else to get a better idea of the food. We liked the friendly atmosphere a lot.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank TallBlonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    33
    15
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern Indiana
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Legendary”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We have eaten here for more than 40 years. When Rocco gave it up, his daughter and SIL took it over and nothing thankfully changed. A wonderful friendly family who are always there. Very popular with Notre Dame folks. Forget it on football weekends. Food is all homemade and is excellent. Pretty much all Italian. Try it when in town.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frank_mary_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Carlisle, Indiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food with a Family Flair”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The food at Rocco's is outstanding...it is a timeless icon across from ND and St Joe HS. Pizza, pasta, lasagna...outstanding!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
144 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This is a well known local casual restaurant known for its pizza. Very family friendly. If you go early, it will be swarming with kids. If you want a more adult (read: quiet) dinner, aim for a later meal time. Unfortunately, they don't take reservations. Garlic cheesy bread is a do-not-pass-up appetizer. All portions are generous.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lora719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids
Level Contributor
139 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best Spaghetti”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I rarely order spaghetti from a restaurant but after Rocco's spaghetti I may change my ways. Not sure anyone could compare! Meatballs were very good as well.
Very attentive service.
Had a few local craft brews available.
Recently updated decor with painted murals, still has the nice touch of family pictures.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank KibbleGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rocco's also viewed

 

Been to Rocco's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing