We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Bend
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in South Bend
south bend
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“horrible”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

This was the most awful hotel I have ever stayed at. Pool closed. No breakfast. Rooms cold. BATHROOM STINKS. Noisy. We came with hockey team and it was a terrible hotel. Anywhere else will be better. We have stayed at many hotels and will never return here. Don't offer your services to teams when you are unable to handle it...................
................................

Room Tip: Go elsewhere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
3 Thank ritz18SouthBend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    84
    34
    30
    41
See reviews for
124
50
18
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lowell
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a weekend hockey tournament at ND. I had my doubts due to location and outside appearance, but the block of discounted rooms was offered by the tournament holder, and we wanted to stay with the team. We stayed here post-renovation so many reviewers complaints did not apply. There was a cart for our luggage and the lobby appeared decent. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated, with micro, mini fridge, and flat screen. It appeared clean as well. Elevator was a little scary, but I wasn't at the Hilton.

However, at 4:30am the next morning, I was awakened by a pounding on a hotel room door (not mine). Then I proceed to hear an individual on a casual phone conversation, obviously not with whoever is in the room not allowing them back in. I wait. Conversation continues. I got up, opened my door, and ask the girl dressed in what looks like nothing but a coat (yes, I really mean nothing but... ie: "Pretty Woman" no exaggeration) if she would mind continuing her conversation in her room instead of in front of my door. She stated she "lost her room key," to which I let her know I could call the desk for another when she then stated "Well, I don't have a room." I just closed the door and called the desk. Staff came up to the third floor and the guest-who-was-not-a-guest left with her. Smh...

In the morning, I found a dirty coffee pot with no coffee, filters, etc. Nothing but the cups. Easy to overlook, we were planning on eating downstairs anyway. I got downstairs at 7am, breakfast started at 6:30am. There were four people eating when I arrived. There was no milk, so I asked the front desk to refill the milk. She let me know that they were out of milk and bagels. Okay, so I attempt to make a waffle, as I noticed the other patrons were eating waffles. The waffle mix started coming out of the machine super watery. I tried to cook the mix as it was, when the other patrons let me know that it wouldn't really work and they had tried the same. Okay, so not waffle, then. So my choices were mini-donuts from the speedway gas station, or maybe the vending machine, boiled eggs, or toast. The "hot" water for oatmeal was cold, not even tepid.
The hotel was 100% booked on Thursday night, Friday night, and Saturday night. Can the hotel manager not notice he had no stock? Was he unavailable to stop at a store to purchase needed items? for $109.00, I expect something better than what I can purchase at a roadside gas station. Next time, I will stay at the Microtel for a much nicer stay and a hot, decent breakfast; team or no team. I have always enjoyed my stays there.

Room Tip: Stay elswhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flyersmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these South Bend hotels

1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2012

I've been to the Airport Inn & my has it come a long way. They're almost done with renovation. The room was beautiful. Nice linens. Plasma screen. Beautiful dark wood dressers. A mini fridge. An enormous closet mirror. Nice bathroom. Only thing that I would nag about is the mouse who smelled our pizza & decided to get cozy. the lobby has an eating area & the colors are very nice.
Going back with my boyfriend on my bday. It was a nice getaway from my house. We had fun. Plenty of white towels. House keeping showed up but I think we had the DND sign on the door the entire time. We didn't come to get pampered anyway. Staff was pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank decembersown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Despite the negative reviews, we stayed at this property after directly booking with the manager who assured us the renovation/construction would be almost done by our arrival. We were in a BEAUTIFUL pristine room complete with brand new furniture, linens, bedding and all the amenities. The entrance and the lobby were still works in progress. Because of that, there was no breakfast area (we were told that would be the case), no business center, and only a single desk/computer for check in/out. The friendly, helpful staff more than made up for this by their prompt attention to all the guests' requests for printing off directions, boarding passes, receipts, dining recommendations, etc. I inadvertently left a pair of earrings behind and the manager personally retrieved them from the vacated room and is safe keeping them for me for our return stay in two weeks. I hope to give 5 stars after the next stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momstaxi1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenside, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Staying in this hotel was like sleeping on a construction job site. There was virtually no entrance and I had to go around the construction equipment, literally tip-toeing over and around debris and equipment. As I checked in there was a lobby tile floor which was partially finished with the spacers strewn about the lobby and hallway. I was basically shocked that they were open for business under these conditions. The doors in the hallways were covered with plastic sheathing and there were several piles of debris and work supplies all around. Construction dust permeated the air. Of course, it was loud, even at night. As well, the vending machines were inoperable. The only redeeming quality was its proximity to the airport. I had an early morning flight and simply walked about 750 yards to the terminal in South Bend. All of this for $102 per night. I tried to book this on line and was directed to "HotelsOne". I actually paid a booking fee to stay at this horror hotel. Avoid this place at all costs. Think twice if you see "HotelsOne".

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JosephSmith103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
611 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

I've stayed in some bad hotels in the US, Asia, and Africa. However, I've never stayed in a hotel this bad. Never.

Also, I never book a hotel without looking at TripAdvisor. My stay (last night) at this pit was made by a corporate booker. Unfortunately I did not look it up. I SO wish that I had.

The "hotel" is in the middle of a major renovation. Boy, does it ever need it. When I arrived, the entire lobby and entrance was a construction site. They had to take a tarp off the front desk to check me in.

The clerk told me the rooms were being updated, but not yet available, so he put me in one of the un-renovated rooms. I navigated past machinery and mess to get to the elevator and up I went to the second floor.

The hallway was a disaster. There were paint splatters on the doors, dust and particles across the ancient and thinned carpet. The hall smelled moldy. I hoped against hope the room would be better. I was wrong.

When I got to my room, the door, for some reason, was propped open. The room was, quite frankly, shocking. The old tattered carpet was stained, torn, and had specks of wood or sawdust (obviously no vacuum had been used). The cubby for hanging clothes looked like someone had taken a sledge hammer to it. It was busted up in pieces and had a pair of old socks drying on top of the pile. The TV was ancient and the remote broken. There was no desk, but two chairs ... although the stains in them made me think they were from a nursing home.

Wallpaper was torn and/or falling off the walls. The curtains were broken and looked like a kid had hung on them. They were almost half ripped down. The bedding was thin, thread worn, and disgusting. The mattresses were old, stained, and filthy.

The bathroom had not been cleaned and had no linen. There was no safety bar on the door.

Then I figured it out. My friends at corporate had played a trick on me. I started looking for the hidden camera. Finding none, I went to the lobby to get a real room. Unfortunately, it was no joke. What I saw was all I could get.

What about Internet? Not available. Morning breakfast? Nada. In room coffee or hair dryer? Zip. Coffee anywhere in the hotel? Sorry. Shuttle to the airport? Not in this lifetime. Clean linen? Ah, finally a "yes," although the towels looked like they had coffee stains. "Could I get some clean ones?" I asked, pointing to the stains. "Those ARE clean," was the reply.

Since friends had dropped me at the hotel and I had no car, I stayed, but only after inspecting the bed carefully for bed bugs (none found). However, the walls and ceiling are poorly insulated, and the noise from neighboring rooms, the people above me, and the folks having a party down the hall were amplified into my room.

Worse yet, at least as far as trying to get some sleep, was the flies in the room that kept waking me up throughout the night. Since only one light in the room worked, I was defenseless. After a fitful night, I finally got up at 4 am, dressed, and went to the airport (a hundred yards are so) to get the Internet, a badly needed cup of coffee, and modern civilization.

My advice? Do NOT book this place until after the renovation is done and ONLY after you see a number of excellent reviews from other TripAdvisor folks.

Maybe my pain will be your gain. If I could give this place a MINUS 5 STARS, I would.

By the way, I talked with a pastor from Africa the next morning who had also stayed in this same hotel last night. He said, "I've stayed in some terrible hotels across Africa, but I've never stayed in a hotel as bad as this one."

So, now you have the warning of a family physician and a trusted pastor.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColoradoDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Bend hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 30 in South Bend
106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn South Bend
Sleep Inn South Bend
#13 of 30 in South Bend
136 reviews
3.7 mi away
Comfort Suites University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's
Inn at Saint Mary's
#2 of 30 in South Bend
855 reviews
3.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites South Bend - University Area
3.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend / At Notre Dame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites South Bend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites South Bend

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites South Bend
Address: 23040 Lincolnway West, South Bend, IN 46628
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in South Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites South Bend 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the newly remodeled La Quinta Inn & Suites South Bend Hotel, our goal is to make your stay convenient and stress free. Unwind with a relaxing swim in our indoor heated pool, or take advantage of our fitness room for a great workout. Our business center is open 24 hours a day 7 days a week, and our pantry is available when you need that something extra. There is also an on-site laundry facility as well. Each guest room offers comfy beds, flat screen HD TV, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and board, premium cable channels, data port phones, free high speed internet and free local calls, because we want you to feel right at home. After you enjoy a restful night at our South Bend, IN hotel, join us for our free Bright Side Breakfast, with "Make Your Own Waffles," hot and cold cereal, bread and muffins, fresh fruit, pastries and bagels, and all of the coffee that you can drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites South Bend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Hotel South Bend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing