We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Bend
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in South Bend
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Newly remodeled rooms. Clean, spacious, friendly staff. Indoor pool, and exercise room. Surprised us by having a snack for us in the room. Nice surprise after a long day on the road.
Breakfast just a little better than most offered.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank cruizerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

We checked in on Friday 8/30/13. There was 2 adults and 2 children, we were in town for the Notre Dame Football game. The hotel staff was friendly and the hotel itself was clean. The only problem was that the next morning there was no hot water for showers. Other then that the hotel was fine and was about 5 miles from the stadium. We would stay here again

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Without wheels and I knew this motel was the closest place to the airport so when I called and got the price I did not even call anywhere else to see who might have had a good price and a shuttle. I just grabbed a sandwich at the airport and walked over. I could not see anyplace within walking distance so it would have been delivery.

WOW … see photo’s (all photo’s are from the same room)

WOW

IMO, this room could meet the standards of every motel I have ever stayed at ... right up to the Hyatt, Hilton and Westin.

I make a lot of comments in my reviews about ‘overpriced’ motels for the working person … no complaints here. Their walk-in rate is less than I paid for a ‘6 the night before and there is NO comparison … other than they both met my basic needs of clean, quiet and temp controlled.

Had to leave an hour before breakfast but it looks like a huge spread from the layout.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim-OnTheWayHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Nice hotel. The entire place is practically brand new and comparable to staying at a Hampton Inn. Friendly staff overall and a decent price. The hotel is oddly away from the tollway and not easy to get to; however, is located next to the airport for travelers flying in and needing to stay. Overall - great stay and nice price.

Room Tip: If traveling with a pet; recommend the rooms nearest the hallway exits. They have solid wood floori...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This hotel was very nice. We picked because we had the dogs. The girls at the front desk could not more friendly. We thought the place was very, very clean. The outside area was spotless and the building was bright and welcoming. The pool area looked very inviting. We did not use the pool since we were only there for one night. The beds were awesome and very comfy. I could not be more pleased with this place after reading some bad reviews...but you no how that goes you cannot please everyone no matter what you do.....we would certainly stay again without a doubt....

Room Tip: Room was great if you have dogs....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank careittopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A La Quinta traveler
Apalachin, New York, USA
1
Reviewed 12 August 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A La Quinta traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We have come to love staying at La Quinta. We were previously very much Motel 6 folks, but, as those properties have become so run-down over the years we needed to choose another pet friendly chain and this was it for us. Our experiences have been quite good....from super excellent down to good....this experience I cannot decide whether to rate as "average" or poor". I hate to think this is AVERAGE for LQ.....in fact, I refuse to think that, so, I'm going to call this experience "poor".

Our room was FINE! I have zero complaints about our room....period.

The grounds needed attention. There were tall weeds growing in the flower bed areas. It just didn't measure up to what we've come to expect.

Breakfast the first morning....whoops! Are we really at LQ? Surely this muffin, toast, bagel breakfast (yes, thank God, there was a make it yourself waffle offered).....is not LQ?!!!!!! We have always found lots more choices....including (not always all of these...)....sausage patties, bacon, sausage gravy, biscuits, scrambled eggs, fresh strawberries and whipped cream for the waffles and on and on.....we tried to "make do" despite our disappointment....I am diabetic and have always appreciated being able to have meat and eggs for my high protein/low carb needs.

That evening we discovered that the hotel has no vending machines. They have a little room near the front desk with plenty of offerings, but.....here's where it gets tricky! What do you do when the front desk is SO OFTEN left unattended??? My husband made trip after trip before finding a young lady attending the desk who allowed him to purchase something....this was on Saturday evening.

Sunday evening....things were going south quick in the customer service department. My husband made trip after trip after trip after trip to the front desk to try and buy some snacks. On a couple of his trips (he never did find ANYBODY to help him!)....there were actually potential customers waiting at the desk to ask about getting rooms.....as far as we know those folks left without getting a place to stay.....

Monday morning....ok....the breakfast isn't going to be to our liking, but, at least I can have a waffle with peanut butter on it to get me going....OH, NO ! I could NOT. Hubby knocked on the door of the place where we assumed the lady had gone who was supposed to be taking care of the breakfast area and was told (not kindly either) ..."no, we don't have waffles today......" This same girl was there Sunday morning and spent her time on the computer instead of tending to the breakfast area.

We checked out and went to have breakfast elsewhere, but, not before speaking to Anthony at the front desk about our experience. He suggested we let La Quinta corporate know....he could not help us, really. He was friendly enough...but, I think he should have done SOMETHING (admittedly I do not know "what"...).....

We paid $220+ for a 2 night stay.......breakfast should be plentiful and varied and customer service should be top notch! It certainly was not.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy4HIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Bend hotels
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn South Bend
Sleep Inn South Bend
#13 of 30 in South Bend
138 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 30 in South Bend
109 reviews
3.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites South Bend - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Comfort Suites University Area
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend
3.3 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's
Inn at Saint Mary's
#2 of 30 in South Bend
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites South Bend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites South Bend

Address: 23040 Lincolnway West, South Bend, IN 46628
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in South Bend
Price Range: £59 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites South Bend 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the newly remodeled La Quinta Inn & Suites South Bend Hotel, our goal is to make your stay convenient and stress free. Unwind with a relaxing swim in our indoor heated pool, or take advantage of our fitness room for a great workout. Our business center is open 24 hours a day 7 days a week, and our pantry is available when you need that something extra. There is also an on-site laundry facility as well. Each guest room offers comfy beds, flat screen HD TV, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and board, premium cable channels, data port phones, free high speed internet and free local calls, because we want you to feel right at home. After you enjoy a restful night at our South Bend, IN hotel, join us for our free Bright Side Breakfast, with "Make Your Own Waffles," hot and cold cereal, bread and muffins, fresh fruit, pastries and bagels, and all of the coffee that you can drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites South Bend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Hotel South Bend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing