We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time at Sorin's”
Review of Sorin's

Sorin's
Reserve with OpenTable
Sorin's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 294 Restaurants in South Bend
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Angela Blvd
Transit: "The Sweep" making rounds daily, stopping just north of the Inn at the circle.
Description: Sorin's, our classic fine dining restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, offers you seasonally changing menus and the finest wines in an atmosphere of quiet elegance. Sorin's is now serving Sunday brunch from 11am to 2pm. Sorin's features an incredible selection of fresh seafood alongside many of our signature dishes. Besides its beautifully appointed dining room, Sorin's offers an intimate private room for groups of up to 14 guests in the Quinn Family Room. Sorin's also features selections from the wineries of Notre Dame graduates. Our monthly Wine Dinners showcase an esteemed alumnus working in viniculture.
South Bend
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“First time at Sorin's”
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Had a nice dinner at Sorin's. The service and staff were very nice. The atmosphere we beautiful with murals on the walls and nice background music. I had the Ribeye. Ordered Med-rare and got medium/medium well. Sent it back and they got it almost right the second time. Part of the problem is the steak is less that 1 inch thick so it's difficult getting it to the correct doneness. The wife had the short ribs and pasta which was very nice. The desserts were wonderful. Not sure if we will be back but it was a nice experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Rshutes90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    20
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
183 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Sorin's--A Golden Experience at Notre Dame”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

It's no secret in the South Bend area that Sorin's may be the best restaurant for miles around. The restaurant, and The Morris Inn where it is located, just reopened recently after months of refurbishment. Everything is first class all the way. But be prepared--it is a might expensive. However, if you are celebrating a special occasion, or just want a terrific meal, it is worth every penny. The menu includes many healthful choices. My husband's salmon and my tournedos of beef and scallops were cooked to perfection, as were the root vegetables and sauteed spinach which accompanied them. My husband has a weakness for lobster bisque, and he said the one at Sorin's was almost as delicious as the best one he's ever had (at the Grand Hotel in Mackinac Island). And the desserts are scrumptious-try had the sampler trio! All were brought to our table by one of the most attentive and delightful servers we've ever had. Adding to the cost--one has to use the valet parking, as parking spaces on campus are very limited. There is also an optional (but preferred) coat check. But this won't frighten us away--we will be back. Sorin's is too good to miss!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JustaHoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granger, Indiana
Level Contributor
87 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice but overpriced”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My wife and I went with a social group for our monthly couples dining out night. Atmosphere was nice but food was average and priced on the high side. We both had steaks and neither was memorable. Portions are small including the coffee and deserts. For this price there are a lot of nicer restaurants in the area; my opinion you are paying a premium for the Notre Dame location and you look out onto a brick wall across the courtyard. Wouldn't go back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
261 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Traditional college experience ”
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

The service at Sorin's is superb. Everyone is welcoming and very nice. The setting is within the new campus hotel at Notre Dame and has a college touch that is special. The menu has a complete selection of food items and they are very good. I tried Sorin's more tha once with my kids and it was consistently good and reasonably priced. Recommended if visiting ND.

Helpful?
Thank SilverBond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
87 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great place for a nice dinner”
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a great steak dinner with our son who appreciated a break from dining hall food. The flavors are spot in and dinners well presented. They are still working out a few kinks getting people seated and finding the bottle of wine we ordered. We were there on a weds night. Very relaxing and enjoyable - right in the middle of campus. We loved it. We will be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 909LAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sorin's also viewed

 

Been to Sorin's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing