We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So So At Best - Not What We Were Expecting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in South Bend
Beaver, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So So At Best - Not What We Were Expecting”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Stayed for an ND event our daughter was attending. Hotel looks nice from the exterior as well as the lobby, however the room ( # 501) has much to be desired. The layout and size were fine, but the king bed was HORRIBLE ! The bed squeaked and made noise every time you moved and was lumpy. Also, the A/C cycled on and off every 3 minutes - you either were hot and stuffy or freezing. The towels were paper thin - something you would find at a Ramada and the breakfast was just ok at best. We have stayed at many Marriott properties over the years and sadly this one falls very short. Wished I was able to give a better review. - T.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha N, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear Tom,

Thank you for your review. We apologize for the less than desirable stay in room 501, and would like to assure you that we have looked into the matters that you have expressed and have ordered a complete new bed as well as replaced the heating and cooling control panel that was not allowing the unit to provide you with a comfortable consistent temperature. Standards for Fairfield Inn towels have recently changed and we are in the process of upgrading to a fuller and fluffy set of terry for all of our guest rooms, we regret that you did not have the opportunity to experience the new towels. We would greatly like to make up for the less than best experience you and your family received by hopefully having you stay with us again in the near future. Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    68
    31
    3
    5
See reviews for
83
24
5
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

While I expected to pay a steep premium for a hotel this close to campus, I didn't expect the lackluster, inconsistent service, especially considering I'm a Platinum Elite Marriott Rewards member. My family and I stayed here 2 nights in the same week while dropping off/picking up our boys from ND camps. The first stay started with our room to being ready for check in until after 5pm. This was after a half day of driving and watching numerous customers being checked in ahead of us. Did I mention I have Platinum Elite status? We received a discounted rate, so that puts the review above average. The second stay started with an early checking...good. Then for breakfast there was an incomplete buffet. I guess they only provide a full buffet on the weekends. These service experiences are unacceptable regardless of one's status. The location, however, is excellent-walking distance to Eddy St Commons and campus...and why they charge so much. Disappointing.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ParkDownUnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha N, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear ParkDownUnder,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we appreciate all the feedback we get from our guests. It is regretful to hear that you experienced inconsistent service and incomplete breakfast. We are currently in the process of investigating the issues you have expressed and putting corrective action in place so that the instances you have experienced do not occur again. We greatly apologize for the uninspiring stay and would be thrilled to make it up to you and your family.

Thank you again for your review. We hope to have the opportunity to fulfill all of the Fairfield Inn Promises for you and your family in the near future.

Sincerely,

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Stayed here for Football Fantasy Camp week. Excellent facility, very clean , efficient staff and across the street from UND. Could be difficult getting rooms during football season due to its proximity to the campus, you can see the stadium. From east side rooms !

Room Tip: Good luck during football season?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimCowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonale H, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Mr. Cowan,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are so glad that you had a great stay and hope you enjoyed the Football Fantasy Camp at Notre Dame. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Great hotel. Clean and well appointed. Breakfast was great - my favorites were hot waffles and Del Monte grapefruit slices! Nice breakfast area for hanging out. Location is great - right across the street from Notre Dame and adjacent to a nice little shopping/restaurant area. All of that said, we have been there twice on a non-football weekend and rates were reasonable (I think around $179). I don't think it would be worth football weekend prices (around $400). Yikes.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank backtomaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonale H, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame, responded to this review, 18 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We greatly appreciate your positive feedback and are also glad to hear you enjoyed our hot breakfast. We strive to ensure your stay was pleasant and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Thank You again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Most reasonably prices Indiana hotels are worn out as are their staffs
The Fairfield / Notre Dame is a welcome contrast and is very well run!
First it is super clean and the staff is as welcoming and eager to help, one would believe they are in the far eats. Good attitudes.
My two demands for a hotel room are a firm bed and a generous shower They score A+ on both counts
Their rooms are modern and easy to operate. In short you do not need a Ph.D to use the TV or lights.... or shower sounds familiar Hoteliers are going high tech and the guests are FORCED to comply/ suffer.

They are across the street from a good shopping center and a few yards from many restaurants … their breakfast was included in my room rate and was hot and tasty

Hard to complain and I am quite a critic

PTB Honolulu (former Chicago hotelier)

Room Tip: Ask for a room location what serves your needs..in advance and phone if running late and get the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptb2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha D, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear ptb2929,

Thank you for reviewing our property, we appreciate the positive feed back! We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay while at our property and gave us an A+ for our beds and showers. Thank you again for your review. We hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you again in the near future!

Happy Traveling,

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
columbus, ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

First off, the location is perfect for conducting business or atteniding events at ND. The exterior and lobby was very impressive. As for the rooms, they are very typical or Fairfield Inns. The furniture is fairly worn and I felt the rooms were pretty small. The thing that really blew my mind was the lack of outlets. This hotel opened in 2010 and I know tablets were just coming out then, but laptops, netbooks, and smart phones were prominent in 2010. I am surprised that they did not have more outlets in the room. I stayed there w/ my wife (2 ipads and 2 iphones). We had these devices all of the room (including the bathroom) to ensure we can charge these devices.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imabuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha D, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear imabuki,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property! We greatly appreciate the feedback. We’re sorry to hear that you found our furniture to be worn and that there weren’t enough outlets in your guest room. We know that locating outlets and light switches in guest rooms can be tricky at times with so many different layouts in different properties. For example, the lights on either side of the bed have two outlets located on the base. We are more than happy to help you locate an outlet or light switch, even an extension cord or power strip if needed. We would like to look into the wear on the furniture; if you would contact us on property we will definitely investigate the matter. Thank you again for your review and we hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you and your wife in the near future.

Sincerely,
Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladwyne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
342 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 380 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

I stayed at this property earlier this week while traveling through the area. The hotel is very nice, clean, and modern. The staff was especially friendly and seemed happy to serve. My GPS must have been off as it sent me the wrong way. A phone call to Morgan quickly guided me in to a wonderful check-in. The room was great and I had an excellent sleep. Breakfast was just as good as you are able to make your own fresh belgian waffles on their self-serve griddle. Mine came out fantastic and the other items were fine too. I would not hesitate to stay here again if I were in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trip117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha D, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Dear Trip117,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property, we love getting all the feed back we can from our guests! We are completely thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future. It is wonderful that you enjoyed our breakfast, and we hope that you have the opportunity to come back and enjoy our NEW HOT breakfast buffet, no worries we are keeping the waffles-we know our guests love them! Thank you again for your review!

Happy Travels,
Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Bend hotels
1.5 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's
Inn at Saint Mary's
#2 of 29 in South Bend
795 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
#5 of 29 in South Bend
364 reviews
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
#3 of 29 in South Bend
568 reviews
0.5 mi away
Morris Inn
Morris Inn
#1 of 29 in South Bend
292 reviews
1.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend/At Notre Dame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame
Address: 1220 E Angela Blvd, South Bend, IN 46617-1300
Region: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in South Bend
#7 Family Hotel in South Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame is designed with convenience and comfort in mind. Ideally located Notre Dame Indiana hotels, this hotel is across the street from campus. Free onsite parking and BBQ area make the perfect environment to host your next tailgate before walking over to Notre Dame Stadium to watch Fighting Irish football games. Guests love to start their day off right with the complimentary breakfast buffet, and then spend the day at nearby attractions such as University Park Mall, The College Football Hall of Fame, and The Morris Performing Arts Center. Guest rooms are highlighted by free WiFi, Marriott Luxury Bedding, and flat-screen HD TVs. The Fairfield Inn South Bend at Notre Dame offers all the amenities you want and the ideal location nearby Notre Dame. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend At Notre Dame Hotel South Bend
Fairfield Inn And Suites South Bend At Notre Dame

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing