We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right where I needed to be.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in South Bend
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Right where I needed to be.”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Property typical of what I've grown to expect from a Fairfield Inn. But the location is what is special about this Hotel. Cross the street and your on ND campus. For me that's a great place to be. Eddie Street Commons, a great addition to the campus, is next door. New ND bookstore a short block away.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha N, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Dear Dan204,

Thank you for reviewing our property! We are so happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. The area where we are located is still developing, so we are excited to see what else Eddy Street Commons will bring to town. We hope that the next time you and your family are in the area that we will have another opportunity to accommodate you, and perhaps there may be some new shops and restaurants nearby to check out. Thank you again for your review.

Happy traveling,

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    69
    33
    5
    5
See reviews for
84
25
5
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We had a studio suite - with the couch pulled out you practically had to climb over the person sleeping there to get to the bathroom...very poor design, although similar to most Fairfields we stayed at. The location was nice enough although I feel like we had to pay quite a bit more for the location (it was one of the only open Marriott suites for the night though so we did).

Breakfast was good and free (eggs, muffins, waffles, etc.). Pool was small and no hot tub, which was kind of disappointing. Front desk staff was helpful and courteous. Good place to stay if you care about being close to University, but otherwise could probably get a bigger room for cheaper if you stay farther way.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wigx2154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha N, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear wigx2154,
Thank you for reviewing our property, we are sorry to hear that the guest room layout inconvenienced you and your family. It is true that we do not have a spa; it was something that was unfortunately not in the design of our property. We are so happy that you were able to enjoy our hot complimentary breakfast; we just began this in April and are still working on a better flow for easier access for our guests. Thank you again for your review, the feedback that we receive helps us to better serve all of our guests. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you and your family again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Ct
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Having graduated from Notre Dame, I saw the fact that the Marriott was not only in town, but steps away from campus as a God send. What a disappointment!! First off, my room smelled of incredible body odor. I had reserved 3 rooms for various family members, and they all smelled like BO. Second, there is nothing appealing about the rooms. They are small..the bathrooms are tiny..it is akin to staying in a dormitory. Third, they tell you about the free breakfast in the lobby. True, it is in the lobby, and it is " free" I have never tasted food like this. The scrambled eggs had the texture of sandpaper. The boiled eggs might bounce off the wall and return to you if you threw them against the wall. The food was inedible. The elevators are perhaps the slowest of any hotel I have ever stayed...again, so disappointing.
The hotel is in the middle of a recent development that has stores and restaurants as well as apartments and large parking facilities. It addsd an enormous amount to the Notre Dame area.
I wil say,the staff of the hotel was helpful and friendly. The room rates were beyond reasonable. Some might say, you get what you pay for. I don't think that is the case. I believe the developers of this hotel are confident that given its location, occupancy will never be a problem. They could build this hotel with matchsticks, and it will do well, because of its name, and mostly because of its proximity to campus.
I will not stay there again. I would stay in Elkhart before I stayed in this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha N, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear notrewood,

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent stay and appreciate the time it took to write this review. A hotel can only improve by hearing from our guests. The Fairfield brand of Marriott International has a certain level of expectations that must be met in each hotel: guest satisfaction, size and function of a room along with décor, the complimentary breakfast that is offer in the breakfast area located off of the lobby, staff and overall up keep of the hotel. As you can imagine this list goes on and on.

Thank you for acknowledging that the staff was helpful and friendly. It is important to know that our staff can help our guests as needed. The issues that you have pointed out during your stay are important ones. The size and décor of the room is not something we can change, yet we can let Marriott know as they are the ones that decide the size and décor of a specific chain. This is important so that as Marriott continues to grow, the company can build a hotel that meets the majority of the guests needs. In regards to the odor in the room, this can and will be addressed by our housekeeping manager. In the future, please let the property you are staying with know of this issue right away, so that it may be addressed that day.
The complimentary breakfast with the hot scrambled eggs is a new feature for all Fairfield’s as of April 2013. We will definitely be working with our food vendor to address how to make the eggs light and fluffy as well as what we can do with the hard boiled eggs.

We would like to make up for your recent stay. If you would contact us directly, we would like to make amends. Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,
Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Stayed here one night while passing through south bend. This is a new and very clean hotel super close to notre dame campus. Eddy street commons is right next door with shopping and restaurants including outdoor seating to enjoy. Free breakfast is usual eggs, cereal and toast. Great for families. Our room had 2 queen beds and plenty of room for 4 people.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 909LAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha N, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear Liz H,

Thank you for reviewing our property. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you again in the near future. Thank you again for your review! Hope to see you soon!

All the best,

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
Level 6 Contributor
369 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We visited in July 2013 for a college road trip. Lobby was new, clean and modern. Our room was on the first floor -- two queen beds -- which got the job done well. Beds were comfortable and a very quiet night. The hotel was pretty empty given that we were in the 4th of July doldrums.

The fitness center equipment was new -- I'd add a third treadmill if I had a magic wand. This hotel also has free weights and a pool -- which is nice. I especially was pleased to see that this Fairfield hotel provided earphones for the treadmill workout -- I hope Fairfield Inn keeps that up.

We arrived at about 4pm so I went to grab coffee, but it the coffee station thermos was cold. But no fear, coffee was a short walk away.

Apart from being new and clean, the four stars reflects this hotel's location. It is essentially on the Notre Dame campus. The location cannot be beat. You can drive to the visitor parking lots at Notre Dame or you could easily walk. There is a parking garage next to the hotel -- where a new retail set of stores and bars is conveniently located. We went to The Mark -- which is a restaurant - bar. This development also has a bookstore with a coffee bar in it -- which took care of the afternoon coffee needs.

Because it was a new hotel, the two computers were new as well for boarding passes. But I think the one I was using had an over-active browser/security guard, Yahoo Mail would not load, but Gmail did. Something for the staff to look into.

Staff was friendly. It was an enjoyable stay. Hotel was pretty empty in July -- so a great time to make a visit to Notre Dame if you are checking out colleges.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredTravelVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha N, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear FredTravelVa,

Thank you for reviewing our property we appreciate all of the feedback we receive. We are thrilled to hear that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay. Our technical support is currently looking into the security guards on our business center computers to allow all guests to be able to access email accounts more easily. We apologize that the coffee station was not up to par upon your arrival and will address the matter with our staff to ensure each guest can enjoy a fresh cup of coffee if they choose. Thank you again for your review. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaver, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Stayed for an ND event our daughter was attending. Hotel looks nice from the exterior as well as the lobby, however the room ( # 501) has much to be desired. The layout and size were fine, but the king bed was HORRIBLE ! The bed squeaked and made noise every time you moved and was lumpy. Also, the A/C cycled on and off every 3 minutes - you either were hot and stuffy or freezing. The towels were paper thin - something you would find at a Ramada and the breakfast was just ok at best. We have stayed at many Marriott properties over the years and sadly this one falls very short. Wished I was able to give a better review. - T.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha N, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear Tom,

Thank you for your review. We apologize for the less than desirable stay in room 501, and would like to assure you that we have looked into the matters that you have expressed and have ordered a complete new bed as well as replaced the heating and cooling control panel that was not allowing the unit to provide you with a comfortable consistent temperature. Standards for Fairfield Inn towels have recently changed and we are in the process of upgrading to a fuller and fluffy set of terry for all of our guest rooms, we regret that you did not have the opportunity to experience the new towels. We would greatly like to make up for the less than best experience you and your family received by hopefully having you stay with us again in the near future. Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

While I expected to pay a steep premium for a hotel this close to campus, I didn't expect the lackluster, inconsistent service, especially considering I'm a Platinum Elite Marriott Rewards member. My family and I stayed here 2 nights in the same week while dropping off/picking up our boys from ND camps. The first stay started with our room to being ready for check in until after 5pm. This was after a half day of driving and watching numerous customers being checked in ahead of us. Did I mention I have Platinum Elite status? We received a discounted rate, so that puts the review above average. The second stay started with an early checking...good. Then for breakfast there was an incomplete buffet. I guess they only provide a full buffet on the weekends. These service experiences are unacceptable regardless of one's status. The location, however, is excellent-walking distance to Eddy St Commons and campus...and why they charge so much. Disappointing.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ParkDownUnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha N, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear ParkDownUnder,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we appreciate all the feedback we get from our guests. It is regretful to hear that you experienced inconsistent service and incomplete breakfast. We are currently in the process of investigating the issues you have expressed and putting corrective action in place so that the instances you have experienced do not occur again. We greatly apologize for the uninspiring stay and would be thrilled to make it up to you and your family.

Thank you again for your review. We hope to have the opportunity to fulfill all of the Fairfield Inn Promises for you and your family in the near future.

Sincerely,

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Bend hotels
1.5 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's
Inn at Saint Mary's
#2 of 29 in South Bend
843 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
#3 of 29 in South Bend
582 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
#5 of 29 in South Bend
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Morris Inn
Morris Inn
#1 of 29 in South Bend
304 reviews
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
1.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend / At Notre Dame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame
Address: 1220 E Angela Blvd, South Bend, IN 46617-1300
Region: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in South Bend
#7 Family Hotel in South Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame is designed with convenience and comfort in mind. Ideally located Notre Dame Indiana hotels, this hotel is across the street from campus. Free onsite parking and BBQ area make the perfect environment to host your next tailgate before walking over to Notre Dame Stadium to watch Fighting Irish football games. Guests love to start their day off right with the complimentary breakfast buffet, and then spend the day at nearby attractions such as University Park Mall, The College Football Hall of Fame, and The Morris Performing Arts Center. Guest rooms are highlighted by free WiFi, Marriott Luxury Bedding, and flat-screen HD TVs. The Fairfield Inn South Bend at Notre Dame offers all the amenities you want and the ideal location nearby Notre Dame. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites South Bend At Notre Dame
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend At Notre Dame Hotel South Bend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing