We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of J.W. Chen's

J.W. Chen's
Ranked #5 of 293 Restaurants in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Taiwanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Canandaigua, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Jean came by and introduced herself and asked us what we liked, "spicy". 9 out of 10 on hot scale. Well,both dishes which she recommended were NOT spicy at all:(. My husband's chicken dish was barely cooked and had huge chunks of garlic. We like garlic but it was too much. She did give us a complimentary dish of spicy green beans which were very good. Would not go out of way to eat there.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ferf2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    49
    14
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great Take Out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

I love J.W. Chens! If I am feeling like I need a little Asian cuisine, this is the only place that I will go to now. Best place around town! After JWC, I will never go to another low cost take out place again. The food here is prime and cooked to order. It is reasonably priced and the portions are good, too! I have never dined in the restaurant, I only order take out, and it is the bomb! The service is quick & friendly. The food is flavorful and at a good temperature. They have a very large menu to choose from- all veggie dishes to soups,meat, fish, and sides. I would definitely recommend trying!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crystal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

If you want great food at very reasonable prices, this is the restaurant for you. I had the ko ko shrimp, green beans and rice and still came home with enough for lunch the next day. Tasty and seasoned perfectly.

Helpful?
Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal Lake, IL
Level Contributor
102 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Meal Prepared Especially For You”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

To have the owner sit down at your table and work with you to create dishes that accommodate individual tastes and needs was a very unique experience. This same person later visited our table to make sure that everything was to our liking. While we probably would have easily passed this restaurant if reviews hadn't led us here, we were very glad that we gave it a try. The food was delicious and the fact that modifications were made to accommodate our individual preferences made it even better. We appreciated the personal interaction initiated by the owner. Without a doubt this is one restaurant in the South Bend/Elkhart area that we look forward to visiting again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandpaTuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
87 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Outstanding lunch - great value too”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

We stopped in mid week for lunch and were greeted by the owner Jean. She told us about her history and asked about food preferences. The green beans were fantastic as were our entrees - the requested degree of spiciness. Lunch included soup and mini spring roll - $6! Food was extremely fresh. If you are in the mood for classic Chinese fare this is your place! Very near Notre Dame campus.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 909LAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed J.W. Chen's also viewed

 

Been to J.W. Chen's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing