We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem”
Review of Thyme of Grace

Thyme of Grace
Ranked #104 of 295 Restaurants in South Bend
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Brevard
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A real gem”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

What a charming, delightful treasure of a restaurant this is. The decor is artful and aesthetically pleasing. At our visit, a display table featured a large centerpiece "bouquet" made of croquet mallets and balls. China and flatware are pretty and mismatched. We loved the teacup and saucer in which the soup was served. And speaking of soup, the signature mushroom hazelnut concoction was killer! Totally worth detouring from the major thoroughfares for if you're just passing through the area. But Thyme of Grace is about more than excellent food at reasonable prices. It's also a wonderful place for conversation with owner/chef Michele and the good humored server who is her daughter. These are folks who are worth getting to know. We tried to persuade them to move to our small town in western NC to open a clone there, but I suspect they'll stay put in South Bend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    1
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mishawaka, IN
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Foodies dellight”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This is a perfect spot for ladies who lunch. Always try the flavored tea of the day. My absolute favorite spot for lunch!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodie219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
150 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderfully different yet delicious”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We just discovered this charming restaurant in River Park. It has been open for 12 years and I wish I had known about it sooner. The decor is eclectic yet lovely. The menu is different yet delicious. The banana/caramel/croissant dessert was amazing. Can't wait to try it again. Just FYI, they are only open for lunch M-F and do not take credit cards.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
238 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“WOW!”
Reviewed 16 November 2012

This wonderful restaurant is so hidden you could drive right by. Obviously, I have been so look for it, park in front or in back. Thyme of Grace is the most impressive food experience I have had in South Bend. The ambience is lovely, take a minute to look at the art works. Then the food! It's all beautifully hand made, no mixes/food service packages. There's a delightful balance of innovative variations on standard items (e.g. the chicken salad can vary by type each day.). The soups are fantastic; yesterday the corn and clam chowder was sooo good. As should be, the herbs were flavorful but not enough to actually announce that they were there (e.g. garlic should hint, not blare of it's presence). The special eggplant moussaka was lovely and lovingly presented with a portion of carrot salad and a little floral display. kI think this will be my favourite restaurant in the Michiana area; The food is fresh, unique, wonderful tasting. The presentation is fantastic. It's a pleasure eating at Thyme of Grace.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank marjieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mishawaka, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious Food Charming Decor”
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Best hazelnut mushroom soup on the planet! Menu changes daily with delicous fresh ingredients. Staff is wonderful, decor quirky and charming. A don't miss luncheon restaurant!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank edarae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thyme of Grace also viewed

 

Been to Thyme of Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing