We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“packed parking lot for a reason- yummy!”
Review of Ho Ping House

Ho Ping House
Ranked #40 of 297 Restaurants in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“packed parking lot for a reason- yummy!”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stopped by while out of town to grab some takeout. Very good and very generous portions. I had the sweet and sour chicken and it was my dinner and lunch the next day. Wish I had this place in my hometown so I could have it more often. They gave a 10% discount for takeout. Since I was staying in a hotel I forgot to ask for plastic silverware, if you need it, be sure to ask. YUMMY YUMMY!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelagentOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    28
    12
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I have been to this restaurant twice in the last month and had great experiences both times. Very friendly employees and great food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cjdey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“delicious”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

While visiting my son at Notre Dame he suggested we have dinner at Ho Ping and a good suggestion it was. The service was very good and the food was excellent. The location was convenient as well. We would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank P B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niles, Michigan, United States
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Always a Treat!”
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

My family and I eat here about once a month, and it is always a treat. I keep meaning to try other dishes, but the General Tso's Chicken is so good, I always end up ordering that. I grabbed some of my daughter's Honey Chicken today, however, and it was also very good. I highly recommend this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved It! Loved It! Loved It!”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We only went to Ho Ping because it was across the street from the hotel. It was our lucky day! What a great little restaurant, pretty decor and friendly staff! The eggrolls were crispy and delicious. I can't remember the names of the dishes we chose but they were delicious, well prepared with fresh ingredients and wonderful sauces. This restaurant did not even have the prerequisite soy sauce on the table and it definitely was not needed, we would not have wanted to add anything to the dishes. They also had the best peppermint ice cream! The staff sounded very sincere when saying thank you to all customers. Wish it was closer to our home.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WIBumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ho Ping House also viewed

 

Been to Ho Ping House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing